We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Wewurukannala Vihara
from $205.00
More Info
from $271.93
More Info
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
73
57
19
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
73
57
19
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha statue sri lanka beautiful temple on site tuk tuk paintings sinners sins tunnel image tourists donation century cartoons asia torture shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 164 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Actually three parts, the first two are most interesting. The 17th-18th century original structure is beautifully painted and ornately decorate. The "Hell Tunnel" is a macabre trip illustrated with frescoes and plaster monsters tormenting people in Hell. The Buddha is the largest in Sri Lanka, reportedly, but we didn't go in there. 200 rupees.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Do not visit or support this temple. Yes, the Buddha is nice - but what isn't ... is the temple elephant chained up in the back of the temple. Chained front to back .. this poor creature cannot move 1 foot in any direction. It is chained into a permanent stance for the rest of its life ... just stuck there on a concrete pad in obvious distress. Please do not visit this temple and support this cruelty.

Date of experience: March 2019
6  Thank goozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

My husband had not seen this Temple before - I last visited it 20 years ago on my way to Yala. It is definitely an eye opener when it comes to Buddhism!! I understand they have to preserve the paintings and depictions of "sinful living" but now to change them to concrete is a bit sad. Maybe the authorities could have come up with repainting? The paintings were only painted in the 1980's so a more thoughtful and aesthetic solution should maybe have been more looked into. Anyway, it was an interesting visit and one of the local keepers of the Temple was more than keen to show us around - without being too pushy. My Sri Lankan husband loved this Temple.....and that is a big thing as he is no Culture - Vulture!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ColomboLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2019

This is a very colourful temple situated in Dickwella . Easy access. On the way to famous Mulgirigala temple.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Dilash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

Impressive temple from 18th century with highest Buddha statue in Sri Lanka ( 50m ! ). Inside of temple there are tens of statues picturing sinners and demons. One of my personal favorites of whole Island. Also low entrance price.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Elis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews