We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge on the Victoria Nile”
Review of Paraa Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paraa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Nice lodge on the Victoria Nile”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Tough place to fairly rate. It had internet, but it was available at limited times (power) and it was slow. Had electricity, but at limited times - granted both better than many places, but I had expected more from an upscale lodge - an expectation gap. The buffett was outstanding. The worthogs on the grounds added interest. Hot water all day. Sliding doors had no screens, so we could not open them - it was hotter in the room than outside - the fan just did not do it. We were hesitate to open the sliding doors because we assumed this was malaria country and the area was crawling with baboons. Overall a good experience, but it would not take a lot on the part of the Lodge to make it a fantastic one. The game viewing in Murchanson NP is OK - not as good as the Marra or Seregeti. Murchanson Falls is a must do. I would skip the boat ride to within over a mile of the base and visit the top of the falls. Way more spectacular. See my Murchanson Falls review

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    187
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
89
139
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

wonderful place to stay at Marchison falls national park
couln't find anything better than this

Room Tip: best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vpsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The Paraa Safari lodge is a quite a big lodge. The location is perfect on the top of a hill with the rooms facing the nile river.
We think this is the best location for a starting point for game drives since the lodge is located on the right side of the river. Lots of lodges are on the other side of the river so they have to cross the river with a ferry before they can start the game drives. (at the other side the bushes are very dense).
The rooms are nice and they have good showers and the staff is great. The dinner is buffet style. There is plenty to choose from but the food is not hot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

one of the older and bigger lodges in murchison falls area. nicely situated overlooking the nile. rooms are adequate but little ambience. ours overlooked the pool area so had to have the curtains pulled to get privacy. food adequate. internet service provided under an archaic system - always getting cut off in the middle of a message without warning.
no lasting memories - like a hundred similar lodges.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here in late December last. The lodge is set in an impressive location on top of a hill overlooking a bend in the Nile. From a distance the buildings look a bit “barn like” but it is constructed in this manner to blend in rather than stand out. When we first arrived here we were given a downstairs room with the pool right outside and only a slight view of the Nile. This is despite confirming with the reception agent that we would get a river view from the room. We sat in the room for ages commenting on the noise and with people looking in to the room from the pool and the nearby seating before I said to my wife that this was ridiculous and going back to reception to try to get something more private. We were fortunate and they had just 1 room available in the Nile view wing which we changed to and what a difference. Firstly we had a full view of the Nile from the room and secondly it was so quite and private. The room was identical in every other respect. It was a comfortable room of average size. All features of the room worked well except the fan which was positioned just outside the curtained off mosquito net area surrounding the bed. This meant it was virtually useless when you were on the bed and believe me; it gets very hot here sometimes. You had to wonder why they hadn’t placed the fan inside the mosquito net area where it would be of some use? A note that the mosquito nets here are not of the regular variety but more of a curtain that you draw around the bed. This is much more convenient actually.
It was a 30metre walk along a covered way from this wing to the main building where the restaurant was, this was only a problem when we had to carry our un wheeled luggage on the morning of our departure. One evening on returning to our room we were delighted to find a Hippo grazing on the grass out the back of the room. We watched her for ages; she didn’t seem to be aware of our presence.

The food and the service in the restaurant here was exceptional. Meals were all served Buffet style and in 3 nights we never had the same choice twice and virtually everything we had was delicious. We are not big fans of Buffets but this was definitely the exception. If you are on a diet I don’t recommend you stay in this Hotel unless you are not easily given to temptations!! There is an adjacent Bar and both the Bar & Restaurant have a good view of the Nile. We had 2 lunches here as well and they were delicious also.

The location of the property for game drives in the Murchison Falls National Park is superb – you are already there. It is also convenient for the typical cruise up to the base of the Murchison Falls. I would recommend using Paraa Lodges own cruise catamaran as it is the largest boat doing these cruises and at the moment it is brand new and very quiet and comfortable. When you get onto it though make a bee line for the upstairs area and try to sit on the left. You do not need to cross back over the Nile to this boat as it leaves from the Paraa lodge side.

We used the internet here and found it very slow but priced OK. We didn’t swim in the pool or use any of the Hotels other services. On the morning of our departure we were panicking because if you miss the first ferry then you have to wait an hour for the next one. We had arranged for our luggage to be collected and it just didn’t happen so we had to struggle down to reception with it ourselves. I need the exercise anyway!! Overall a wonderful larger lodge that we would be most happy to return to. Oh - mustn't forget those wonderful sunsets over the Nile!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Paraa Safari Lodge is a lovely place to unwind when travelling in Uganda. Located on the north bank of the Nile within Murchison Falls National Park, the Lodge is reached by a 5 minute ferry crossing from the south bank. Upon arrival, visitors are offered cold towels and fruit juice to refresh themselves. The rooms are very clean and really nicely furnished. When booking, try to request a room just across the swimming pool which is very handy! Long hours spent in the pool, sipping cocktails from the pool bar, listening to the grunting of hippos in the Nile and watching the sun set over the river was just bliss! Food served is generally a varied buffet which is quite good and caters to all tastes.
The two main activities here are taking a boat ride up to Murchison Falls (approximately 3 hours) where you cruise along spotting dozens of hippos and wildlife along the banks, including massive crocodiles lazing in the sun! Perhaps the most memorable experience was the game drive through the National Park. We booked the drive through the Paraa Safari Lodge and had game ranger Chris on our tour. I cannot recommend him highly enough - extremely knowledgeable and he was so intent on spotting hidden animals for us, that we were extremely fortunate in gaining a rare sighting of a leopard because of his keen eyes and persistence. It was certainly a lucky day because we also saw lions! Within the park, you'll see lots of giraffes, buffaloes, elephants, Hartebeest, Kob and many varieties of birds. It was a very relaxing and incredible couple of days spent at the Lodge. When visiting Uganda, Paraa should definitely be a stop on the itinerary.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed at Paara in October and it was great for a number of reasons. First of all, we'd be living in Kampala so getting away to the North was a treat. The lodge was great- gorgeous location, nice rooms (very comfy beds!), good food, and the best location at Murchison. We were on a safari tour so we had pre booked the whole package with the tour company. Price-wise, I'm not sure how it compares. All I know is that I saw the other options when we got there and I am very glad we stayed where we are. If it is much pricier I'd say it is worth it, for location alone. The park is right next door. You don't have to cross the Nile (and wait for a ferry like you do at the other hotels).

For Uganda, this is great. Now, you can't really compare it to luxury in a developed country, or even to safari experiences in Kenya or Tanzania. The whole safari-tourism circuit is very new to Uganda, so it is a very different experience in general than being on safari in Kenya. After this trip we also went on safari in Kenya so I can compare. You may have to reshift your expectations of what luxury is. It was very nice, but certainly not the Ritz. So don't expect that and you should be fine.

We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msp081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 mi away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
39.0 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
153 reviews
14.0 mi away
Fort Murchison
Fort Murchison
#4 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#17 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budongo Eco Lodge
Budongo Eco Lodge
#7 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraa Safari Lodge

Property: Paraa Safari Lodge
Address: Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paraa Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1954, Paraa Safari Lodge is located in northwest Uganda in Murchison Falls National Park overlooking one of nature's best kept secrets, the River Nile. Paraa Safari Lodge offers a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. Each of the rooms is a haven of style and serenity, complete with balcony and private bathroom. The safari decor of the lodges still reflects the bygone era of early explorers, enshrined with a modern touch. The luxurious pool overlooks the winding River Nile below, which was the setting for the classic Hollywood move, The African Queen". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Paraa Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraa Safari Hotel Murchison Falls National Park
Paraa Safari Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing