We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cute hostel!”
Review of Surf Cafe

Surf Cafe
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Dikwella
Price range: $2 - $5
Description: Dots Surf Cafe is the first brand new co-work and co-living space of Hiriketiya. During the day it's a cafe and bakery where you can enjoy fresh baked sour dough and Italian pressed coffee. We also have a female dorm and a mixed dorm, fast internet and a soundproof airconditioned work booth.
Restaurant details
Description: Dots Surf Cafe is the first brand new co-work and co-living space of Hiriketiya. During the day it's a cafe and bakery where you can enjoy fresh baked sour dough and Italian pressed coffee. We also have a female dorm and a mixed dorm, fast internet and a soundproof airconditioned work booth.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this hostel. As soon as we walked in we got greeted by Nicky, she was so friendly and gave us some water and a biscuit. The beds are comfy and the rooms have two toilets and two showers which is great! The rooms also have such a homely feel to them as they’re decorated really nice. The free breakfast and coffee is a win too. Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ziannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dots Bay House B, Manager at Surf Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ziannec

Thank you so much for this review, we love you!

Great to hear you enjoyed our place, thanks for the shout out to Niki we will let her know.

Please spread the word, come back soon!

Love,

The Surf Cafe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful hostel, great vibes, comfortable beds and the best smell of freshly baked bread. Our host Nikki was fantastic and very welcoming making us feel at home right away. Free breakfast is also a great addition. Highly recommended on your trip through Sri Lanka

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Leon-Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dots Bay House B, Manager at Surf Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Leon-Anthony,

Thank you so much for this review!

Great to hear you enjoyed our place, great customers gives good vibes.

Please spread the word, come back soon!

Love,

The Surf Cafe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not someone who usually takes the time out to write reviews but surf Cafe is the exception. Super friendly staff (smoothie on arrival, hooking up with surf lessons etc), amazing facilities, bunks with enough space to unpack (a huge bonus) and perfectly located 4 mins walk from hiri beach and 10 from dikwella. Best non sri Lankan breakfast I've had on this trip. 10/10 all round.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 711jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dots Bay House B, Manager at Surf Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 711jasperw,

Thank you so much for this review, we appreciate the effort!

Great to hear you enjoyed our place, best place of Hiriketiya wauw you make us really happy.

Please spread the word, come back soon!

Love,

The Surf Cafe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay at Surf Cafe. It’s in the perfect location if arriving by bus. We were given a delicious welcome smoothie on arrival - staff are very friendly. The dorms are some of the best we’ve stayed in - dividers and compartments for belongings. There are also lockers in the very spacious en-suite. The venue itself is very chilled - very pretty setting. Great non- Sri Lankan breakfast and PROPER coffee on offer (if you fancy a break). Cafe Surf is a short walk from Hirikatiya beach, where you’ll spend most of your days and evenings. You’re also allowed to use the facilities at Dots. Dikwella beach is also a 10 minute walk away - great for a day of sunning and swimming if you don’t fancy surf. Very happy with our stay here - RECOMENDED HIGHLY

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank evamstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dots Bay House B, Manager at Surf Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi evamstewart,

Hi 332gianlucav,

Thank you so much for this amazing wide review!

Great to hear you enjoyed our place.

Please spread the word, come back soon!

Love,

The Surf Cafe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was staying at Surf Cafe’s sister apartment across the road (Boho- which is totally beautiful by the way!) and came to Surf Cafe for breakfast and “proper” coffee to kickstart my days...(Hard to find the good stuff in Sri Lanka sometimes!)
Relaxed and arty atmosphere, extremely helpful staff, tasty avocado on toast and all round positive vibes! Oh and the music is on point! Thanks to the staff for being so welcoming x

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank F9662HXlucys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dots Bay House B, Manager at Surf Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 332gianlucav,

Thank you so much for this review!

Great to hear you enjoyed our place, good coffee is gold right;).

Please spread the word, come back soon!

Love,

The Surf Cafe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Cafe also viewed

Dikwella, Southern Province
Dikwella, Southern Province
 
Dikwella, Southern Province
Dikwella, Southern Province
 
Dikwella, Southern Province
 

Been to Surf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing