We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
all towels, bath robe, toiletries, hair dryer are available for your comfort
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed and sofa, TV and ensuite bathroom.  Access to balcony and balcony furniture
Relax at sunset at The Lookout
our fabulous pool is inviting by day or night
Indoor or outdoor dining options
relax and read your book ....
early morning shot over our pool ...
Outdoor dining pool side
your own private access to the beach at the edge of the garden
Enter the villa through these over-sized fabulous doors to our large open plan living area
Indoor dining for 14 and beautiful kitchen
lush vegetation surrounds you
beach chic lounge area for relaxing after a day at the pool
Our open plan living with its beach chic décor & art work is a calm place to enjoy any time any day
Indoor outdoor living in luxurious comfort
Chic guest bathroom
Bedroom 1 King bed with TV, ensuite and private courtyard
Bathroom 1 fitted  with luxury free standing bath
Bedroom 2 access to balcony and those breath-taking views through bi-fold doors
Bedroom 2 fitted with 2 queen beds, TV, ensuite bathroom and balcony access
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 1 access to garden, pool and beach through magnificent bi-folding doors
Bathroom 3 with bath fitted with edge wide enough for tea lights and a glass for your added comfort
A Californian King bed, sofa, tub chairs make the Master Suite a comfortable retreat at any time
our well appointed Master bathroom will not disappoint
poolside treats
spectacular master bathroom with rain shower and fitted bath looks out to the ocean
your own path to the beach at the end of the garden
an easy stroll to the beach at the end of the garden
your own view of paradise from the upper balcony
local fishermen
our beautiful Dikwella Beach
The 2 Villas Sri Lanka total property for the larger group who want both villas
Bathroom 1 .. your access to your private courtyard
our team awaits to serve you
Ash your butler ready and waiting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rebecmk
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had the BEST holiday at the Lookout. It's a great place for a family holiday...Beautiful villa, in such a peaceful location, with direct access to a vast and almost deserted beach. Short walk to humming surf beach, which the teenagers loved. The manager at the Lookout, Ash, and his team of staff are superb-nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous cooking, cocktails, and all-round help to ensure we had the best holiday. Would highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2018
Thank you Rebecca for choosing to stay with us at The Lookout. We are glad you had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back and thanks for the great photos you sent from your safari! Best wishes Nicola and The Lookout Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
totonchim...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

A truly 5 star experience. Excellent service with a private chef. Beautiful well maintained property. Loved the private beach access. The booking process was seamless and the property owner, Nicola, was extremely helpful. Definitely wins my vote!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
We loved hosting your group! Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Come back and see us again soon ... its a short flight from Dubai!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesharv...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Seamless”
Reviewed July 3, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

amazing service, close to all the surf spots i wanted to visit. Super private beach area with no hassle from locals or anyone around. All the employees were super friendly and well trained with 5 star flawless manors and etiquette.
Would most definitely no doubt stay again some time soon in the future!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely photos you sent us also. Best wishes Nicola and The Lookout team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Backpac...
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed here in January for 4 nights and had the most amazing experience at 'The Lookout'! From the moment we arrived at the villa we were warmly greeted by the staff and this level of hospitality and attention remained throughout our stay. Ash the butler is incredibly attentive, we never felt in need of anything and yet we felt this was perfectly balanced with privacy to enjoy the villa to ourselves. The Lookout is in a perfect location, with easy access to the beach whilst also feeling secluded. The villa itself is beautifully decorated, homely yet luxurious. We could not fault the food, every meal was different and every meal delicious. It really was the perfect stay and we couldn't recommend this place enough to anyone travelling to Sri Lanka. Thank You for having us, Emma and Layla x

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
It was a pleasure to host you both and thank you for taking the time to leave this review. When you need to escape the cold weather of UK again you know where to come back to! Best wishes Nicola and The Lookout team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z P
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil Beachfront Escape”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I've been recommending The Lookout to all my friends since I got back. The villa is right on the beach with beautiful scenic views so you really feel like you're on holiday. It's a great place to come with family / group of friends. It's all the best parts of a five star hotel (ie a butler and a Chef) but without having to share it with a million other hotel guests! We really enjoyed the massages on the balcony, the barbecue of freshly caught lobster and crab, having our rooms turned down daily, the USB plugs by the bedside, Netflix on the TV and the delicious fresh fruit platter which came with breakfast everyday. What sets The Lookout apart from other places is the attention to detail and level of service. We left our Samsung phone charger at the airport and within 30 minutes of letting Ash (the lovely butler) know, he had sourced a new one from the market even though it was about 9pm at night. We also wanted to find somewhere to watch the World Cup matches, so he called the nearby bars to check which ones were showing it. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
Thank you for taking the trouble to write us this long review. It was a pleasure to host you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. We do indeed have a fabulous spot here in Sri Lanka and strive to make it a holiday to remember for our guests. Look forward to seeing you both again! Nicola and The Lookout team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiraT405...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Heaven”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Could not express the quality of service!!!
The lookout is heaven.... the food was beyond
Ohhhh the view was to die for.
You literally had your private beach, and book the message on the beach during sunset
If you are thinking don’t just book I sincerely recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lookout in November and look forward to seeing you again in July! Best wishes Nicola and the Lookout team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wietse123
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed during the apparent "off-season", this is 5-star hospitality at its finest.”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I had the privilege of meeting the owners in Colombo who told me about their property. In May 2018 I had the pleasure of staying here for a couple of nights, the apparent "off-season" in the area but what great weather we had!

The detail, perfection and thought that has gone into this property is something special and not seen much on the island. The architecture and interior, fittings and accessories. Perfection.

First of all the location is amazing, located meters from the sea in a little town: Dikwella is a small but has all the facilities you need, an ATM, liquor store, supermarket and market for your fresh fish. Besides that the beach is one of the better ones in Sri Lanka and with a minimum of properties, still very untouched for the area.

The property itself is luxurious design at its best, comfortable spacious rooms, great mattresses, very modern bathroom, a ocean view balcony overlooking the garden and beach, kitchen with everything you need and lots of places to sit and relax.

But the though that has gone into the design of the pool blew my mind, as I am almost 2 meters tall small luxury pools are often just too tiny for me. But not this, almost 20 meters and the perfect depth. Deep enough to comfortable swim in the morning but not too deep so you can relax with your beer in hand. Both sides have stairs which are the perfect hight and width to sit like its a underwater chair!

As a sushi fan I ordered some sushi for lunch, from all the places in Sri Lanka this is definitely one of the best I had! Fresh fish, proper sushi rice and even REAL wasabi. Recommended!

Last I want to mention the staff, exactly what you expect from a 5-star property. The host Ash was fantastic, catered to all our needs whenever we wanted. Fridge stocked with beer and he makes a great gin and tonic! He manages his other staff very well, food was always well presented and everything tidy at all times. The cleaning staff was something special too, I never even saw them! Invisible they made sure everything was always spot on.

Definitely recommend staying here, even in May when its off-season the place is amazing!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a comprehensive review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Lookout and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing