We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best museum I've visited.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Talana Museum

Talana Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best museum I've visited.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have visited the museum on numerous occasions- usually taking guests for a day visit.

It gives u a great insight into the history of the area (wars, coal mining, cannabilism). A wonderful tribute to Mahatma Gandhi is also on display.

The Smith cottage is well preserved.

I was disappoited on my last visit that the sound effects at the mining exhibit was not working.

Additionally, the staff could be a bit more enthuisiastic and perhaps offer a guided tour (for a tip or a small fee).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amazing place - SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    64
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Put aside a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent museum. We only managed to see some of it due to our schedule and I wish we'd known about it earlier so we could have planned in more time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IssyStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Historical View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent about three hours at the museum that provides an historical view of the importance of Dundee as well as life in the 19th century. Besides the main museum that houses battlefield artifacts, glass ware, bead work, etc., it also has several buildings to explore, including the Smith family cottage; Smith is one of the founders of Dundee. There is way to climb to the top of Talana Hill, but the path was overgrown so we did not make the climb.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Checkingthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent rendition of the history of the battlefield era.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The museum offers insights into the coal mining industry, the old railway station and its carriages and much much more, well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting if you get there early enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived quite late in the afternoon but well before the last admissions however, after having a look at some of the galleries inside we found that the security staff were locking up the outside areas a good half and hour before closing so we missed quite a lot. It had a good bit about the coal mining industry.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank obankirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talana Museum also viewed

 
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
 

Been to Talana Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing