We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Court View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masindi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Court View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Masindi B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stayed at this hotel last year, and it was great to be back again this year. It was just as I remembered it, Good welcome, friendly and efficient staff and great food. I like the individual rooms, it is like having your own little house. So if you are working in the area or just travelling through to some where else , it is an ideal stopover and resting place. You meet fellow travellers or fellow project workers from all over the world. I look forward in anticipation to my next stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We have stayed in the New Court many times now. It is not a swish 5 star hotel, but the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is always good, and above all you feel you are in Africa, not in an anonymous sterile chain hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, and have always given us help beyond the call of duty in emergencies (leaving all my clothes in Kampala springs to mind..)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
539 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Perfect place for just a night during our birdwatching holiday. Very friendly people and very good food at a good price. Small but very clean rooms (bandas). A very safe place to be if you need a stop-over from Kampala to the Falls. Don't expect a full program with all kind of activities. Just expect a more than decent hotel. They even created breakfast for us at 06:00 AM!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We traveled to the hotel as we were under the impression that it organised a number of good tours into Murchison Falls and around. However on arrival the service was extremely poor, very unhelpful and when asked to arrange tours..their answer was..'what tours?'. There is little to do in Masindi and its over an hour and a half to the falls - pointless staying in this hotel. Poor standard rooms, worse service and no entertainment etc. Very dull!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassrin, Manager at New Court View Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Hello there, I'm truly sorry that you left with such a negative impression of our hotel. I can only apologise that the reception you received was not up to standard. I'm not sure of the circumstances surrounding your visit, but can assure you that our proprietress would surely have advised you about the best way to organise your visit to the Park or any other destinations you would have liked to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

I first stayed in New Court View in 2003 and just went back in 2009 for an education project. The improvements are good and the new chef is very imaginative. The new rooms are basic but lovely. The conference facility is very good with a marque which can hold about 200 people. The evening buffet that they put on for us and the conference delegates was excellent with some outstanding local dancers and musicians. The staff were able to sort anything that we needed and we were able to achieve a lot in a few days thanks to them. The hotel is very close to the town of Masindi and there is a internet cafe in the town that is very useful for keeping in contact. Although there are no spectacular views from the hotel it is very near to some great widlife areas and the Murcheson national park is very close. I would love to go back very soon for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel a few times and it gets better and better. The rooms are small but clean, with great (private) showers and fans/mozzie nets. The newer bandas have a bit more space.The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly, and the food is great - imagine sitting in a thatched banda by candlelight eating tilapia and chips and drinking cold beer....The main town of Masind is a short stroll away. We went to Murchison Falls for the day (it takes about 2 hours); the forest and chimps are about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLucinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Masindi hotels
0.0 mi away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
28.3 mi away
Amuka Safari Lodge
Amuka Safari Lodge
#1 of 4 in Masindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boomu Women's Group
Boomu Women's Group
#2 of 4 in Masindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Court View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Court View Hotel

Property: New Court View Hotel
Address: Kampala-Masindi Road | PO Box 461, Masindi, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Masindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Masindi
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our renowned hospitality while visiting some of Uganda's most spectacular attractions. Bed and breakfast or full board accommodation at excellent prices is provided for up to 30 guests in en-suite thatched cottages surrounded by beautiful gardens. Hot water is solar-heated and WiFi internet and satellite TV are available; mosquito nets as standard and free, secure on-site parking. Local and international food is served in our Verandah dining room or in our garden bandas. Masindi is in handy reach of: • Murchison Falls National Park • The Rift Valley and Escarpment • Chimps at Kasonguire and Kanyo Pabeidi • The Polish Church built in the forest by Poles in exile from 1943-5 • White rhino at Ziwa • The Royal Mile in the Budongo tropical rain forest • Bird watching • Kibiro hot springs • Kinyara sugar plantation We are happy to arrange tailored itineraries with our associated tour guides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing