We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paraa Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sambiya River Lodge(Murchison Falls National Park)(Great Value!)
$208
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorers Hub(Kampala)
$58
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Hotel(Kampala)
$129
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$139
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$178
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
$297
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
217
207
47
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
207
47
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargame drivesthe rivermurchison fallsboat ridebuffet styleair conditioningold colonial stylecold juiceno wifi in the roomsthe rooms were nicefloor fanlovely poolnational parksafari lodgetwo nightsnile view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 496 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Paraa lodge is a tad bit expensive but worth the cost if you have been in Uganda and you are looking for a clean and good hotel with a bit of luxury. Located north of the river, the lodge is well situated for quick access in and out of the park. Only caution is on game drives, the hotel is a bit farther from animals and good viewing areas. The setting is beautiful, the amenities are plentiful and the rooms are very clean. I would say cleaner than their sister lodge in Queen Elizabeth National Park.

The food was good but the only option was the buffet. To me, a buffet gets old after one day of breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It would be nice to have a menu.

Make sure you take a boat tour to the Falls. And, make sure you do the hike to the top: $10.00 U.S. per person is what we paid. It was beautiful but hot! I suggest brining bug spray and a small washcloth for wiping your face! And, they sell beer and cola on the boat, which makes the trip even better.

Tip: If this is your only trip for a safari, make sure you have at least three nights and four days. The lodge helps you to slow down, relax, and take it all in. The pool has a swim-up bar with in the water bar stools so that you can lazily sip on a drink! One reviewer suggests asking for AC rooms. I would agree that would be a benefit. We saw many animals, however, I don't think there are many lions in the park. If I go back to Murchison Falls I will stay at Paraa Lodge.

Room Tip: Request one that overlooks the pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was a real treat to stay here, especially after more than a week in pretty substandard lodgings. The lodge was beautiful, the staff attentive and helpful, the food delicious and the location close to perfect. Our rooms were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were well appointed. We especially enjoyed the patio of our room which overlooked the pool area.

One small drawback: there are a great number of bats about at night- be sure your patio/balcony door is closed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Paraa Lodge. The lodge is a very nice place and definitely well-located north of the river. The setting is beautiful!! The staff is very attentive. There is a wonderful pool and a bar. You don't expect this in Uganda; drinking gin-tonics in a pool overlooking the Nile!!!
Food is served buffet style.
The boot tours to the falls and the delta are very nice. We saw a lot of different animals at the parc; lots of elephants and antilopes and girafes.
It is a pity they are searching oil in the parc, so in a couple of years the parc could be changed by this. Hopefully this will not happen!!!
Over all, we enjoyed our time at Paraa Lodge very much, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Paraa Lodge, doing self-drive safari within Murchison Falls. The lodge is a nice place and definitely well-located north of the river, which means you do not need to take the ferry each day to and from the main game area. (Even so, you still end up driving about 30 minutes to get to the prime viewing areas.)

Paraa Lodge is not a small, boutique bush lodge, but rather a fairly large hotel. But it does this well with very attentive staff in a beautiful setting. One of the two wings of the lodge has a river view and it is worth asking for that, otherwise you are looking at the pool or trees from your room. Food is served buffet style. One morning we went out on the lodge's boat for a ride up the river to the falls - definitely worthwhile as it is a pleasant way to see hippos, crocs and birds, although you do not get very close to the falls due to safety concerns.

Our one complaint with the lodge is that we were presented with the option of upgrading to AC rooms upon arrival at an additional $25/night. That's the kind of thing you'd rather be told about when initially booking. More importantly, it is a little stuffy to be in a room without AC, as the big sliding glass door that opens onto the balcony has no screen. After checking out the rooms, we opted for the AC, as we had spoken with friends who had suffered through nights in non-AC rooms when temperatures were high. We wouldn't generally advocate for having AC in safari lodges, but it would seem to make sense to put screens on the main window so you can get some fresh air during the night.

Over all, we enjoyed our time at Paraa Lodge, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank muttypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was my second visit to Paraa and it was not exactly on holiday but I stayed over during a field trip. We were warmly welcomed by the staff on both occasions and on the second visit we had welcome drinks waiting. Check in was quick and our luggage carried to the rooms. This is a tranquil place and very scenic as well. I enjoyed the sound of the hippos as they relaxed in the water. We also manage to see some giraffes, buffalos, kobs, warthogs and baboons during our stay. The meals were very good and the rooms comfortable and clean. Relaxing in the chairs on the balcony and looking out at the water was such a joy. My only problem was that the mattress was very hard otherwise everything turned out perfect. I plan to come back on holiday with family and will hopefully write a better review.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pusrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGReview, Manager at Paraa Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you very much for having stayed at Paraa Safari Lodge and also for taking your valuable time to give the feedback. In an effort to improve on the facilities in the guests rooms ,new mattresses, duvets and bed throws were recently added. We appreciate and acknowledge that you found the new mattresses a bit hard but would like to assure assure you that this will be addressed on your forthcoming visit with your family. We pride ourselves in the fact that at Paraa Lodge are a flexible and caring team and look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Thank you once again for this valuable feedback.
Crispus Mwamidi
General Manager
gm@paraalodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews