We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway for couple!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Matlai
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pingwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very good location with perfect view from your room (bed). Boutique room interior with small details. Amazing looking outdoor bathroom, but shower was very unpractical and it is very windy in the evenings. Be informed that the outdoor pool contains salted sea water, so be ready to shower after each pool visit. Personal and kind attitude form the owners as they are on the spot all the time. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 2 Weeks before Xmas 2012. The owners are extremly friendly and helpful and the best is that they have service totally tailored to your needs. You tell them what you want to eat and the cook cooks it for you. The Butler "Omari" was really nice & helpful and made sure all our wishes were fulfilled.

Overall a really amazing experience. The internet is quite good too for African standards!

Room Tip: I would recommend the upper rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was the culmination of a three week holiday to Tanzania and turned out to be the icing on the cake. We arrived on an evening flight from Kilimanjaro (Precision Air) and were promptly met at the airport by our driver (complete with air conditioned vehicle - a first for the holiday and very much welcomed!) who took us on the hour or so journey across the island to the Matlai.

Upon arrival we were met by Tim and Inge who made us feel at home right away. Tim kindly gave us an overview of the hotel and its beautiful facilities, followed by handing us a mobile phone "should we require anything at any time on the island" - an excellent touch. Next we were handed over to Omar (the self confessed "crazy butler") who had prepared us an excellent dinner for the evening, served in one of the many dining areas in the garden. The food is great. Fresh, well prepared, local ingredients combined into delicious meals at your request, or, Omar is more than happy to surprise you with something different should you be feeling indecisive. We had heard many good reviews about "The Rock" restaurant a short walk down the beach, but we didn't feel the need to eat out as each meal at the Matlai is so varied - The rock lobster is particularly recommended.

We spent most of our time relaxing in the hotel gardens, snorkelling at low tide, swimming around the pool or simply chilling on the balcony. What's nice is that there are so many different areas within the hotel grounds to enjoy. Hammocks, sun loungers, an awesome wicker basket "pod", a hanging bed, floating pool cushions, or simply a seat at the bar where Salim the barman will happily conjure up a cocktail or two (perfect for pre-dinner drinks).

One evening we casually mentioned to Tim about doing some fishing over a few drinks in the bar. The next morning Omar informed us over breakfast that "your boat is waiting on the beach where some local fishermen will take you out for a morning of fishing". What a great surprise! We caught twenty eight fish and even had the chef prepare some for our lunch - very satisfying indeed.

Another night Tim set up an outdoor cinema for us. We watched a film under the stars while Omar served us dinner - a lovely treat. Later in the week my girlfriend made the most of the Spa service and indulged in a massage with one of the local masseuse organised by the Hotel. Something she highly recommends. We finished off the holiday with a guided tour around a spice farm and a tour of Stone Town - this is a must for anyone visiting Zanzibar and a great day out.

One thing worth noting is that when walking on the beach, brace yourself for being targeted by local salesmen, aka "the beach boys", trying to sell you anything from day-trips to football shirts. Although persistent, they are all very friendly and soon get the message if you tell them "thanks, but no thanks" sooner rather than later.

Overall this was a wonderful stay in what is best described as paradise. The attention to detail is amazing and the level of service outstanding. Inge, Tim and Omar really go the extra mile to ensure you have a memorable stay. We will certainly treasure the time we spent at Matlai and hope to return one day soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfuller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I found this gem via Tripadvisor, and decided to spend a few days here during our 20th wedding anniversary trip to Zanzibar.
From the moment we arrived (after quite a long drive from Stone Town; note that the taxi driver may need to search a bit!) I know this would be heaven. Tim, the General Manager, welcomed us personally and warmly. He put a small mobile phone in my hand: "for you to use on the island, and to reach out to me, the butler (!!) or the chef cook at any time".
We loved the privacy (so much respected by all the staff), the food (the chef works miracles, each time) and the location.
I have little to add to the very detailed and accurate description of the other recent reviewers, so will focus on a few other points:
- the best time for snorkelling is at low tide. The water pulls back for about 500 metres, so be prepared to walk (water shoes or water sandals recommended). Then you swim across a small channel, and then you walk on the whitest sand bank ever. The sand is so white, and finer than even grains; it is almost like plaster. At the far end of the sand bank (now you are about half a mile from the beach) you slide in to the crystal clear and warm water and there is fish everywhere! Tim will tell you where to go, but in essence it is right in front of the hotel. Leave at least 45 minutes before the low tide (a calendar with all tide times is available).
- if you like a jog, go to the right: you first pass the local village, and a small resort, but then you have a few kilometres of empty beach for you. Again, low tide is best (but it does not have to be at the lowest, so you can do it before or after the snorkelling). The sand is not too lose, so it makes for pleasant running.
- the well-know restaurant The Rock is about 500 metres to the right of the hotel. The setting is truly unique (look it up on the net), and I took so many photos. When staying at Matlai you will never go hungry, but it is still nice to visit The Rock, if only for a coffee or so.
- about the same distance to the left you have a big resort, but we really never saw many of these guests; they seem to stay around the pool and on the hotel grounds. It is worth a visit.
- last but not least, because of the purpose of our visit, Tim and his crew had adorned our suite in honeymoon style: it was lovely.
Thank you to the whole Matlai crew: we loved it! Keep up the quality and care. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sablod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is outstanding, one of the nicest places I’ve ever been. We spent a couple of wonderful days in this small boutique hotel in the Northeast of Zanzibar. The German family-run place has only 4 rooms, all beautifully designed according to the 4 elements: a fire, water, earth and air room. All rooms and their terraces/balconies face the stunning beach and also a quite unique pool (as shown on the picture). The hotel is really good for spending honeymoon, but also for friends or family holidays or just for a couple of days relaxation. They have a lot of stuff there for guest to rent/try/do: boule/boccia, kubb, dart, beach volleyball, snorkeling equipment, a library with over 250 different movies and approx 100 books, open air cinema, x-box, massage, diving and kite-surfing not far from there, etc. etc. But these things are not offered actively like in one of these clubs. the atmosphere is very relaxed. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They have a main house where the 4 rooms are located, a unique pool which forms the centre of the “resort”, terraces as well as a separated restaurant and bar which can be used by guests, but also by other people. We spent wonderful days there: Thumbs up!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank jatosche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was the second time staying at Matlai. It is indeed a piece of paradise on earth. Spacious luxury rooms with superb bathroom. Excellent service and very good food. Breakfast can even be taken in the afternoon. Very friendly and professional management. Inviting nice swimming pool located right at the beach.

Room Tip: rooms at ground floor. Direct access to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuperDaresSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Matlai boutique hotel in August 2012 after a few days safari in Tanzania. From the very moment of our arrival until the end of our vacation week we have enjoyed every single moment. The rooms, the swimming pool and all the other common spaces are really very special. The rooms are all furnished with natural materials and reflect the excellent taste of Tim and Inge. All the Matlai team is super. They are all extremely kind and take care of any aspect to let you have a unique, unforgettable holiday.
The hotel is on a long wonderful beach and you can dine at the hotel restaurant on the beach in a unique atmosphere.
We would definitively recommend a stay at Matlai.


Antonella & Alessandro from Italy

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonella264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
16.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,683 reviews
22.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
17.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,030 reviews
32.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
32.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Matlai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Matlai

Address: Pingwe | Michamwi, Pingwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pingwe
Price Range: $305 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Matlai 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matlai is designed as an exclusive villa resort for people seeking a high level of comfort and privacy in a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel contains of two villas, Asili House and Villa Kidosho. Both villas are directly on the beach, embedded in abounded blooming and scented plants. Asili House is designed with natural African and Swahili elements, Villa Kidosho in oriental style. Therefore the villas combine the typical african and arabic influences which have shaped the character of Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Matlai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Matlai Zanzibar Island/Pingwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing