We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the tides, pangani”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tides Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Certificate of Excellence
St Annes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the tides, pangani”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A lovely place to relax in peaceful surroundings. Great beach for walks or swimming. The rooms are very comfortable & spacious, and the food first class. Friendly & helpful staff make you feel very welcome. Whilst The Tides is remote this what makes it special. Well worth the trip to get there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottieStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    34
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
96
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

For the bright ones you may notice that this is my second review of the Tides !! The reason being that when I went back to review it some days after making the original blog I saw that I had made an error and only given two stars-my intention was to award four. This has now been changed with a new review as it is not possible to edit once the entry is online. All the rest of the text from here on in is the same.
We stayed at the Tides for 7 nights in October and had a wonderful time. Graeme and Candy are great hosts how enhanced our stay with chat at the bar over a few scoops!!
The rooms are great, simple and very clean. The walk to the beach each day takes all of 30 seconds. Ushongo beach suffered from a lot of seaweed when we were there, BUT it can hardly be blamed upon the Tides. There was a change in the prevailing winds, whilst we would have prefered had it not being there it in no wat detracted from our stay.
The visit to Maziwe for snorkelling and food was a truly memorable experience that will stay with us for a long time, as will the long walks we had each day along Ushongo, usually broken up by the odd beer or two.
Guess what the best part of our time at The Tides was the number of new friends we made, with fellow guests and staff, who were trult fantastic, thank you all !!
The food was good, our only comment is we would have prefered more local food. Finally the swimming pool is first rate and offers a change to the beach, great for a late afternoon swim and a cuppa, or something stronger !!

Room Tip: All the beach rooms are great, not sure as to the suite is money well spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent three nights at Tides recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I was surprised to read the negative comments about the staff by Emotions Traveller, as we found quite the opposite. The staff were without exception very attentive and always ready to help. In particular, Abeidi and Rose were outstanding, always smiling and quick to serve and we were lucky enough to be invited by Abeidi to watch him play football in a local league match - one of the highlights of our trip! We have found through life that the way you treat people has a big impact on the way that they treat you. Perhaps Emotions Traveller was just unlucky.

The cottages at Tides are lovely, very clean with huge comfortable beds, spotless bed linen and lovely big clean bathrooms with locally made soaps. Each cottage also has its own loungers closer to the beach, under the shade of the coconut palms, so you can while away an afternoon happily watching the local people fishing from the shore, or the schoolchildren walking to school along the beach.

Graham and Candy were warm and professional hosts and made us feel welcome and looked after throughout our stay. We would return to this lovely lodge without hesitation.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a perfect end to our safari and wedding. Graeme and Candy are superb managers and run the resort to a very high standard. We spent 5 nights here with our 22 year old son and had the most amazing and relaxing time. If you want to chill and kick back after a safari this is the place to be. Each cottage contains a large bedroom and shower/washroom, these are cleaned every day - we found the bedding and towels to be clean and fresh on arrival and they were replaced regularly during our stay. We found the staff to be friendly and courteous, after we got to know each other better, we were able to have long chats with many of them. ( Incidentally I do find it extremely offensive that I have read in another review that the waitresses are ignorant). The managers were always to hand, either in the office or the seating area. Every day they were at the restaurant and seating area first thing in the morning, at lunch and also in the evening.

The swimming pool is kept very clean and is a nice sheltered place to laze about when the wind is blowing strongly off the sea. The food ranges from very good to excellent, I'm a very fussy eater and they were able to accommodate this, some of the seafood dishes were particularly good.

Yes there was sea weed on the beaches, not uncommon for this time of year - we were chancing our luck as the rains were due so it could be quite windy some days. However you could either swim past the weed or move to another bit of beach without weed, the seaweed on the beach in front of tides was cleared every day when we were there.

Whilst there we went to Maziwe Island reserve to snorkel, this is well worth a trip if you're there, the reef is now slowly recovering and there's quite a lot to see - alas no whales or dolphins this time! We were also lucky enough to see some turtles hatching (thanks to one of the staff informing us) just up the beach from Tides, part of a conservation program.

It's also good that they're involved with the local communities, supporting various projects etc, walking tours of Pangani and Ushongo are available, guided or unguided - it's a very safe area.

Like I say a great place to relax and chill, take a book, grab a drink and sit on one of the loungers that face the sea and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and have verandahs, also have two loungers underneath an umbrella closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastodon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwanajimbo, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are all very happy you enjoyed your time at Tides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at The Tides Lodge. The Scottish managers Graeme and Candy are a very friendly couple and they drove us in 15-20 minutes from Mashado airstrip to the lodge down by the sea. We were offered cold towels and a welcome drink and were informed that, unfortunately, there was a lot of sea weed on the beach due to strong winds. That was a pity as we had hoped to spend a couple of days on what is supposed to be one of the six most beautiful beaches in the world. Graeme arranged that, after check- in, we could have lunch and that lunch set the tone for our whole stay. It took about 1,5 hours before we got something to eat. We had two small children in our party who wanted to got to bed, but everything took a lot of time. Ordering a drink would take about 15 minutes before it was brought to you. I think Graeme and Candy should supervise their staff more regularly. Maybe it is the administration they have to do which delays matters, we don't know. The Tides is a small lodge with only a couple of rooms which are nicely decorated, but where the mosquito nets, the towels and bedlinen carry stains and are not looking that clean. Big bathrooms, basket with beach towels, nice terrace in front of the cottages and very close to the beach. Sometimes you could hear the mosque and dogs hauling at night. Very nice swimmingpool with shower and sunloungers. You have to ask for drinks yourself as there is no occassional service call by the waiters or waitresses. The waitresses don't seem to have learnt at all to laugh and are ignorant. They turn there faces away as soon as you approach the bar area so they don't have to greet you. The staff is propably not very much accustomed to please their guests very much as the seem very indifferent. I think tourism is relatively new is this area. Anyway I spoke to Said, one of the waiters, and he told me the had lived for 3 years in Dar es Salaam and was trained in hotel hospitality. The food was good. Choice out of 4 for lunch. No choice at night but you could pay a little extra for signature dishes which you where supposed to order in advance. We did not want to complain as we where travelling in a group of nine and wanted to keep the atmosphere fine and we are probably a little spoiled. We had a good time anyway and spent our days reading on the beach, swimming in the pool and some of us did some sailing in the sailing boat which was partly defect. We liked our early morning walks along the coast watching the dhows going out for sailing. Unfortunately no lovely sunsets but a nice sunrise if you are an early riser! Lastly I must say that Graeme and Candy were very helpfull in solving some our special wishes and surprised us with a nice birthday cake and sparkling wine. Thank you very much for this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Along the east coast of Tanzania, near Pangani river mouth is a long, sanded bay with very few, small hotels with bungalows and cabins. The best of these are the Tides Lodge, with excellent rooms at the beach and wonderful quisine. Prizes are reasonable and the environment offers great experiences, ranging from local fisher villages to beautiful Game Parks. The ocean has quite big difference between high and low tide, but at this place is does not mean that you only can swim at high tide - like at Zanzibar. Because the sanded beach slopes fairly steep, there is plenty of water to swim in at all times during the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwanajimbo, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and very pleased you appreciated the lodge and it's pristine beach environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A great place to chill after 8 days of bucket showers in Ruaha and Katavi in Tanzania (East Africa's garden of Eden) This is our third visit to the Tides in the past two years with another 19 days now booked for Feb 2013. Sometimes actions do speak louder than words!!?

Thank you Graeme and Candy for being excellent hosts, good friends and great company. You run a well organised lodge with happy, smiling staff who are ever ready to help guests if and when needed. If you can't relax at a place like the Tides then the problem most probably lies with the individual rather than the lodge it's self.

There's nothing like having a delicious meal prepared from your own catch so try the fishing it's well worth it .

Room Tip: Try the Pangani prawns, they're to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teakandoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
18.3 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Tanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
7.3 mi away
Barry's Beach Resort
Barry's Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Pangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
#4 of 10 in Pangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drifters Lodge
Drifters Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pangani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emayani Beach Lodge
Emayani Beach Lodge
#5 of 10 in Pangani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge
Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge
#6 of 10 in Pangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Lodge

Property: The Tides Lodge
Address: Plot 10 | Ushongo Beach, Pangani 46, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Lodge is situated in the middle of a huge picture post card bay - selected as one of the top 6 secret beaches in the World by the Sunday Times Travel Magazine. With only seven beach cottages and two family houses The Tides Lodge offers intimacy and luxury. The cottages are bright and breezy with large billowing nets decorated in a simple fashion. The high light of any visit to The Tides is the excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Pangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing