We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unwind, relax, repeat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
all towels, bath robe, toiletries, hair dryer are available for your comfort
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed and sofa, TV and ensuite bathroom.  Access to balcony and balcony furniture
Relax at sunset at The Lookout
our fabulous pool is inviting by day or night
Indoor or outdoor dining options
relax and read your book ....
early morning shot over our pool ...
Outdoor dining pool side
your own private access to the beach at the edge of the garden
Enter the villa through these over-sized fabulous doors to our large open plan living area
Indoor dining for 14 and beautiful kitchen
lush vegetation surrounds you
beach chic lounge area for relaxing after a day at the pool
Our open plan living with its beach chic décor & art work is a calm place to enjoy any time any day
Indoor outdoor living in luxurious comfort
Chic guest bathroom
Bedroom 1 King bed with TV, ensuite and private courtyard
Bathroom 1 fitted  with luxury free standing bath
Bedroom 2 access to balcony and those breath-taking views through bi-fold doors
Bedroom 2 fitted with 2 queen beds, TV, ensuite bathroom and balcony access
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 1 access to garden, pool and beach through magnificent bi-folding doors
Bathroom 3 with bath fitted with edge wide enough for tea lights and a glass for your added comfort
A Californian King bed, sofa, tub chairs make the Master Suite a comfortable retreat at any time
our well appointed Master bathroom will not disappoint
poolside treats
spectacular master bathroom with rain shower and fitted bath looks out to the ocean
your own path to the beach at the end of the garden
an easy stroll to the beach at the end of the garden
your own view of paradise from the upper balcony
local fishermen
our beautiful Dikwella Beach
The 2 Villas Sri Lanka total property for the larger group who want both villas
Bathroom 1 .. your access to your private courtyard
our team awaits to serve you
Ash your butler ready and waiting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rose G
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unwind, relax, repeat”
Reviewed February 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Had a wonderful stay at this top class property near Dikwella. The staff made us feel pampered and special everyday from the gracefully folded towels to the garnished cocktails watching the sun set. Spacious and luxurious, the Lookout takes 5 star accommodation to another level. Every detail is taken care of. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at The Lookout and we welcome you back any time! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaChe...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Beach”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Had a terrific trip to Sri Lanka, what a place! Our family stayed at the Lookout and loved it.

We have been to Sri Lanka once before and stayed at a luxury hotel which my wife wasn't that happy with and it was expensive (three rooms..... ) so wanted to 'tryout' a different option for the family this trip. I'm glad we did.

The Lookout car pickup at the airport was great, we got in late so slept in the car (Ash the Butler had thoughtfully provided comfy pillows, cold towels etc for the late night journey) and at 3am in the morning the full staff were waiting up for us to ensure we were settled in properly. The property is very luxuriously appointed with a great pool, right on the beach with direct access so perfect for walks, body surfing and beach games. It's definitely the 'best house' on the beach. The only noise was that of the surf (I can't sleep if a place is noisy). There is a well known surf beach with 'local' eating options about a 10 min walk away (apparently 'John Snow' was spotted there recently) and a 'mid range' resort further down the end of the beach (approx 10 mins walk) that has bar and restaurant options, however we ate at the house almost exclusively as the food was great and we were so relaxed we didn't want to move. It was hot. We did visit some nearby beaches and had lunch at the Aman ('ok', but expensive). The villa staff were very attentive, a good balance between being available but not hovering all the time, Ash was always ready with his cocktail concoctions at just the right moment and seriously helpful with any request. The house is perfect for a family, huge bedrooms, good internet, lots of space, high end finishes, great bathrooms and water pressure, air con in the bedrooms (a must), books, board games, pool loungers and beach games. The beds were super comfy and all the rooms had a view straight onto the ocean. The pool is shared with the property next door (which looks identical but different interiors and staff). There were people staying next door for some of our stay but the pool is big so apart from a nice initial chat they didn't impact on us at all, the next door property has their own staff so all good.

We were very happy, thanks Ash and the team for a wonderful stay, we will be back!

Note: There is a local supermarket if you forget stuff like deodorant etc and Ash was so helpful in getting stuff for us but I'm Gluten Free and not a lot of GF options like bread and Crackers in Sri Lanka so if GF, bring your own (I did). The alcohol options very limited so stock up at duty free on the way in. Also - the local sunscreen has a 'whitening' agent in it (not sure how that works...) so take plenty.
have fun, it's a great spot, well worth the visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2018
Thank you so much Graeme for this long review that will help other travellers with the local input. It was a pleasure hosting you and your lovely family. We would love to welcome you back any time! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There is hospitality and then there’s The Lookout”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What an incredible stay we had at The Lookout. From the minute we were met on arrival at Colombo Airport by The Lookout driver, until we were dropped off a week later, we were totally blown away by the experience.

Our journey from the airport to the villa was very smooth and as it was our first visit to Sri Lanka, the four of us (sorry to two of the uni students in our family that were left behind!), were drinking in the views as we travelled south on the modern motoway. We had a warm and friendly welcome from Ash the butler and Peni the manager when we arrived at The Lookout. We were shown around to choose our rooms and it was a tough choice as each is perfect in its own way – the ground floor bedroom with French windows on to the terrace with the pool and sea just beyond or the first floor bedrooms that all open on to a broad, sheltered veranda with spectacular views. The cool white interiors of the house are perfectly complemented by stylishly simple furnishings that enhance the stunning beauty of the surroundings while the personal touches of pictures and ornaments lift The Lookout far beyond the anonymous luxury of a hotel.

It’s not in our day to day experience to have the benefits of a butler on hand! Ash is outstanding – just the right level of attentiveness with a great manner and easy conversation, superb knowledge of the local area and further afield and highly skilled at anticipating needs – perfectly timed, delicious cocktails, teas and even homemade ice lollies waiting for us on the beach when we emerged from a great session of wave jumping. The housekeeper Dileka kept the house immaculate, with sweet little surprises of flowers, petals and intricate origami on our beds each day.

Although I enjoy cooking, I also enjoy the treat of not having to shop for and prepare meals – especially when our family is a mixture of eager carnivores and strict vegans. Each morning at breakfast (what a divine start to the day - exquisite fruit platters, pancakes, waffles, bacon sandwiches, Eggs Benedict - enjoyed on the terrace while watching on the far side of the garden the mongoose family, monitor lizards and kingfishers!) Ash would ask what we would like for lunch and supper and we either chose from the suggestions on the house menu, our own requests or asked for recommended local dishes. Every meal that Premil the chef prepared was delicious and beautifully presented.

We divided our time between the pool, the beach a few steps from the house and Hiriketiya Bay which is a two minute tuk tuk ride or a ten minute walk – the walk is recommended as you are accompanied by monkeys scampering in the trees above you and the call of peacocks and other birds. Ash also arranged day trips for us to Galle and a safari in an elephant filled nature reserve.

We are lucky to have travelled extensively - five star hotels in Europe and Asia, both luxury and basic camping in Africa and happy hols in our own camper van – but we have never stayed anywhere that wraps itself around you like The Lookout – it is truly a heaven away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for taking so long to write such a comprehensive review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you all and we hope you will return to us soon. Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manofgas
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Prior to my daughter’s wedding in 2018, we wanted to find suitable accommodation for all the family, travelling from all parts of the globe. The Lookout offered a short-term rent to us so that we could experience the property at first hand, rather than reading other people’s reviews! The villa is excellent in all respects but please bear in mind that it is ‘conjoined’ with its four-bedroom sister property called The Boat House. Both properties have their own dedicated compliment of staff who live in their own bungalow across the garden. All the rooms are very large, so that a full party of 12 won’t feel on top of each other. The property has its own short path leading direct to the amazing beach and the pounding ocean waves - fantastic for strolls through the water and watching the local fishermen in their outrigger boats. Overall The Lookout is thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Thank you Vicky for your 5* review. It was a pleasure to host you all and we look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finos_6
Armidale, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the most fabulous holiday at The Lookout and I can't recommend this place enough. It was the ultimate place to relax. The house is amazing, it is beautifully designed with stunning views of the sea. Ash and the staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. They were always on hand to answer questions and to help arrange trips around the area. Premil is an exceptional cook and we had the most delicious meals using fresh and local ingredients.

I have no hesitation in recommending The Lookout, with its amazing surroundings, luxurious bedrooms, beautiful bathrooms and a team of staff who went out of their way to make our holiday the most enjoyable and memorable experience.

Thank you to Ash and all the other staff for looking after us so well and we will definitely be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Jo, thank you so much for giving us this wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and the family at The Lookout and we look forward to welcoming you all back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend getaway! Everything is perfect!”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is unreal. It's truly a slice of heaven in one of the nicest places of Sri Lanka with quick access to shops and surf. It's perfect for a weekend getaway from Colombo... or, you could get stuck here for weeks! It's a hard place to leave. The staff are top notch and always there to help, everything is cleaned daily and everything is made and designed with quality and experience in mind. Nice open spaces, overlooking the beach as you sit in an infinity pool... honestly, AMAZING!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thank you Thomas for this review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Lookout. We welcome you back any time! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Lookout”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had two weeks of a dream holiday at ' The Lookout' to the world'! The villa, elegant, spacious with stunning views, provided all we needed to relax sit back and read and observe nature's wonders: myna birds, kingfishers and peacocks, monitor lizards, chipmunks, mongoose, monkeys and the occasional cow stralling in to greet us! We were utteryly spoilt by the kindest attentive people, and a chef who prepared the most amazing dishes. Truly a paradise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2017
Thank you for this review! It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay at The Lookout. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another trip to paradise soon. Best Wishes Nicola and The Lookout Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing