We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located lodge”
Review of Nile Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nile Safari Lodge
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautifully located lodge”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

During our visit to Murchison Falls NP, we stayed in this lodge for two nights. WIthout diminishing any of the other qualities of the lodge (and there are many), the main attraction of this lodge is the location. It is located on a rim south of the Nile river, not far from the NP. It offers spectacular views over the Nile river, both from your room and terrace as from the central lounge area. The room is spacious, with an inside veranda room and an outside terrace, both providing splendid views over the Nile river.

The bed is very comfortable, firm but soft enough for a comfortable sleep. Showering is a nice adventure since there is no hot water system available. You order a shower at a certain time and then a drum on top of your lodge is filled with water at the warm temperature. This provides you with a nice warm shower. The water still smells of the charcoal with which it was heated.

The restaurant provides really good food, with a few choices (meat, fish, vegetarian) for dinner and some nice choices for breakfast.

You really are out in nature at this place. The sounds of many (and I mean MANY) hippos accompany you when you are in your room. When we were enjoying a pre-dinner drink the first night on the terrace of the central building, a nice group of vervet monkeys showed up in the tree in front of us. They crossed the terrace and went past the restaurant area to disappear in the trees surrounding the lodges.

If you are visiting Murchison Falls NP, this really is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here with my mother and the views of the Nile were incredible. The food was delicious and the portions are quite good. I came here as part of an inclusive trip with a tou company so I can't say too much about the price - on the more expensive side I suppose. The staff are very friendly, and the lodging is wonderful (for UG standards). They even bring you hot water for your shower at any time in the morning. We left around 6 am, and they had everything ready to go at 5am. I really liked it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Find Yourself F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently spent a night at the Nile Safari Lodge and had a great time. The accommodations are set up as separate wood cottages well dispersed in the natural landscape. Each cottage has its own bathroom complete with outdoor shower. Hot water is brought on request, we asked to have hot water at 0530 for a morning shower and it was there as promised.The common areas included a small pool, restaurant/bar and a beautiful terrace that overlooks the Nile River. Off to the side there is a cozy area where staff light a campfire in the evening, great place to enjoy a cold Nile Special under the stars. The hotel is located inside Murchison Fall N.P. so wildlife is abundant and wild! saw lots of vervet monkeys and a large family of Baboons within the grounds, no problems, just be careful not to let children roam unattended. Dinner was a set menu with two choices and the food well very good. They also provide a tasty packed lunch to take with you on your day trips. This hotel is well situated for those planning safaris in the park as it is just 10 minutes from the ferry that crosses the Nile to the northern side of the park where most of the wildlife viewing is. I believe I paid roughly 200 USD for two people full board, which considering the service and location is a pretty good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan-Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having stayed several times 5 years ago I was pleased to see the magnificent deck on the Nile is still a super place to spot shoebill. We chose the place because of the pool which is really nice mid day and after a dusty drive. It is also nice to watch hippo or elephant across the river. It is better now there is a good road from the ferry..only 10 minutes now instead of 30 and the food was still good. I missed the early morning coffee but guess its due to the pesky vervets who wake you up clambering on the roof. Iam still not a fan of showers to order but like the pebbly out door one. Perhaps a little pricey given the competition but you can,t beat the view or pool.

Room Tip: Depends on your group but there are differences.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 50pushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Along with three other friends, I stayed at the Nile Safari Lodge for one night - but I wish we had stayed longer! It was a beautiful place and was nothing at all like what we expected. We were greeted at reception with juices and escorted to our cabin after placing our order for dinner. The resort overlooks the Nile which was very nice; at night though, it took us a while to get to sleep simply because of how loud the insects and hippos were! The service and the food were also great. Overall, it was a fantastic resort; if you're visiting Uganda and this falls within your budget, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We came to Uganda to volunteer, but we really wanted the safari experience, and Emily at NSL accommodated us on short notice. The whole staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming, and the whole resort is GORGEOUS and breathtaking. It's in the book '1000 places to see before you die' and it's completely understandable why! We woke up and looked over at the Nile, saw monkeys, you name it. The food was impeccable and the accommodations were wonderful. Definitely a recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We actually camped at Nile Safari's campsite (Shoebill) which is a couple of hundred metres walk away and is highly recommended as it is the best campsite presently available in Murchison Falls (outstanding views, good showers & toilets and a campfire prepared for you by the guards each night) but we also had dinner here one night and it was delicious. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
4.5 mi away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#2 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.5 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Albert Lodge
Lake Albert Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hoima
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nile Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nile Safari Lodge

Property: Nile Safari Lodge
Address: Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nile Safari Lodge has an iconic reputation due to its unique location in one of the most beautiful settings in Africa. It is here that the mighty River Nile takes centre stage. The lodge allows unhindered views of wild Africa at its most magnificent. Built on an elevated rise on the banks of the River Nile, Nile Safari Lodge surrounds you with the Africa as you always dreamed of. Herds of elephant, hippopotamus, crocodile and other large mammals are regularly sighted from the lodge, as the Nile flows majestically by. The lodge is also famous for its bird life, and is one of the few places from which the elusive shoebill stork can be spotted. While Murchison Falls National Park provides you with exciting animal and nature encounters, Nile Safari Lodge extends this experience, combined with GeoLodges down to earth hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nile Safari Hotel Murchison Falls National Park
Nile Safari Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing