We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
75
37
19
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
37
19
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt water table tennis tent huts shower coconut tanga backpackers accommodation ferry beach tanzania volleyball motorbike sea kayaking
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 146 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

A sparkling example of a small, isolated and primitive resort whose owners, whom I can only assume were enthusiastic in the construction and early operation of their property, have allowed the property and their passion as hoteliers to deteriorate significantly.

Stained toilets, exposed wiring, broken plumbing fixtures, some not repaired, others repaired with cellophane tape, cracked concrete, litter covered beach front, moldy cushions and throws left out 24/7 in all weather, and sports equipment in poor condition, also covered in mold (see attached pictures).

The website also conveniently does not indicate that the only way into the resort is via a extremely poor road which takes a minimum of 2.5 hours by private car (100,000 Tsh / $65 USD) and I would suggest considerably longer using a combination of public transit (local minivans) when available. By boat from the north tip of Zanzibar (Kendwa Rocks) although taking only 1.5 hrs, is infrequently used and can cost 200,000 Tsh / $125 USD per person if there are only 2 passengers on board.

The above factors including such items as the posting of notices indicating that internet is only available 12 km's away when it is in fact it available at a nominal charge 15 minutes walk down the beach (Tulia Beach Lodge) leads me to question the value of the experience we received at $120 USD for a thatched cottage and half board at this property. Would you consider the choice of vegetarian or beef lasagna as main course items in 34 degree heat appropriate?

Look for further deterioration at this property with the owners returning to Germany for the birth of their child and the operation and management of the resort turned over to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

i have a small lodge in east africa myself and therefor know the difficuly of setting up and running a place in east africa and i must say that i am impressed from the results of sonja's and alex' hard work!
I can only reccomend to stay here to all those travelers that search for untouched beached off the beaten track (large resorts, animation programs, western buffets...).
It is an idea place to stop over when traveling from/to kenya to/from zanzibar as there is a new speedboat connection between zanzibar and pangani, in addition to busses going to the kenyan border.
Let me add that i enjoyed the location, the food and the company - i will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redmonkeylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Wonderful landscape, wonderful stuff, wonderful breakfast, make your choise between own tent, rented tent or bungalows. Perfect Beach and Lonesome Area.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Afrikalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

After arriving from a mammoth drive from the north of Panagni (the ferry was closed) with only one boggin of the car (in black cotton soil) the location rite on the white beach was a lovely site to see.
We waited in the bar and had a very cold beer while Sonja was talking to another guest about there day safari in ... National Park.

With Sonja it is like talking to an old friend. There were about 10 of us staying there that night and most were around the bar for a drink before getting ready for dinner. Most people had stumbled on the resort by word of mouth or some German TV program (which I was being told about by my patner.

We chose to stay off the beach as our tent was too tall for the covered tent huts on the beach. Which we didn't mind as we only had a short walk to the beach, and in short distance to the facilities and bar.

The food was surpurb and so was the company of Sonja and Alex after dinner. So much so, we decided there and then to stay another night (work could wait!!).

Our only problem was we were so relaxed, we took no photos.

I've already recommended this to our friends and family here in Arusha. I would totally recommend this to anyone looking to go to the Pangani coast.

Just another tip, the beaches south of the ferry are 300% better then north.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kime75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Beach Crab Resort is located at the coastline of Tanzania, near the Saadani National Park, right between Dar es Salaam and Tanga. From Dar es Salaam, we reached the Beach Crab via Tanga and Pangani. It took as a full day to get there, using bus, minibus, fisherboat and jeep; so be prepared for an interesting trip ;-)

However, having arrived it soon becomes obvious that the journey is well worth the effort!! The Beach Crab is located at an increadible beach between palm trees and small fishing villages.

Accomodation is based on camping, tented camps and bungalows, sanitary facilities are perfect and the meals awesome.

Last but definitely not least, it is the people who make this place so special! Sonja and Alex, two german emigrants, have built up the Beach Crab with their own hands and contribute decisively to the spirit of this place!

Initially, we planed to stay at the BeachCrab for 3 nights, however, due to the increadible beauty of its setting and all the wonderful people there, we spontaneously decided to stay longer!

We definitely recommend the BeachCrab for everyone who is looking for an outstanding destination and brings some kind of curiosity and spirit for adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevebox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews