We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Paraa Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paraa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Other than the lodge's design which from the front looks a bit like a Motel 6, we enjoyed everything about it. Our room was on the second floor with a nice view out over the pool and the Nile. The room was spacious, clean, and had a wonderful bathroom with lots of water pressure. I only wished there were screens so we could have had the patio door open for some cool air -- at night it was a bit stuffy even with the fan running. Of course, there is a/c available for a fee so there's always that option if it was stinking hot.

The food was good - I'm not a huge fan of buffets but there were a lot of options and everything I had was tasty.

The lobby offers free internet with several computers for guests to use, good lounge areas and bar, and a curio shop.

Being on the north side and not needing to take the ferry in the early morning for game drives was a plus.

We had an excellent stay and only wished it had been longer.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    187
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
89
139
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I did not actually stay at the Paraa Safari Lodge. I was at the Red Chilli Rest Camp across the river. However, we spent time here while waiting for the ferry across the Victoria Nile. Compared to the Red Chilli, well, there is no comparison. The reception and pool areas were wonderful and inviting. The view over the river is spectacular. I had a drink and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They also have a computer i the lobby with internet that they let me us free. The lodge is on the north side of the river. This is good and bad. You have to wait for the ferry if you are coming from Kampala. However, you don't have to catch the ferry for an early morning game drive to the Albert delta area in the park. I know the Paraa Safari Lodge is more expensive then some of the other places in the area (Murchison River Lodge, Red Chilli), but if you are only staying for a day or two, it may well be worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Paraa Lodge is beautifully situated on the Nile. The drive to Queen Elizabeth Park took us almost 10 hours coming from the north, so when we arrived at Paraa we were hot, dusty, and exhausted. They welcomed us with cool cloths and a cool drink. The rooms are luxurious, and the pool felt divine! We sat by the pool the first evening with our cocktails and enjoyed the sunset on the Nile. it was perfect, and of course, we could hear the hippos fairly close by! The food at the Paraa is excellent, and meals are served on a beautiful porch overlooking the Nile. Our only complaint has to do with the rooms. We initially were given a room without air conditioning -- which we wouldn't have minded except the room did not have screens. It was warm but we couldn't open the windows. So, we requested a room with AC which they gave us for an additional charge, and all was fine.

Room Tip: Just be sure to find out if the room has AC before you move your things in! We heard it is better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After a long transfer we arrived @ Paraa Lodge. Compared to the other resorts and hotel I was so far in Uganda, Paraa Lodge is quite big.

From the lodge you have a beautiful view to the Victoria Nile. The room was for me (single) quite big. And it was clean.

Lunch and dinner were buffet. The choice and the quality have been quite ok - somehow international with some local vegetables. And I had never problems with my stomach.

There is a small business center available where you can check your e-mails.

The only problem I had was while checking out. They did not accept Credit Cards. The explained me that this is a security measure - as they got a lot of complaints from customers.

But the best thin about Paraa is, that you are already on the correct side to do game drives. So you can go by car and your are not dependent on the ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

After seven days in Kampala and Entebbe, the mission team chartered a bush plane through MAF and flew up to Pakuba airfield. Stayed at the lodge two nights and enjoyed everythin immensely! How many times in your life can you say you stayed at a first rate lodge on the banks of the Nile River? The organization we were with negotiated the rate so I can't address the cost. But the service and the food was incredible! Very accommodating in every way. The water safari was amazing and the early morning land safari exceeded all of my expectations. On the spur of the moment we decided to take an afternoon land safari but they were all booked. The lodge found a guide off site and he was equally as able as the morning guide in finding the lions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was on a business trip with a colleague teaching in Entebbe and we made a weekend trip to visit Murchison Falls Park with a stay at the Paraa Safari Lodge.

Overall very nice with a beautiful overlook into one of the most remote locations in the world - Lodge is on a high bluff over the WhiteNile/Lake looking towards the Congo.

The Hippos leave the river/lake to feed on the grassy sloes below the lodge and can be heard feeding and grunting. It is so remote and dark that the stars seem to be on top of you. Food is good, driver/guide eats with you and Resturant area is nice.

Rooms are adequate with mosquito netting but HOT! Can't open balcony or doors because of possible danger of wildlife so room was hot at night and overhead fan did little to help. Rated poor for sleep quality only because of the hot temp at night otherwise beds are good.

Still recommended as the place to stay if visiting Murchison Falls Park.

Room Tip: Away from pool area which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I did not actually stay at this facility but I did pay to use the pool and have lunch for the day and it was the perfect day spent. Internet (wifi) is free - great news for me since I work virtually. Pool was spectacular - seats in the pool at the bar so I could work while at the bar in the pool - awesome! Lunch was decent - overpriced buffet but lots of options. Best pina colada I've had in ages though. Thoroughly enjoyed the day and even took the boat ride (though I'd have to say this could be skipped as the one in Queen Elizabeth was just WAY better.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saavysnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 mi away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
39.0 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
34 reviews
14.0 mi away
Fort Murchison
Fort Murchison
#4 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budongo Eco Lodge
Budongo Eco Lodge
#7 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraa Safari Lodge

Property: Paraa Safari Lodge
Address: Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paraa Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1954, Paraa Safari Lodge is located in northwest Uganda in Murchison Falls National Park overlooking one of nature's best kept secrets, the River Nile. Paraa Safari Lodge offers a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. Each of the rooms is a haven of style and serenity, complete with balcony and private bathroom. The safari decor of the lodges still reflects the bygone era of early explorers, enshrined with a modern touch. The luxurious pool overlooks the winding River Nile below, which was the setting for the classic Hollywood move, The African Queen". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Paraa Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraa Safari Hotel Murchison Falls National Park
Paraa Safari Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing