We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
all towels, bath robe, toiletries, hair dryer are available for your comfort
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed and sofa, TV and ensuite bathroom.  Access to balcony and balcony furniture
Relax at sunset at The Lookout
our fabulous pool is inviting by day or night
Indoor or outdoor dining options
relax and read your book ....
early morning shot over our pool ...
Outdoor dining pool side
your own private access to the beach at the edge of the garden
Enter the villa through these over-sized fabulous doors to our large open plan living area
Indoor dining for 14 and beautiful kitchen
lush vegetation surrounds you
beach chic lounge area for relaxing after a day at the pool
Our open plan living with its beach chic décor & art work is a calm place to enjoy any time any day
Indoor outdoor living in luxurious comfort
Chic guest bathroom
Bedroom 1 King bed with TV, ensuite and private courtyard
Bathroom 1 fitted  with luxury free standing bath
Bedroom 2 access to balcony and those breath-taking views through bi-fold doors
Bedroom 2 fitted with 2 queen beds, TV, ensuite bathroom and balcony access
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 1 access to garden, pool and beach through magnificent bi-folding doors
Bathroom 3 with bath fitted with edge wide enough for tea lights and a glass for your added comfort
A Californian King bed, sofa, tub chairs make the Master Suite a comfortable retreat at any time
our well appointed Master bathroom will not disappoint
poolside treats
spectacular master bathroom with rain shower and fitted bath looks out to the ocean
your own path to the beach at the end of the garden
an easy stroll to the beach at the end of the garden
your own view of paradise from the upper balcony
local fishermen
our beautiful Dikwella Beach
The 2 Villas Sri Lanka total property for the larger group who want both villas
Bathroom 1 .. your access to your private courtyard
our team awaits to serve you
Ash your butler ready and waiting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
manofgas
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Prior to my daughter’s wedding in 2018, we wanted to find suitable accommodation for all the family, travelling from all parts of the globe. The Lookout offered a short-term rent to us so that we could experience the property at first hand, rather than reading other people’s reviews! The villa is excellent in all respects but please bear in mind that it is ‘conjoined’ with its four-bedroom sister property called The Boat House. Both properties have their own dedicated compliment of staff who live in their own bungalow across the garden. All the rooms are very large, so that a full party of 12 won’t feel on top of each other. The property has its own short path leading direct to the amazing beach and the pounding ocean waves - fantastic for strolls through the water and watching the local fishermen in their outrigger boats. Overall The Lookout is thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Thank you Vicky for your 5* review. It was a pleasure to host you all and we look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finos_6
Armidale, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the most fabulous holiday at The Lookout and I can't recommend this place enough. It was the ultimate place to relax. The house is amazing, it is beautifully designed with stunning views of the sea. Ash and the staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. They were always on hand to answer questions and to help arrange trips around the area. Premil is an exceptional cook and we had the most delicious meals using fresh and local ingredients.

I have no hesitation in recommending The Lookout, with its amazing surroundings, luxurious bedrooms, beautiful bathrooms and a team of staff who went out of their way to make our holiday the most enjoyable and memorable experience.

Thank you to Ash and all the other staff for looking after us so well and we will definitely be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Jo, thank you so much for giving us this wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and the family at The Lookout and we look forward to welcoming you all back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend getaway! Everything is perfect!”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is unreal. It's truly a slice of heaven in one of the nicest places of Sri Lanka with quick access to shops and surf. It's perfect for a weekend getaway from Colombo... or, you could get stuck here for weeks! It's a hard place to leave. The staff are top notch and always there to help, everything is cleaned daily and everything is made and designed with quality and experience in mind. Nice open spaces, overlooking the beach as you sit in an infinity pool... honestly, AMAZING!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thank you Thomas for this review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Lookout. We welcome you back any time! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Lookout”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had two weeks of a dream holiday at ' The Lookout' to the world'! The villa, elegant, spacious with stunning views, provided all we needed to relax sit back and read and observe nature's wonders: myna birds, kingfishers and peacocks, monitor lizards, chipmunks, mongoose, monkeys and the occasional cow stralling in to greet us! We were utteryly spoilt by the kindest attentive people, and a chef who prepared the most amazing dishes. Truly a paradise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2017
Thank you for this review! It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay at The Lookout. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another trip to paradise soon. Best Wishes Nicola and The Lookout Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomh1231
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had an absolutely incredible time staying at The Lookout for my birthday, couldn't have asked for a better place to spend it. The location is fantastic, as you have complete privacy but you are only a 5 minute walk from the middle of Dikwella and a 10 minute walk from the Hiri surfing bay! The villa itself is very well thought out and has everything you could possibly need!

Will definitely have to get back there soon! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Hi Tom - It was great to be able to welcome you for your birthday weekend! Thanks for choosing The Lookout and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melliedxb
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Christmas bliss”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here over Christmas for a change from our usual jaunt back to the uk. I think I will stay here every Christmas from now on!!! Lobsters and grilled prawns to die for and such wonderfully accommodating staff. Not a soggy brussel sprout in site here!!! There was never a moment that I didn't have a frozen daquari in my hand! Stunning location, superb design and simply a home away from home to relax, recharge and enjoy. I'm planning on going back in June and I'm counting down the days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
We look forward to welcoming you in June for a repeat on December! Best wishes
Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Oli...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious, Earthly Paradise Getaway in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I had the pleasure of staying here in February and have been meaning to write a review for some time about my wonderful experience.

Situated on a serene stretch of beach on the southern tip of Sri Lanka, this is the perfect spot for anyone looking to escape the chaos of modern life, recharge and relax in a peaceful setting. The long sandy beach, lined with palm trees is protected by headlands, making it ideal for swimming and the stunning infinity pool on the terrace is really the perfect place to unwind.

The property is decorated in a contemporary style with a hint of Sri Lankan tradition and everything is really impeccably finished down to the very last detail both inside and out.

What really made our trip so special though, was the personalised service of Ash and the Foh team, for whom nothing was too much trouble.The meals cooked by the in-house chef, from local ingredients and fresh seafood from the area were truly delicious.

If you ever do feel like venturing out of this paradise (which you might not!) there are plenty of places to explore in the area such as the neighboring surf spot, Hiriketiya Bay or the Sea Turtle Sanctuary ( though be sure to book ahead as local conservation regulations only allow visitors at certain times).

Would love to come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Thanks Hazel for taking the time to write such a long review. We really are very fortunate to have such a beautiful beach location. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing