We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days is much too short”

Murchison Falls National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$800.00*
and up
The 3 day Murchison Falls National Park safari...
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Masindi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This very big national park is worthwhile to explore for several days. Even a chimp tracking is possible.
Hopefully the recent discovery of oil will not spoil this beautiful nature! Take your time to have a boat-ride over the Victoria-Nile and view the animals (included big crocodiles) at the shores

Date of experience: May 2013
2  Thank Niek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
"nile river"
in 22 reviews
"game drives"
in 24 reviews
"ziwa rhino sanctuary"
in 10 reviews
"bird species"
in 12 reviews
"red chili"
in 20 reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 8 reviews
"safari lodge"
in 6 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 11 reviews
"one night"
in 6 reviews
"cape buffalo"
in 8 reviews
"morning safari"
in 6 reviews
"driver guide"
in 5 reviews
"rainy season"
in 6 reviews
"great game"
in 6 reviews
"chimp tracking"
in 5 reviews
"elephants"
in 158 reviews
Filter

386 - 390 of 558 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Murchinson falls was one of our most favorite national parks. While at the park be sure to do the morning game drive. We saw lots of giraffes elephants and antelopes. Then take the Wild Frontiers boat trip to the Falls. This boat trip is in a small boat that can get you closer to the wildlife then the UWA boat. If you have a driver - get off the boat at the falls and walk up to the top where your driver can meet you. Highly recommended. We also did the boat trip to the delta that is highly recommended if you enjoy bird watching. You do this through Wild Frontiers. We can also highly recommend the wine and cheese sunset tour done by Wild Frontiers.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank Betweenjobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A must to see!!!!! Murchison Falls is a waterfall on the Nile and the Murchison Falls National Park is Uganda's largest national park. You have never had a game drive like this. There were lots of animals. I have seen the big 4: Lion, Elephant, Buffalo, Leopard,Giraffe. There are also a lot of Hippopotamus, Antelope, Uganda Kob, Hartebeest and Crocodiles, Pumba's and a lot of other animals
The Nile River, within the park, is host to a variety of waterbirds.

The best to do is a evening game drive then overnight in a bushcamp. In the early morning a morning game drive and and then to the falls by boat. Realm Africa Safaris !!!!! ask for Joz Marc Obwalatum:)

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank MoniqueJM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

me and my wife had done Safri whit Borderless tours on 1/10/12, safri for six days and Klimunjaro for four more. on Honeymooon
Marco the C.E.O had meat us in the hotel and explen us everting.
the Jeep we got was just fine - and the driver (James) was wonderful in all ways and most professional - the only thing for a good Safri is a GOOD driver/guide!!!

we did't now this People for a bit befor the Safari, and when we came bake the become are good frindes untill today!!

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank RonTour78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We took a 3-day tour to Murchison Falls National Park (with Matoke Tours from Kampala). The first day starts at 7:30 am and is quite long. We stopped at the Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, where a local ranger took us for a short bush walk, where we saw 3 rhinos. You will not save any money by skipping the sanctuary, but unlike what you would think it contains just 12 (yes, twelve) rhinos spread over a few square kilometers!! If it is a very warm day, just skip the whole thing and save 2 hours. The whole trip took some 10 hours, so if you don't like traveling, skip Ziwa and go straight to MFNP through Masindi.
Our knowledgeable driver took the Northern road, crossing the Nile at Karume Falls, then to the poor town of Pakwach, and to the Northern gate of MFNP. Thus we drove 25 kilometers from the Park's gate to Paraa Safari Lodge through the area where they do the game drives, and we saw right on this arrival various animals, including elephants.
Paraa is oldish but with a British style of old elegance. Service is excellent, so are the meals. Nice swimming pool, small gym. Rooms are small, but many face the Nile River. No a/c, no telephone, no radio or TV, no WiFi in the rooms and even in the reception area it is VERY slow. For some reason, there is no electricity between 5-6 pm. I don't know how are the lesser-quality options of lodging offered by the tour organizer.
Next day we took a 4-hour game drive. Lots of small animals, many giraffes and elephants and we spotted one lion. The ranger who joined our car gave a lot of information.
In the afternoon the package included a 2 1/2 hours boat ride to the falls. The boat driver spotted many animals, including crocodiles and especially birds. The disappointment was that he didn't bring us even close to the falls, and we saw them from a distance of about 1 kilometer.
On the third day we drove to the top of the Falls. The view from there and of the huge amount of water falling through the narrow crevice is amazing.
From the Falls to Kampala it is about 4 1/2 hours to Kampala.

Date of experience: April 2013
3  Thank ehren_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murchison Falls National Park also viewed

Murchison Falls National Park, Western Region
Kasese, Western Region
 

Been to Murchison Falls National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing