We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded Luxury”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wouter D
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Secluded Luxury”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wow.
Stayed 5 nights and wished it was more, There were 5 of us in three rooms. The house and grounds are perched above a beautiful Cove and the vista to the ocean is like being on a ship without the sea sickness. At night you see the lights of the fishing boats and by day you can watch expert surfers from the pool - mesmerising. A short stroll through the garden leads to the palm fringed beach offering lagoon like swimming, with crystal clear water..tropical paradise.

The house is colonial and filled with local antiques .A covered verandah for lounging and dining surrounds the living room and bedrooms. The king size bed and linen were sheer luxury. The staff, headed by Roman, were unobtrusive, friendly and helpful-serving your every need - rooms were serviced daily, laundry also. The meals were a delight from breakfast to dinner and can be ordered to your request, Sri Lankan or western- we opted for a mix of both and the standard was high. The even prepared a birthday cake.

Wifi connection is excellent both inside and outside the house. Drivers are available to take you out at any time, e.g. day trip to Galle, airport transfers or tuck tuck to the village. We hope to be back soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy F
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking stay at Cove House...”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning views from Cove House right across the ocean and horseshoe cove. The house and it's smaller sister set behind it was used by eight of us for 4 days. Every room and area was superbly decorated with beautiful pieces of art. The beds were large and very comfy and a shower, some out, some in, came with each one. The beds were changed every two days.
Ronan was a superb manager/host who made sure our stay was perfect. We opted for the wonderful staff and chef to provide breakfast each day and a sumptuous meal in the evenings. I cannot praise the food highly enough, everything was perectly cooked and presented. The curries were amazing.
The grounds of the house were gorgeous, with two pools and lots of outside shower areas too. A stroll out of the side gate took you directly on to a lovely sandy beach, frequented by a few surfers and locals. It has a couple of bars/small places to eat.
Dickwella town was a few minutes away in a Tuk Tuk and there were nice walks and places to run (before it gets too hot) from the house. A truly magical place to stay and a place in Sri Lanka I will definitely return to one day soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the breathtaking view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radka P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury holiday in paradise”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our honeymoon destination was a surprise for us and we were really amazed about this place with Cove House Villa and Little Cove House. We had a chance to see both houses beautiful interior which is very carefully designed. The stuff with manager Roman took very good care of us and the service was perfect. All the food we had was delicious. The beach was right behind the corner and we had the beach and the sea basically just for ourselves. Sometimes some surf guys arrived because the cove has perfect waves. I can highly recommend this place for a holiday in paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Service
Liked best: Unforgettable view to the cove during dinner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ondřej P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for holiday”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, created for your relax and rest. The beach is literally just few steps from house. Local chef is real professional, each meal was absolutely perfect. Romantic dinners by the sun set with marvelous view straight to the sea were unforgettable. During our stay we also visited many interesting places. We have to namely recommend these three – Yala National Park, Gunawardana Tea Factory, Madu River.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found paradise.”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Trying to find a hidden beach with white sand, coconut palms and great surf is not so easy. Trying to find a sophisticated villa with exquisite gardens and beautifully trained staff can also prove difficult. But the fortuity of experiencing all this in one place? We found it at Cove House and could'nt have been happier.
We decided it was the overall attention to detail that really set this villa apart. Be it the authentic artwork, the elegance of the furnishings or the faultless presentation throughout, we always felt, and were always made to feel, comfortable.
The kitchen provided an excellent variety of well prepared dishes and, thankfully, were more than happy to cater to some of the specific dietary requirements in our group. We were especially chuffed with the local tuna sashimi platter, and yes, the chef does have wasabi !!
Hiriketiya Bay is a natural wonder with year round surf and crystal clear water. It ended up being the highlight of my trip to Sri Lanka and made such an impression that, rather than leave with a T-shirt, I left with a very nice block of land.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyloui...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Luxurious paradise on the Sri Lankan south coast”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I visited Cove House again after staying at the House two years ago. Cove House is even more luxurious with more antiques, amazing beds and sheets and beautiful interior design than two years ago. The view across the best surf beach on the south coast is spectacular. This time I visited with a 20 month old child and the staff could not have been more accommodating to her needs. Meals and welcome drinks were prepared for the 'small lady'! We had a wonderful stay and will return again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCMSyd
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome villa and location. Would love to go back!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at the Little Cover House for 3 nights with a group of friends (4) and loved the experience.

The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help with any of our requests as well as being non intrusive throughout our stay.

The food was amazing and would highly recommend the curries for dinner and Sri Lankan breakfast option. So tasty and delicious and don’t forget to ask for their chilli!

The house was very clean and well equipped with our personal pool and awesome chillout area between the 2 rooms with a Bose Bluetooth speaker for our use. Air conditioning in the rooms were great and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Also the house dog, Carly, is incredibly sweet and caring and comes to sleep on the steps every night to keep the iguanas and anything else out! She also likes to go to the beach where she is well known amongst the locals!

The house is also really well situated literally 1 minute from Hirikiteya beach – an amazing quiet beach ideal for learning to surf and snorkeling.

The only negative was the power shortages but that can’t be blamed on the house! And the house is a bit remote from Dikwella but well worth the trek, before this secret beach and house is found out!

Otherwise, the house is probably ideal for 2 couples given the king size bed configurations but still comfortable for friends.

Overall, the villa and surroundings are amazing and I would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: Power shortages in the area
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thank you for your generous review. As you are aware Sri Lanka was going through nationwide black outs due to the late arrival of the rainy season. This will only be temporary however Cove House and Little Cove house are installing generators so that guests will not be inconvenienced in the future.
We hope you will come to stay in our villas in future again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing