We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battlefields Country Lodge
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed in one of the round silos, and enjoyed the experience, though the shower rroom was a bit cramped. The bed was very comfortable, and my room had a fridge, kettle, air con. etc. The dining room is large, and catered for tour groups, with pretty basic food and breakfasts, but hey, there was plenty for all. Lovely to sit out on the terrace at dusk with our drinks, though watch out for the midgies!
Yes, the swimming pool was small, but I enjoyed the opportunity for a refreshing swim after a long trip on a hot day.
Staff were very pleasant,and the young employees manning the reception were very helpful when I was trying to get Wifi. (very random internet reception)
A good average comfortable hotel, and I would stay here again. Very convenient for the tours of the battlefields.

Room Tip: Ask for a silo, or a room upstairs in the block facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The setting is lovely with interesting thatched buildings. The rooms are either in standard blocks or in converted grain silos.

The room, a silo, was comfortable with a large bath.

Note the pool is very small.

The restaurant is large and the dinner is buffet format and of average quality, we don't want to eat lasagne and apple sponge! Prices were high at 130 rand for the meal and 125 rand for the wine which was very average, a shame for such a wine rich country. The whole service is based on coach parties who won't pay those rates. The service was indifferent and they gave a half-hearted recital after dinner. Breakfast was also expensive and average.

The reception is small and unwelcoming.

The site is nicely landscaped and the location just outside Dundee is fine being about 30 minutes from the Zulu Battlefields.

Room Tip: Try a silo but aske for upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a 2 night say here recently and our room was very comfortable and even had a small kitchen area. The restaurant offered a limited choice but the prices were very reasonable and the food and wine were good.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayled at the Battlefield Lodge for two night early in October on an organised tour of South Africa.

It was a great place to stay the staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was good especially breakfast. When we were there a wedding took place in the grounds and it was lovely to see a different culture wedding.

I stayed in a silo. So often we were today about people being in silos but I never thought I would live in one! It was fantastic. The room was round of course but there was a king size bed and fridge in the room. It was very comfortable and quite quirky really.

The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and there was so much colour. The guineafowl who roam around will give you a wake-up call!

It's well situated if you are travelling to the battlefield area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinemac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of an organised tour.
Nice hotel, good location, lovely staff and good food.
It was our Wedding Anniversary whilst here and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and flower arrangement in our room upon arrival. Many thanks to Shane who organised it. Another high on what was a fantastic holiday in a fantastic country!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for Zulu battlefields visit. Unusual place with 'silos' to stay in as well as main hotel building. We stayed in a silo, similar in external style to the Kent oast houses but with straw roof. Found it very interesting, although note loo and shower area are integral part of room with wall but no roof. Birds also found the roof interesting for nest-making material
Food average but noted that some on tour seemed to get ill after visit, but may be a coincidence.

Room Tip: Would advise a 'silo' for a more interesting stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISD_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Those in our party in the main hotel were perfectly happy. I was not. In winter the silos are cold, tiny and soul-less. Mine was damp and the instructions for working the heater were so well hidden that I couldn't find mine. Booked a 6.30 am call which never materialised in any of the silos, despite the tour manager checking that we had been called.

I disliked the dining area - it doubles as the local pub and the food is poor. Breakfast is OK. 2 nights was really 1 night too many for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
220.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
788.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
707 reviews
203.4 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
639 mi away
Diaz Hotel & Resort
Diaz Hotel & Resort
#6 of 9 in Mossel Bay
125 reviews
809.2 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,162 reviews
4 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefields Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefields Country Lodge

Address: Route 33 - Dundee to | Springfield Farm, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range: $38 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefields Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's Premier Battlefields, Conferencing,Wedding,Rugby Resort & Events Destination Battlefields Country Lodge is half way between Durban & Johannesburg and situated in the heartbeat of the well known historic Battlefields in KwaZulu Natal. Accommodation comprising of 70 air-conditioned, en-suite rooms surrounded by immaculate lawns, gardens & game. We are in close proximity to the famous battle sites Isandlwana, Rorke's Drift, Blood River monument and Talana Museum, rated as one of the best in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Battlefields Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing