We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a fair village accommodation for low price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masindi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Court View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Masindi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pabuc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“just a fair village accommodation for low price”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

well, masindi is not the 5 star hotel place; i had to stay 7 days there for business raeson. The little hut with no aicon (fan) and some little crawling friends in my little hut, the shower with basic elements made me feeling like on a camping tour - somehow. The restaurant - well - food was available (eveings even not that bad) ... the beer was cool...and the people friendly. It was just an accomandation in an african village ..woth friendly people. nothing else.
w-lan works. sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
15
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangefni
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Fantastic help from the owner as one of our scout party was ill. Will be staying again in 2013. Good food and very helpfull friendly service. Excellent well protected surrounding gardens with room to camp if you want.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevellangwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

In Masindi, this is one of the better places. The owner was on-site the entire time and the staff was quite nice. The on-premise restaurant and bar is nice as well. It's a 4 or 5 compared to other options in Masindi, but if you compare it to some of the nicer places in Kampala or the upscale Safari-like places, it comes in below. The rooms are clean, but worn, and there's no back-up generator, so when Masindi's power goes out or when there is roaming brown-outs, there is no power on premise, and it happened about ten times in my 2-day stay. It's not a big deal, but something to be aware of. It's still one of the better places in town, but not as nice as the Masindi Hotel where I had lunch one day.

Room Tip: There are a couple huts between the dining area and the front wall that you might want to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I spend around 6 weeks at New Court in 2011. The huts makes room for privacy and still you feel very safe with guards and the staff allways knew if I was there or not. Nice when you travel om your own,
Nice plays to relax.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is on the outskirts of Masindi town, on the road towards Hoima and directly opposite the Courthouse - hence the name. It is a pleasant and convenient place to stay if you are heading to or from Murchison NP.

Accommodation is in small, self-contained, brick-built bandas, dotted around in lush gardens. Most of the space inside our hexagonal room was taken up by the king-sized bed, but the room was clean and comfortable and light and airy inside, with 2 windows and a stable door. Hot water is provided by solar power and the hotel also has a generator in case of power cuts - which seem fairly frequent in Masindi.

There is a restaurant with a large variety of reasonably priced and very tasty dishes. You can either eat inside or at tables in the gardens. The breakfast included in the room price was also very good, and their coffee is excellent! They also have a small gift shop, with a nice variety of local souvenirs available.

The staff were friendly but unobtrusive and Sally, the hotel owner, went out of her way to help us to arrange a visit to Murchison NP.

I would recommend this hotel as a very good place to both stay and to eat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is owned by an English lady (Sally from Derbyshire) She is on site most of the time. The hotel is very basic by UK standards, but comfortable and clea. The staff are very obliging and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. If you are not used to the African business style you may think things take a little long, but everything out there is very laid back and once you are there, you quickly settle into that way of life. That said, they are extremely "Mzungu" friendly (i.e. used to white people and western expectations!)

The food is very good and there is a fair choice. The Ugandans are big meat eaters though so if you are vegetarian you have to make sure you let them know. There are a lot of power cuts so make sure you have a good torch with you. The New Court View is very good value for money.

The location is great as it's just a short walk from the 'town' centre. If you don't want to walk it's a 2-3minute "Boda Boda" ride away.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearer to the main building, as it can be very dark at night. (room 16, 18, 20, 17, 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junicko44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Through our trip to de falls we had a overnight in this hotel in masindi.
Very nice people and accomodation. The garden is a nice place to relax and we got a great dinner. The rooms are small, but they got everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Court View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Court View Hotel

Property: New Court View Hotel
Address: Kampala-Masindi Road | PO Box 461, Masindi, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Masindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Masindi
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our renowned hospitality while visiting some of Uganda's most spectacular attractions. Bed and breakfast or full board accommodation at excellent prices is provided for up to 30 guests in en-suite thatched cottages surrounded by beautiful gardens. Hot water is solar-heated and WiFi internet and satellite TV are available; mosquito nets as standard and free, secure on-site parking. Local and international food is served in our Verandah dining room or in our garden bandas. Masindi is in handy reach of: • Murchison Falls National Park • The Rift Valley and Escarpment • Chimps at Kasonguire and Kanyo Pabeidi • The Polish Church built in the forest by Poles in exile from 1943-5 • White rhino at Ziwa • The Royal Mile in the Budongo tropical rain forest • Bird watching • Kibiro hot springs • Kinyara sugar plantation We are happy to arrange tailored itineraries with our associated tour guides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing