We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
75
37
19
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
37
19
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt watertable tennistenthutsshowercoconuttangabackpackersaccommodationferrybeachtanzaniavolleyballmotorbikeseakayaking
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 145 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2015

Love this place and would definately recommend it to fellow travelers.
Me and my husband stayed here for about a week as a beach stop traveling from Arusha to Tanga.
The food served in the reataurant in the evenings was excellent and well catered for me as a vegetarian. The staff were superfriendly and professional.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnethermansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed here for one very sleepless night (the cheaper cottages are NOT good - VERY poorly ventilated and they just feel a dark and unwelcoming - hence the rating) and then moved down the beach to Mike's, which was better value.
The place runs like clockwork, but doesn't feel very beachy, and the dinner was ridiculously expensive at 25.000 TSH with one meat and one vegetarian choice, and you can't really have dinner anywhere else unless you're willing to risk walking back along the beach in the dark. Breakfast was really nice though. They've got lots of games and other things to do, and staff are helpful if a little.... strict.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank IVDD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015

beautiful place in very calm surroundings. feels backpacker-compatible thanks to young and very friendly staff (german-speaking), but has a very high standard with beautiful bandas (huts) and a nice beach strip. great value for relatively low price. small village is in walking distance. cuisine is excellent with modern interpretation of traditional local dishes. three-course menu every evening. surfing equipment and lessons avaiable. nice! thank you!

Room Tip: the huts I find much more cosy than the tents, but they are more expensive
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

We spent the last three days of our holiday at beach crab.
Great place with friendly staff and good food.
Reasonably priced and well organised: The only place that has served us in over a month even with real butter and real cheese for breakfast. Thanks for going this little extra mile :-) made us smile.
They organise cheap transport at no extra cost. All good and we can happily recommend them

Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
3  Thank Irelandjoeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

Found the place to be as described in the other reviews. Wanted 2 days at the beach after Kili and a safari. Stayed in tent which was comfortable. Lots of shared toilets and showers, like any other decent camp ground. The food was excellent. For breakfast you get real coffee and peanut butter and good quality bread along with fruit and eggs. All you can eat. Dinner is a set 3 course meal for 25000tsn. This is a fair price as most main meals are maybe 14000 tsn so add on 6000 for starter and 5000 for desert. All three dinners were very good. Staff were very friendly. Getting therevwas an adventure. 6 hrs by bus to Tanga, 1.5 hrs in very crowed van on rough and dusty road, a short ferry ride and an expensive taxi tide on another tough road. Remember the circles are not stars. This is not a Hilton. For me the curled represent satisfaction with what was advertised.

Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ebtc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews