We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinction between good and excellent”
Review of The Tides Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

An amazing and very comfortable hotel! The hotel management is super friendly and thoughtful. One of the best hotels i have ever stayed.

Especially the snorkeling trip by boat is highly recommendable, magically beautiful!

the rooms are very nice and comfortable, it is in the small details that this hotel distinguished it form a good and an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Tides Lodge is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed. Our family cottage was perfect for us and very spacious. The pool, garden and beach were beautiful. We looked forward to every meal and were never disappointed (our teenage children were equally happy). Graeme and Candy were perfect hosts and all the staff were friendly and attentive (a broken shutter was repaired before we had time to report it). The snorkelling trip to Maziwe Island is good but check your mask for leaks before you leave the mainland or, better still, bring your own. Having one of the staff show us round Ushongo village was another highlight. We were very sorry to leave.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank WrecklessEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After 8 days of intensive Safari (Tarangire, NgoroNgoro, Lake Manyara and Serengeti) this was the right place to chill out. We were welcomed by Graeme and Candy and immediately struck by their genuine warmth and kindness. The lodges are very spacious, situated right on the beach (where you don't need to drop your towel at 06.00 o'clock in the morning to reserve your spot) and are decorated with good taste. The Staff was very friendly and helpful, The food excellent.
Maziwe Island is just one hour away looks like your private island somewhere in the Maldives. A diving course can be taken with Wim from the Kasa Divers, who is in close contact with Graeme and Candy, and who is as patient as a buddhist monk (perhaps because he dived for 7 years in Thailand). He is also working together with the locals and has started a project to save the green turtles. While staying at the Tides Lodge, we were lucky enough to see 107 of them hatch and crawl their way to the Indean ocean....better than National Geographic;-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had booked with Grame (TZ) via phone on precise dates - apparently there is no synchronized online system and a couple of hours later Alex (UK) wrote that the booking couldn't be respected. Calling back Grame, he did not even let me speak and shouted at the phone and simply lied on what he had confirmed to me orally. I have spent already a week in the Tides three years ago and it was at that time also not a bundle of fresh friendly people, but this manager is definetely the wrong person for the hospitality sector. To avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Tuskerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwanajimbo, Owner at The Tides Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

It is very disappointing that someone who did not actually have a booking at The Tides Lodge and did not actually stay at the lodge is able to write a review on this site. Trip Advisor needs to tighten up it's policy as this should not be allowed.

This is what happened:
She called the lodge directly by telephone to be told there might be availability for the dates she wanted but that she needed to contact the booking office to confirm this and make the booking formally. Since reservations are not handled at the lodge the managers cannot know if any last minute bookings have been made until they receive the updated reservations chart each morning. It is August, high season and we receive communications daily with reservations or changes to reservations. This is why our manager told this woman to confirm with the reservations office.

This woman emailed me with her booking REQUEST and I informed her that we could not accommodate her on all the nights she wanted to stay.

This woman then called the lodge back and was verbally aggressive towards my manager insisting that he gave her the wrong information. Graeme at no time raised his voice but merely reiterated the information he had given. You can view the other great feedback we have received about the manager, Graeme, who is really a very placid, calm and pleasant chap !

Incidentally our website clearly states the contact details for reservations - these do not include calling the managers directly.

I can sympathise with this woman as she must have been so upset not to be able to come and stay at The Tides, but acting irrationally with our manager and logging a review on trip advisor as she has is not appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After dreaming of an African safari hoilday for years, this trip was one in a life time . The owner, James Balfour was so very helpful in organising both our safari and our unforgetable stay at The Tides Lodge. It was certainly the right choice. I was so taken aback by the warmth and interest the staff took over us throughout our stay. The bungalow we stayed in was really comfortable and there were so many personal touches that are too many to mention. The food was just perfect and the beach was untouched. I felt very safe throughout my stay and only have wondeful memories of The Tides Lodge. I hope one day we can return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from a two week trip to Tanzania, and spent the last five nights at The Tides.

Having travelled extensively and stayed in any hotels we can honestly say that this is possibly the best beach resort we have stayed in. We arrived exhausted but left absolutely rejuvenated by our experience at The Tides.

The lodge is situated on a stunning unspoilt beach, with very few properties around. The sea is fantastic for swimming in. I would highly recommend the trip to Maziwe Island- beautiful blue water, and great snorkelling.

The staff were excellent, and all very attentive. The rooms are clean and comfortable and situated right on the beach.

Quality of food is an important factor for us, and you will not be disappointed by that at The Tides. Every meal was superb, and in particular the seafood was wonderful.

Finally the managers Graeme and Candy are wonderful hosts- genuinely kind and caring people whomitvwas an absolute privilege to meet.

I can't recommend this lodge highly enough.

Room Tip: All great but try to get on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandip1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was for sure a paradise for us. We were there to clebrate my sons 7th birthday and the hosts Grame and Candy and their entire staff were real good at hospitality. We stayed for 4 days and didnot want to go back. This fecility is the best out of the five we visited on this beach. Well maintained, close to the beach, nice chalets, good food, cheerfull staff, lovely water waves sound, clean beach, no disturbance of any kind.....All the 8/9 chalets are just few steps from the beach and lovely view. Food was great and the cake they made for my son was just mouth watering. We also took the trip to Maziwe islands to do some snorkling and this was paraidse too. The white sand, blue/green waters, corals and fish in shallow waters, viewing of the green turtles was an great experience. They also put up a small tent for us and arranged some drinks and snaks for this 4 hrs trip......every thing great and worth the money we spend (not expensive at all). Overall, iam sure we are going back again for scuba diving this time......

Room Tip: All chalets are good and just in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbireddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
0.7 mi away
Beach Crab Resort
Beach Crab Resort
#2 of 3 in Pangani
134 reviews
18.2 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
160 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 11 in Pangani
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emayani Beach Lodge
Emayani Beach Lodge
#4 of 11 in Pangani
84 reviews
7.3 mi away
Barry's Beach Resort
Barry's Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Pangani
6 reviews
18.2 mi away
Capricorn Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Lodge

Address: Plot 10 | Ushongo Beach, Pangani 46, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Price Range: $171 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Lodge is situated in the middle of a huge picture post card bay - selected as one of the top 6 secret beaches in the World by the Sunday Times Travel Magazine. With only seven beach cottages and two family houses The Tides Lodge offers intimacy and luxury. The cottages are bright and breezy with large billowing nets decorated in a simple fashion. The high light of any visit to The Tides is the excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Pangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing