We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here 5 nights at Rs1700/night. The room was modern, clean and comfortable apart from it got very very hot during the day and remained hot in the evening. The shower was hot most of the time but it did not drain very well. We also saw a cockroach in our bed but we managed to stand on it!

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The made us a nice free breakfast each day, and lunch/dinner was also great. Good tuktuk service which we used for a tour of the city one day at a reasonable price (1400).

Located right next to the beach, and all the bars / restaurants.

Would recommend this place if you are planning a trip to Unawatuna!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here about a year ago, and loved it.
The rooms are quite basic but it is excellent value for money and always clean and comfortable.
We owner cooks amazing authentic Sri Lankan cusine, and made us delicious fresh fruit smoothies from the surrounding tropical plants every morning (no extra cost). All staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b74smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I was in a hotel in Hikkaduwa and spent a lovely holiday there unfortunately the hotel was fully booked during the last week end due to a festival so needed to check in at another hotel. All hotels around Hikkaduwa were booked so decided to spend my holiday in Unawatuna. I stayed at the beach bungalow and it was a terrible experience. It is not a hotel actually but a small guest house you can say. The rooms were small, unclean and the staff were not at all helpful. I would not recommend the food at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellinggirl290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The Beach Bungalow is a charming family run hotel which has all the basics including air-con and is 20 feet away from a beautiful beach. The hotel is quiet and unassuming and ideal for couples or families. In its price range, the facilities are quiet good and the rooms are bright and clean. (Our room has a view of the beach).

Party animals will probably find Unawatuna a little tame for their tastes, certainly at this time of year (off season). There are a selection of hotels and restaurants along the beach front which vary in quality. There are some Germans about which is always a sign of quality in my experience. The town of Galle is 3km away and tuk-tuks are both cheap and ubiquitous.

Prices are very reasonable in general here for Europeans and sometimes very cheap although tourists are usually charged more than locals. Overall, Unawatuna is a very pleasant spot and the Beach Bungalow is well deserving of its reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

The family hospitality, especially Sarath for his cooking extravaganza and business sense, and Chitral (chi chi) for his ambassador skills (always willing to sit down for a chat and sometimes joined us for a large Carlsburg beer), and the sweet mother to keep them both in line made our stay very memorable. Rooms were clean, descent, and inexpensive and also included a nice breakfast, including eggs, homebread (baked by Sarath) with perserves, fresh fruit and juice, tea or coffee each morning. The inn was not right on the beach but a 30 second walk across an alley way.....so no problem there....we stayed on the top floor and had a view. I was estatic to see 2 long-tailed Lemurs walking along the roof from my deck one evening) We were only at the inn for 3 nights and wished it was more and albeit witnessed many tearful goodbyes from singles and couples alike. As there were many restuarants to choose from along the beach, we ate dinner out on 2 occasions and on our last night, ordered spagetti bolanaise and freshly caught lobsters for dinner. A fabulous meal! Sarath generally requests that you put your dinner order in early in the day and then he makes it fresh.

At the inn there is also internet available at no cost. Sarath was also very helpful and arranged a van transfer to the airport and also any tuk tuks around the local area (when we visited the Galle fort) with his reliable/trusted staff.

Unfortunately, all good things come to an end and we had to depart back to Canada, but not before we were able to have a fairwell cheer with a shot of the local coconut hooch "Arrack" with the family. Really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dspeers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Unawatuna Beach Bungalows are situated a stone's throw from the beach - 30 seconds walk to golden sand and a warm, blue ocean.

Sarath and his family made us very welcome. There are 10 rooms (3 ground floor, 6 first floor and 1 second floor). We had the second floor room with great views and air conditioning, We had a shower and western style toilet.

Breakfast is served anytime up to 12 noon and is perfect for setting you up for the day. Breakfast consisted of good crunchy toast (Sarath is very proud of his crunchy toast!), eggs of your choice and fresh fruit (banana / papaya / pineapple) and as much coffee or tea as you like! Sarath cooked Roti for us one morning (pancake made with flour and coconut) - traditional Sri Lanka dish and very delicious.
We chose to eat in the restaurant for all of our 6 nights - again Sarath did all the cooking - freshly prepared - we sampled Seer fish, lobster and vegetable curry. We loved his cooking!

Sarath's brothers and mother were often around and made us most welcome. We would chat / watch televsion together and felt absorbed into Sri Lankan life in a way that our other 2 hotels in Negombo and Kandy didn't manage.

One brother, Lal, took us in his Tuk Tuk for 2 tours. One was a half day and we visited Galle and a Buddhist temple. The other tour was a full day and we went to a folk museum, sea turtle sanctuary, underground Buddhist temple and saw stilt fishermen. We also went on a mini lake safari to Cinnamon island and tasted Cinammon tea. Lal waited at every location for us - it didn't matter if we were 20 minutes or 2 hours - the choice was ours.

The whole family are good, honest and friendly. We felt safe and well looked after.

For a real taste of true Sri Lankan life we would highly recommend Unawatuna Beach Bungalows.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I am just back from a fabulous holiday to Sri Lanka and stayed at Unawatuna Beach Bungalow which i chose-believe it or not based on these other reviews which proved so helpful and accurate particularly on UBB

As a single lady travelling alone,I found UBB to be safe, impeccably clean and comfotable,albeit basic.Sarath and his family were most friendly and helpful and made my stay a very comfortable one,helping store my medication in their refrigerator,whipping up strict vegetarian meals for me etc.

Like a previous review i too slept and woke up to the sounds of the indian ocean which was bliss indeed!

Also walking along the beach just a stone's throw away was great fun.

I also returned to Colombo with Lal-Sarath's brother,in his tuk tuk which was very comfortable and clean.

One can contact Sarath directly at [-]
or email [-]

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HappyTravelling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
471 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#21 of 33 in Unawatuna
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda | Colombo and South West Coast, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $41 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing