We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Upendo Zanzibar(Pingwe)(Great Value!)
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel Matlai(Pingwe)(Great Value!)
$280
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Hotel(Zanzibar City)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Zanzibar Ocean View(Zanzibar Island)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warere Town House(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
$50
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Princess Salme Inn(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
$14
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emerson Spice(Stone Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
505
383
141
64
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
383
141
64
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskarafuu beach resortevery eveningstone townall inclusive packageamazing islandmain restaurantgarden roomswahili lessonsmain poolrock restaurantpalm treesthe cottagesdiving centerlow tidepool barmasai villageindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A cottage all of our own with an un-interrupted view of the sea.The sea was like getting into a very warm bath.Lots of colourful fish to see,especially at low water.The food was some of the best we had experienced on our safari holiday.The staff were very attentive and helpful,taking your plate to the table.We were "all inclusive" and without being greedy we certainly got our monies worth.They arranged for us to have another cottage as our flight out was not until the afternoon so that we were able to go for a swim and then have a shower.We decided to have a lunch there which was now not in the "all inclusive".However it was certainly not expensive.Would certainly go there again.We also ate at the restaurant that only serves fish.My husband had lobster and he is still raving about it two weeks later!!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful wedding and honeymoon at KARAFUU ! thanks to Farida and all the staff at karafuu who made everything perfect for us on our special day, everythng was perfect, food was excellent ! and our private wedding dinner something to remember forever in our hearts

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eande312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Coming from the mainland after nine days of safari in a Toyota Landcruiser, all dirty, tired, filled with new impressions. Enjoying the luxury of Karafuu Hotel was close to paradise! We had a nice, clean bungalow, plenty of good food, fantastic beach and perfect service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0Ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Well lets get this straight,you will not find much better service anywhere.We are extensive travellers and cant think of a place where the staff were so accomadating and friendly.Yes the location is remote but we went for total relaxation and we certainly got that.The beach is amazing,beautiful warm water and lovely beach for walking(totally safe).
We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was a nice touch,it was like having your own bungalow,the rooms were kept spotless.
The pool was brilliant and never busy whilst we were there.Sunbeds are not a problem at this hotel so no getting up early to get one.
The food was the normal all-inclusive with always something to satisfy,plenty of fresh fish and the breakfast were excellent.We certainly had no complaints and the 4kg weight gain says it all.
We went a couple of trips,yes the beach boys will at first hassle the "fresh meat" for trips but they are ok in fact they are half the price of the Virgin trips so it was really a no brainer though I checked with other guestas first before booking.If your not interested just tell them you have a full program with the Hotel trips.This is a poor country so you have to expect local people to get some business from tourists.
We took a "poor peoples bag" with us and the kids went mad when we gave it to them,simple things like shampoo,pens,old toys and cloathes were gratefully recieved.
For those of you worried about the flights,we went through Virgin using Kenyan Airways,yes its a bit of a haul having to stop in Kenya but we didnt encounter any problems unlike previous reviews have mentioned.Slight delay coming home due to extra luggage on the plane ,other than that it was fine.
All in all I would put this holiday up with the best we have ever had,fantastic staff(Special mention for Rachael the waitress who was brilliant),Freddie was hilarious trying to learn Cockney slang he came out with things we havnt heard for years and "Mr Chelsea" the animation guy who did a brilliant job.Thanks to ther front desk who arranged for us to keep all inc and room on until 15.30(should have ended at 10.00 am) this topped off an amazing holiday.Thanks againt to the Karafuu I would certainly recommend to friends.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank greeny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived on 29th Sept for two weeks. First impressions were very good. The location, setting and layout were fantastic. Our lodge was great, lots of room and very comfortable. Sitting on the verandah for a pre-dinner sundowner was very pleasant. The staff couldn't do more and took a genuine pride in being helpful.
However. on all inclusive, the buffet food in the main dining room was like school dinners. Poor quality and quickly became boring and monotonous. The all inclusive wine was very poor, I couldn't drink it. We ate at the a la carte restaurant 4 times - at a supplement. Two meals were sent back. The head chef came and cooked for us personally for our last meal.
The management was very poor. The power to the island is supplied from the mainland through underwater cables which are now 50 years old.They are apparantly being replaced which is causing additional power supplies to the island. We experienced multiple power cuts nearly every day ranging from 5 minutes to 7 hours. The water supply round the hotel was pumped. No power - no water - no loos - no washing. Where the management completely failed was in not ensuring that the back up generator was in working order. These problems should have been foreseen and that the back up generator was working properly. The management did not communicate any of this to the guests who were literally running round in the dark. People were walking around during the cuts by the light from their mobile phones.
On our penultimate day, I picked a tummy bug losing 20lbs in 10 days. I can't help wondering whether poor water supply had any effect on food hygeine.

Conclusion - Don't go!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews