We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison Falls National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murchison River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while on safari. A short ferry ride takes you across to the park. Views of the nile were fantastic and so close to wildlife. Hearing hippos at night was brilliant. The 2 bed cottage we had was lovely, especially the veranda. Best food all holiday had here, thanks for the packed lunches and breakfasts! Pool was lovely and staff were amazing. Decor and atmosphere perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of the lazy tents. I was a bit nervous beforehand about camping in the bush but I loved it. Yes there is some wildlife but that's what we came on safari for! Monkeys playing outside the tent and hippo noises was all part of the fun. I felt safe and at night staff escorted us back to the tents just in case of roaming hippos! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. We forgot to order breakfast to-go on a game drive day and something was immediately rustled up for us. The owner was brilliant - we arrived having booked nothing and he helped us plan game drives and a boat trip. We hired our own car, which I can thoroughly recommend (you can't go wrong with the map directions to get there) and game drives were pretty cheap just costing the petrol and the ranger. They have a new pool, which was much needed after a long day in the park. I highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We camped at MRL for 3 nights and had a great time. Camping is $10 with your own tent and although the campsite is a couple of minute walk from the bar, the location makes it worthwhile.

The lodge is on the banks of Victoria Nile with lovely views from the bar. There are several sofa style seats and a hammock to relax in. The staff are all exceptionally friendly, in particular Fred, who didn't stop smiling once the whole time we were there.

One of the other bonuses was the pool, it gets quite hot up at Murch and it was very welcome! Staff pop down regularly to take drinks orders.

Food is fine and is what most lodges of this type seem to serve, however venturing into the nearest town and going to a local restaurant will save you a reasonable sum. I guess it comes down to whether you are travelling on a budget or not. (we were!)

I can't comment on the rooms but overall as a place to stay it is great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of a safari organised by Matoke Tours.The lodge was clean, quiet with beautifully constructed bandas, absolute luxury in the middle of the park. The decor you would not find in many top class hotels in the uk. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, early breakfasts for game drives, late suppers... even a guard on hippo duty at night to see you to your accommodation! The food was the best we had on our trip, and the pool an added unexpected bonus.
The tour company arranged our river trips and safaris, but to be honest if you want to travel independently the lodge staff are so helpful you could arrange everything through them

Room Tip: the bands are wonderful... and big enough for 2 couples sharing or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingtutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages for three nights and wish it could have been longer! The location was stunning, attention to detail on everything spot on and staff fantastic! The food we had was the best whilst in Uganda, perfect meats and salads, gea chef! Perfect location for safari's and boat trips, hearing hippo's at breakfast was an amazing experience. We would reccomend to anyone wanting a truly first classtay at Murchison.

Room Tip: The cottages sleep 4 and are beautifully decorated, bit of awalk from the bar area but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

its indeed a marvelous set up.murchision river lodge is indeed a true African arrangement,you are totally guaranteed relaxing in the wild bushes of Uganda.I personally recommend a two day night stay to refresh your mind.For honeymooners,their is no better option than the river lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 635andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at MRL with my boyfriend in May 2013 - we wanted to do something special as it was his first trip to Uganda and it did not disappoint.
The location is stunning - Nile views and sounds (including hippos!) from every angle. Vervet monkeys (and hippos!) visit the campsite and there are many birds to be seen.

We stayed in a sarfari tent which was right next to the river, flanked by trees which provided shade to sit in when we had some safari-free time. The tent was spotless, right down to the mosquito net. I always find mosquito nets a problem, often even in really nice lodges and hotels, because they're invariably very dusty and never cleaned - not so at MRL where they were pristine; this was only one of the many examples of a clearly carefully thought out attention to detail.

Other features that stood out from the norm were the wash basins made from pretty pebbles (a theme echoed in the paths and landmarks) and the brightly coloured cushions and hammock which help to make the bar area so relaxing and homely.

The food was fabulous - three course meals with a vegetarian option every night (NOT the norm!)and cooked breakfast available every morning - accentuated by a view of sunset or sunrise over the Nile as you eat. Packed lunches are available for day trips and these were very convenient.

The pool was especially welcome after hot dusty days and its view of the Nile only adds to the refreshing atmosphere. A member of staff was always quick to notice we were there and offer us drinks.

Perhaps the best thing about MRL is the staff - without exception they were friendly, good humoured and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to makes guests feel like more than paying customers. There is clearly a sense of pride in the place and a genuine zest for customer service among everyone who works there.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to my friends as excellent value and an overall exceptional experience. We were there for three nights but could have happily stayed double that at least. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily_Bascom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison Falls National Park hotels
4.2 mi away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#2 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
467 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pakuba Safari Lodge
Pakuba Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nile Safari Lodge
Nile Safari Lodge
#11 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.3 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#7 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
165 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fort Murchison
Fort Murchison
#4 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baker's Lodge
Baker's Lodge
#3 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murchison River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murchison River Lodge

Address: Murchison, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range: $55 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murchison River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing mid-range lodge (with its own campsite) directly on the south bank of the River Nile with breathtaking views over Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murchison River Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing