We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Masindi
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great job stayed longer place to stay one night the owner hot water hostel compound safari murchison beds park budget uganda
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A massive and beautiful Colonial house, excellently decorated, with a lush wrap around garden. Such warm hospitality and 5 star attention to detail, we were really so impressed.
Breakfast in the morning was superb, with a pot of coffee and freshly squeezed pineapple juice. The host, May, helped us source some things from town and went out of her way to make sure we were happy.
Don't pass through Masindi without staying at least one night

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank V4795EDrebeccab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murchisonbackpackers, Manager at Murchison Backpackers & Campsite - Masindi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Rebecca,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review.

While we can say that we were very happy to host you, we are as well glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the backpackers.You were very friendly and easy to talk to. We wish you the best in the rest of your Safaris. Everyone says Hi to you and Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Love love loooooved my stay here! I was only there for one night but wish I could have stayed longer. May and her team are amazing hosts, everyone is just so sweet and helpful!! They really make sure you have the best time and feel comfortable here. They organized a game night when I was there and Alan taught us a local card game, which was so much fun. The female dorm is the best I stayed in in Uganda. So spacious, with huge windows going into their huge & lovely garden, its own balcony and above all, no bunk beds!! The place is spotlessly clean and food is very very good. Loved the location too, it's a quiet little paradise in busy Masindi. The only noise are the birds singing in the morning. Highly recommend this Backpackers to all travelers, it has a super nice vibe and easy to meet other travelers to team up for safari.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Annika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murchisonbackpackers, Manager at Murchison Backpackers & Campsite - Masindi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you, thank you, thaaank you Annika for such a lovely review! You are very kind and we are so pleased that you took the time to share your experience staying with us. We are very glad that you loved the "no bunk beds" idea we tried out and that you enjoyed the food and the game and everything else. It makes us happy to get such a review. Thank you and lots of love from Alan and all of us to you and the Aus :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The Murchison Backpackers Lodge is 30 minutes from Murchison Nationalparc located. It is a great starting point to visit the parc. May, the owner of the Lodge was a great help for organizing our tour. She is very attentive and friendly to all requests. The rooms are well equipped and the breakfast was delicious!
We felt heartly welcomed and I would always go there again!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 141mamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murchisonbackpackers, Manager at Murchison Backpackers & Campsite - Masindi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this detailed experience and for giving us a 5-star. We send you our love and greetings and wish you a great travel experience around Uganda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Traveling around Uganda with friends. We stayed for 2 nights while visiting at the Murchison Falls N. Park. I'd really recommend the place for visitors intending to visit the park.Very clean rooms. Great facilities and service from the staff not to mention the lush compound ideal for morning workouts or a chilled out yoga session.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank donmuziki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murchisonbackpackers, Manager at Murchison Backpackers & Campsite - Masindi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Victor, all we can say is thank you! first, for your great review and more for all the excellent ideas and tips you shared that could make this place even cooler for the coming guests. We appreciate and send our regards. Enjoy the rest of your Safari across Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2019

I cannot say enough nice things about this picturesque property. A stunning, well maintained homestead surrounded by a lush green garden was just what we needed after an awful nights stay in town. With hot water and fast WiFi, beautiful bird sounds and a nice lawn for yoga I am in paradise :) the owner May is a lovely woman, very hospitable and accommodating. I want to come back again!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank KellyPantaleoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murchisonbackpackers, Owner at Murchison Backpackers & Campsite - Masindi, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2019

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time to leave us this wonderful review Kelly. You and your friends (" model, chef, explorer, super negotiator" :)) came at just the right time and brought the property to life with lots of activity, it was very nice hosting you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great pointers, and It shall be a great pleasure to host you again. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews