We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great artwork, great service, great food. What more could you ask for?!?”
Review of O Cafe Gulu

O Cafe Gulu
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Gulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Description: Cafe|Restaurant|Bar Home of the best Silent Disco, Open Mic Event and Movie Nights. We sitting options for your comfort and privacy whether you come as an individual or a group. We have the best outdoor setting in Northern Uganda. Visit us for the best Ice Cream, Shakes, Coffee/Tea, Freshly prepared meals and juices from our large and practical menu with over 100 items.
Restaurant details
Description: Cafe|Restaurant|Bar Home of the best Silent Disco, Open Mic Event and Movie Nights. We sitting options for your comfort and privacy whether you come as an individual or a group. We have the best outdoor setting in Northern Uganda. Visit us for the best Ice Cream, Shakes, Coffee/Tea, Freshly prepared meals and juices from our large and practical menu with over 100 items.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

If you're in Gulu and you're a Muzungu (or any traveler), you've gotta check out the O Cafe! All of the employees were very kind, the bathrooms were clean, all the food was great (my friends and I went several times, ordered many different things, and enjoyed every meal), and there is great artwork for sale on the walls. I honestly want to return to Gulu someday just to visit the O Cafe again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opolacen L, General Manager at O Cafe Gulu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Dear Joel,
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.
It warms our heart to know that we met your expectations all the time you visited us. We enjoy what we do a lot hence the passion with which we try to serve everyone. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Hopefully a few things would be changed for the better as per our plan.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

I took our local ambassador and his family to this newish restaurant in Gulu. It was excellent; great with the children. My sweet and sour pork was excellent and the children loved the ice cream. Nice decor and attentive service

Thank BigKevTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opolacen L, General Manager at O Cafe Gulu, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear BigKev Travels,
Thank you very much for sharing your honest and positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are humbled by your reviews and will work hard to stay the best family friendly Cafe. Our decor is a manifestation of our love for what we do. It has always been a perception that good service isn't something to easily find in Gulu but we are working hard to change that the best way that we know how.
Please visit us again next time.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

O cafe is an OASIS in Gulu for me and I heavly used during my stay in Gulu. As a foreigner I sometime feel unsure to eat fresh menus like salad in other restaurants, but here is an ideal place to charge vitamin. You will find variety options of mixed juices and coffee menus, which you do not find much even in Kampla. My group also enjoyed beef fillet steak, club sandwitch, spicy chicken curry (REALLY hot) etc. and all other food menus was awesome.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prismatic0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opolacen L, General Manager at O Cafe Gulu, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear valued customer,
Thank you very much for choosing O Cafe Gulu and reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We don't take it for granted.
We try to over a good variety in our menu and your comments humbles us. We will work hard to maintain this as #TheBestCafeinGulu
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Good coffee, nice desserts, and decent main courses.

However, as a vegetarian, the choices were limited. To be precise, the menu listed more veggie options than were actually available.

Nice breakfasts and good, light dinners.

Oh, did I mention the service was slow? Maybe because a fairly large group had come in before us. Or maybe it's just slow. But lovely waiters.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gilatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opolacen L, General Manager at O Cafe Gulu, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for honestly reviewing us on Trip Advisor.
We have taken note of the need for more vegetarian options and slow service. You will most certainly find me options on your next visit as we prepare to launch a new menu as we celebrate our first anniversary.
We are the best Cafe that caters for large groups and sometimes this affects service for the other customers. We are making several changes to ensure everyone is served in under 20 minutes always.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

Great cafe! Great wifi! Incredible service and amazing food that you cannot get anywhere else in Gulu!

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opolacen L, General Manager at O Cafe Gulu, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear Jack,
Thank you very much for voting O Cafe Gulu as the best all round customer. In the words of another customer, we filled a sweet spot in Gulu that has been ignored. We will work hard to maintain our market leadership.
Come back again on your next visit in Gulu.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Cafe Gulu also viewed

Gulu, Northern Region
Gulu, Northern Region
 
Gulu, Northern Region
 
Gulu, Northern Region
Gulu, Northern Region
 

Been to O Cafe Gulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing