We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Point De Galle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point De Galle
Ranked #76 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent location in Talpe (sometimes spelles Thalpe) (next to Unawatuna) - a few steps from the beach, beautiful sea view, nice veranda/balcony, very friendly service, good food, very very large rooms with seperate sleeping room and living room - plenty of chairs and tables, good food - very good value for money. Highly recommended.

The rooms are a bit dark and just a little shuffy. But not really a problem. Bathrooms are poorly lit.

You will be served Continental breakfast (08-10) which is rather boring - unless you ask for Sri Lankan breakfast (order in good time in advance); recommended and at no extra cost. Dinner at the hotel must be ordered before 3 pm. Reasonable priced and very good food. Restaurants nearby on the beach are very expensive, and cheaper places along the street are not close.

The beach is perfect. And there are several sunbeds on the premesis of the hotel.

You can catch a bus to Galle on the street outside the hotel (walk a couple of minutes towards Galle to find the bus stop). Only 25 Rs.

Point De Galle doesn't provide a day to day laundry service. Instead Unawatuna Laundry Service is only 5-6 minutes away by bus (10-12 Rs each way) or by tuk tuk (100 Rs each way).

There is a very small railway station in Talpe, and it's possible to travel directly from Colombo to Talpe. Be attentive - as there is only one small sign at this station (difficult/impossible to see from the train) - and the train will only stop for a very short time. A tuk tuk to Point de Galle will cost approx. 100 Rs. - a bus 10 Rs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gits85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a top class guest house with amazing rooms and views. all rooms have large balconies with views over the ocean. The garden leads directly onto the beach which is protected by a coral reef and is therefore very safe for children. Beware however as there is a sideways undertow at high water. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are good but you must specify what you want the day before, i.e Sri Lankan or fresh fruit.

Other meals should be taken elsewhere and there are 2 excellent restaurants (access via the beach) within 100 metres.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel most of February 2012. This was my second long stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff are kind and helpfull. The food is local and very good. The hotel is located right on the beach and the water is shallow, and good for swimming. The only thing I was missing is a couple of more sunbeds. I am looking forward to visiting this hotel again next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Beautiful sunset and traditional cuisine prepared by the experienced chef who has been serving for 25 years. Mouth watering to recall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Went to Point De Galle on the 26th March 2012, and had a terrible experience. Whilst the hotel and the location was perfect, with beautiful views of the Beach and surrounding area the Manager and Cleaning lady were very inhospitable, rude and ACCUSATORY! We were accused of damaging a fan which we didn't know anything about. The fan was hitting against the mosquito net on our arrival and we took the net down in order to prevent any further noise. On checking out, the manager took us to the room and asked us why we took the net down and accused us of the damaged fan which we HAD NO idea of. The tone and respect shown when we explained that we had no idea how the fan was out of shape was then furthered with more accusations that we actually bent the blade of the fan. ( mind u this is a ceiling fan which is out of our reach, and we have no interest in damaging fans). As a result we were very disappointed and mentioned that we wont be coming again. Furthermore on our checking in the manager asked us where we're we are from, and mentioned that he doesn't like foreign Eastern European tourists and they have had bad experiences. Is this how you welcome a local guest to such an establishment????

The food was average in that there was not much choice and the bathroom flush did not work, but the location was beautiful, right by the beach, and very quiet and peaceful. My suggestion to anyone travelling is to look for a better establishment as there are many down the same stretch of land as this hotel. A bitter taste to this experience, and a warning to all tourists considering. Be Careful, as this staff are quite rude and in my opinion an experience that can be spoilt if treated as such!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chandima p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointDeGalle, Owner at Point De Galle, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Every room is checked before an occupancy. On departure the room was once again checked by the staff. The cleaning lady reported the removal and damage to the net and the twisting of the fan blade. The guests returned to the room accompanied by the manager who witnessed the damage to the fan blade and the mosquito net.
No complaint regarding the malfunctioning of a fan, a damaged mosquito net or a request to remove a mosquito net was made by the guests during their stay.The management does not allow any staff to attend to any repair/maintenance in the rooms occupied unless in the presence of the occupying guests. Hence the management views the comments by the guests to be malicious towards the institution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We are a German Couple having our second home in Sri Lanka. Most of the birthdays of myself and my husband are celebrated at Point De Galle with the help of the honest and committed staff. We have many good memories there, which we share with our loved ones in Germany.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have stayed at Point de Galle on many an occassion with our 2 young shildren. Always we have received excellent hospitality form the staff and management. This boutique beach resort is always clean and very well looked after and the staff are always keen to help you in any way they can. The rooms are beautifully set up with lovely antique furniture which make s it feel vey cosy. The beach is equisite and perfect and safe swimming and enjoyment for the whole family. We will always go back to Point de Galle to enjoy the fantastc service and enjoy the peaceful and beatiful settings.

Room Tip: Feel free to talk to the management about what sort of rooms you need to meet the needs of your fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dalawella Beach Resort
Dalawella Beach Resort
#67 of 144 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
#3 of 123 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.4 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#8 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#6 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point De Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point De Galle

Property: Point De Galle
Address: Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing