We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant but wasn't that happy with the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Durgapur
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but wasn't that happy with the hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The rooms are dated but acceptable in terms of cleanliness. Hotel staff can be unpleasant and sometimes not that helpful. I enjoyed the restaurant, with plenty of options and good service.

I stayed here 10 years ago and it seems the hotel now isn't at the same standards in terms of service.

Room Tip: I would not recommend getting the wifi service as it can be unreliable and slow and if it stops work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank modesttraveller30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPD, General Manager at Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from the Peerless sarovar Portico, Durgapur!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you indeed for staying and sharing your experience with us and providing us with the detailed feedback. We appreciate you taking the effort to providing feedback, as we view it as integral to improving our services.

I really appreciate your time given to us.

We are sincerely apologetic for the inconvenience caused. We are also glad to know that you liked our, service & food.

This communication may be treated as an assurance of the best of our services on your next visit to our hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope it will not be too long from now that we again welcome you to our hotel.

Warm personal regards,
Shantanu Ranjan Pal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    56
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
28
6
18
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It is an old property, which does not match the standards of other Sarovar properties. Rooms are old fashioned and terrible in pricing. Impolite staff further makes your stay very unpleasant. Buffet meals are very poor and offer little options. Fitness center is worse than a make shift arrangement in your home. Air Conditioning is painful and might not work at all. Lot of pain in parking a car in parking. Try other options in the vicinity and I am sure that you will be better off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piyusz6k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPD, General Manager at Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Greetings from The Peerless Sarovar Portico ,Durgapur !!!

Thank you for having taken time out to give us your valuable feedback via trip advisor on the issues faced during your last visit .Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Each & every staff of The Peerless Sarovar Portico ,Durgapur is dedicated to providing a high service standard, however it seems we have fallen short of our usual high standards during your stay.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously & brought to the attention of the concerned Department Heads for immediate corrective actions.

It is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service & product.

We realize that your current image of our hotel is tainted due to this issue and we sincerely hope that we have another opportunity to make amends and welcoming you back to The Peerless Sarovar Portico ,Durgapur

With best personal Regards,
Shantanu Ranjan Pal , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durgapur hotels

KOLKATA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel has its followers and loyal customers. Was once the most renowned in the city but am sure its not anymore. The front desk could do with some smile on their faces. Too costly buffet spread (lunch and dinner). The rooms are sort of clumsy. Didn't work for me. There are better options in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nabarunghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPD, General Manager at Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
GMPID:.

Greetings From The Peerless Sarovar Portico , Durgapur !!!

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We value your feedback.. Necessary lessons have been drawn and assure you will find a definite change in your next visit..

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Peerless Sarovar Portico , Durgapur in your next visit.

Regards,
Shantanu Ranjan Pal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was a pleasure to be at PSP, DURGAPUR. The rooms are very spacious and clean. This Hotel has a host of very attentive and friendly front office staff...that is one of the marvelous staff facility i had got there.A bit negatives are totally countered by very helpful front office staff, great comfort, Lovely ambience. As i was bit tired at the time of entry to this hatel but due to promt reply against check in and other reception level services,i was fully satisfied then against the front office dept work..lots more thing to share..What makes this a better place are the staff(I must say the front office staff). Everywhere at the hotel, you meet really courteous front office people who are dedicated to their work and eager to make your stay better. Overall, definitely one of the top luxury hotels in Durgapur with good value for money.Really a good place to visit again and I will...

Room Tip: If you can, go for the standard rooms. They are a class apart!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank souro_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPD, General Manager at Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear SIR,

Greetings from The Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur!!!!!

Thank you for visiting us at The Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur

we hope we achieved our goal in making your stay memorable by providing outstanding service.

We strive to make your experience at The Peerless Sarovar Portico , Durgapur one you will remember forever.

Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.

We value your trust in our company, and we will do our best to meet your service expectations.

Thank you again for the opportunity to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return in the near future.


Thanks & Regards
Shantanu Ranjan Pal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Being in a small town its always better to opt for the best hotel in town when in the mood to kill a beer or two.Thus my choice for the Peerless was quite obvious.The good points are that its the best location i.e. the Mall area of City Centre near Gandhi more, a cozy individual unit as you enter the premises and lots of greenery (if chilling out in the afternoon).That's just about it.The place is expensive for its standard mainly because of their monopoly of being the only star hotel in town.There were two staff members,the senior was watching a political channel on the television sitting on the guest chairs ! (even after guests walked in !) the junior was probably too junior as he wanted to help but lacked knowledge & experience.The bar is nowhere close to being value for money and I would suggest the competition i.e. Citi Residenci

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuddhoGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPD, General Manager at Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Greetings from The Peerless Sarovar Portico ,Durgapur !!!

Thank you for having taken time out to give us your valuable feedback via trip advisor on the issues faced during your last visit .Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Each & every staff of The Peerless Sarovar Portico ,Durgapur is dedicated to providing a high service standard, however it seems we have fallen short of our usual high standards during your stay.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously & brought to the attention of the concerned Department Heads for immediate corrective actions.

It is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service & product.

We realize that your current image of our hotel is tainted due to this issue and we sincerely hope that we have another opportunity to make amends and welcoming you back to The Peerless Sarovar Portico ,Durgapur

With best personal Regards,
Shantanu Ranjan Pal , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed there for a night and had a very different experience. The lock of the door did not work properly. In stead of trying to feel sorry and promising repair the receptionist was trying to tell me the style of opening the door. Now a days its surprising to have manual lock and key. The AC was very cold due to change in weather and when reported I was asked to put it off as there was no system to control cooling of AC. So I was supposed to wake up time and again to put on and off this AC. In the break fast you cant ask for anything other than what is laid on the buffet and the style also cannot be changed. Quality of breakfast was also inferior comparing the place and tarrif

Room Tip: Room facing the mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Quite decent hotel to stay on. Its very near to city center which is the heart of Durgapur city. Rooms are large but little old fashioned so as the furnitures. Food are extremely good. Room rents are moderate. Happens to be the best hotel in the city but not up to the expectation

Room Tip: Rooms are good in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debojit_roy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durgapur
0.0 mi away
Park Prime Durgapur
Park Prime Durgapur
#4 of 4 in Durgapur
17 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Asansol International
0.0 mi away
Delta Suites
Delta Suites
#2 of 18 in Durgapur
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City International
City International
#7 of 18 in Durgapur
3 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel The Signature Asansol
0.0 mi away
The Fern Residency, Galaxy Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur

Property: Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur
Address: City Centre | City Center, Durgapur 713216, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Bardhaman District > Durgapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Durgapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peerless Sarovar Portico is located in Shahid Khudiram Sarani in City Centre of Durgapur. The Durgapur railway station is about 7 kilometers away, City Centre bus stand 1 kilometer and Kolkata airport 183 kilometers from the hotel. You can select from 61 spacious and contemporarily designed rooms categorized into Standard, Deluxe and Suites. Each room is elegantly furnished and outfitted with amenities such as internet data port, satellite television, tea and coffee maker – in all Deluxe rooms, direct dial telephone and en-suite bath complete with toiletries. To top it all, your room is attended to a round the clock room service. Savor a delectable Chinese platter at ‘Indigo’, an in-site restaurant serving sumptuous Chinese, Continental and Indian cuisine. You could try out ‘High Octane’, the city’s best stocked watering hole, a 25 cover economy bar serving a wide range of drinks. The hotel has two huge banquet halls and a foreign exchange desk among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Peerless Sarovar Portico, Durgapur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing