We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
75
37
19
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
37
19
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt watertable tennistenthutsshowercoconuttangabackpackersaccommodationferrybeachtanzaniavolleyballmotorbikeseakayaking
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 145 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beach Crab is exactly what you would hope to find on the rural stretch of coastline between Bagamoyo and Tanga. Alex and Sonja were the perfect hosts, with their new baby, Mara. I was travelling alone but felt very included by them and the other guests, though it was quite quiet as it was just into the off season. My bungalow was very comfortable with a big double bed and good bathroom. The main social area is the bar / restaurant, right on the beach with lovely breezes off the sea. The room included a very decent breakfast and an excellent 3 course dinner, with a varied and interesting menu using the best of the local produce. We had a very good half day trip out to a sand island for snorkelling, which was good value. There is also plenty of sports on offer - they have their own volleyball court, a pool table, darts, and a very good selection of water sports, as well as a diving platform about 50 yards out to sea. All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place was great. I spent 5 nights there and I wish I could have stayed longer. Pangani is simply beautiful. For 20$ a night, you get a comfortable tent with a bed, electricity, a safe box, and the best breakfast I had in Tanzania. You don't have your own toilets and shower though, but the public one is clean so whatever. Food was also great and very affordable. It's a little far away from civilization though, but if you just want to chill on the beach for a few days, it's perfect. The staff and owners are also really friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benoit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September in one of the permanent tents and had a great time! It was v good value for money! The food was just amazing (especially the breakfast) and the facilities were good as well. We took a snorkelling trip to Maziwe and stopped off on a lovely sandbank in the middle of the ocean. Our guide Shaban was brilliant and we spent a lot of time with him! We'll miss him!! We really hope we'll be back!
We'd recommend this place to both couples as well as bigger groups travelling together.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinzy_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The place is in a nice location just south of Pangani, the lodge is clean, the food is more than enough and tasty. Fair price for drinks and food.
The atmosphere of the place is great, staff is very helpful, many activities and information of where to go / what to do.
The rooms are simple and comfortable, in the bandas there is hot sweet water for showering.
I would recommend going to the Beach Crab for a beach vacation in Pangani with nice company.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlumpfine_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this place before going to Zanzibar (about 5 nights all up) The food was Ok but way to late as I think this is designed more for you to drink at the bar. The place is very run down no hot water (in fact the water in the showers and everywhere else is salt) The staff are nice however they rely on German volunteers (free labour) but there seems to be little or no maintenance done & it is very overpriced as well, none of the beach activities were available when we were there. They are alot of nice places along this coast to stay at but unfortunately Beach Crab is not one !!!!

Room Tip: There are none !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Numzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews