We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent new stay for visiting Murchison Falls”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison Falls National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bwana Tembo Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent new stay for visiting Murchison Falls”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been here for 2 days in July and it was fantastic. The tents and cottages are brand new with great view and the best hot shower in Uganda. The italian owners and local staff are very friendly and the service is good. We love the (italian) kitchen. Bwana Tembo is near the northern gate of the National Park, so you don't need the ferry to enter it for the morning game drive.
All together the best place to visit Murchison Falls!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HylkeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
31
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Marvelous location overlooking the Nile, amazing food, warm family atmosphere!
Food deserves a special mentioning (Italian food!). You wont risk to miss a meal!
New CLEAN cottages!

Very much recommended!

Room Tip: All are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very clean modern accomodation with fantastic showers!!!!! The chalet accomodation was very nice and welcome after a dusty safaari game drive! The dinner was delicious and seemed authentically Italian - and there was enough to satisfy my hungry teenagers! Lovely view of the Nile and sunset. Good if you are travelling in a family or large group, because it is easy to get from hut to hut and the paths are well lit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a hut/chalet room, but the tented accomodation seemed really nice too and still had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grangerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ideal location to nip to the park for evening or morning game drives. Fantastic bathrooms with solar showers. Comfortable and very clean.Delicious dinner and cold beers.The view and bird watching are good and the agamas are very funny. A delightful place. Thanks

Room Tip: Tents and cottages both have good decks and bathrooms.. Your choice.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 50pushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Bwana Tembo is located just outside the town of Pakwach, 6 km from Tangi gate. Offering all the services you need to feel home while visiting Murchisson Falls National Park. The attention to the details (whether you choose a cottage or a luxury tent), the good food and the warm atmosphere (its a family run business), really feels like visiting some long time friends, which will make you feel like going back and back again.

Reaching is relatively easy, as the road to Pakwach is fully tarmac (only the last 3 km are not, but adventure is what you are there for anyway!).

Each room (or tent) is self contained, with running water and an independent water heating system. Bathrooms are clean and completely tiled. The water pressure in the shower (something i always look out for) is excellent, and is exactly what you need after a long day of game viewing. Each room has a veranda from which to enjoy the view, and think of Samuel Baker (the famous explorer) and his wife who roamed this hills over 100 years ago.

The compound is beautifully set on a hill, the excellent view already mentioned, and when the botanical works are finished, it will be an extra delight for the eye!

When it comes to the kitchen, you will never want to miss a meal. The food has a clear Italian note, with homemade Gnocchi or Cannelloni, as the clear winners. The packed lunch (which in other hotels can sometimes really let you down) impressed us. Other important point, if mentioned in advance, individual wishes can be arranged, just ask Davide! (for example vegetarians).

Also, from the rumors, i hear a pizza oven might be put up soon (you never know, these Italians!) A well stocked bar, from which to end a long day, and catch a conversation with the owners, completes the picture.

The entire place also runs on solar power, so no generator noise in the background (and especially no power cuts when you mostly need it!).

A note to be taken, Bwana Tembo means, Mr. Elephant (excuse my Swahili), and Elephants do sometimes arrive, that is why you are advised to stay inside your cottage at night, to freely enjoy these animals in the safety of your room!

Enjoy your stay and be sure to spend at least two nights, the food alone (but not only) is worth it!

Room Tip: We went for a cottage, each of them (i took a tour) is the exact copy of the other one. Next time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
13.2 mi away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#2 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.1 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
149 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bwana Tembo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwana Tembo Safari Camp

Property: Bwana Tembo Safari Camp
Address: Got Atyero, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 km from Murchison Falls National Park (Tangi gate). 6 self contained cottages and 4 self contained safari tents. Hot water ant electricity available 24/7. Italian home made dishes. Excellent view of the Albert Nile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwana Tembo Safari Camp Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing