We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calderwood Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Boston B&B and Inns
Benoni South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Treated like Royalty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were 2 couples staying 2 nights at Calderwood Hall. What a beautiful place to stay, inside and out .A warm welcome awaited us from Heidi and she and Tiens saw to our every need. We had the 2 front suites, the Victorian Suite and the Honeymoon Suite. They were both fantastic, large rooms, with big sash windows, beautiful linen and furniture. There is a huge balcony which runs all the way along the front of the house and you can sit here and enjoy the gardens with a glass of wine. You really feel at home here. The food was good and we had the lovely dining room to ourselves. There is so much history here. Calderwood Hall has a very special feel to it. I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: The 2 front suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-bushwhackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a great place to stay, a quiet relaxing hideaway close to the Midlands Meander and many other places.We recently stayed for 3 nights, the only two guests but made to feel like royalty, nothing was too much trouble, Bridgid, Heidi & Tiens were great hosts, we found a friend in Garfield the wonderful cat! The Victorian room was great more like a suite so much space, wonderful decor throughout the Hall, as we are very interested in travel we looked around the other themed suites which were most excellently decorated .The grounds were immaculately kept, so many flowers all colours, birds, bees and animals, the lake was a great place relax and to watch the weaver birds late in the day.Many thanks to all the friendly staff and the excellent food served, we stayed DBB top quality and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Victorian room is looking over gardens all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed over at Calderwood Hall en-route to the Midlands. We thought we would treat ourselves and booked into the Victorian Suite. What wonderful accommodation with a very comfortable 4 poster bed, antique and unusual furnishings, wooden floors, high pressed ceilings, sitting area with T.V., complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits. We had a view of the well maintained gardens and dam. This B&B offers clean, comfortable accommodation in tastefully decorated suites in the manor house i.e. Victorian Suite, Honeymoon Suite, Egyptian Suite etc... This is like living in a bygone era with stained glass windows, large wooden staircase, yellow-wood floors, beautiful pieces of antique furniture etc.. and so much history at Calderwood Hall. The rate included dinner, bed and breakfast, the breakfast was a buffet English breakfast served in the diningroom. We would definitely recommend this B&B, it was a real treat and if one does not want to stay in the manor house there are garden suites as well which would probably be more suitable for couples with children. Calderwood Hall is also a very popular wedding reception venue with their own garden chapel and separate reception/conference room.

Room Tip: All the suites in the manor house are lovely with the Victorian and Honeymoon suites having front ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbanKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

I was not impressed by the room we got at calderwood. VERY small. No space for suitcases, and the bedmat was still wet!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWooSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calderwood1926, Owner at Calderwood Hall Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
In response to the complaint from Sue Woo, the owners of Calderwood Hall Guest House would like to point out that we have only recently become aware of the complaints and are concerned to hear that any guest had an unpleasant stay, We always welcome feedback and the opportunity to discuss the matter at the time so that we can take corrective action as quickly as possible.

The room described in the complaint forms part of a family suite comprising a lounge, a bedroom with a double bed and then a second bedroom with twin beds. It was designed with a family in mind (ie two adults and two children) and our marketing material clearly states this. We also indicate that if two adult couples are to share the suite, then they would need to take these limitations into account. In this instance its allocation was undertaken by the mother-of-the- bride as our entire accommodation was booked for the wedding with the intention of accommodating all her guests - so was out of out hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

This place is a must! We stayed here for 2 nights in December (25-27). The co-owner Wade was most hospitable. We had dinner and breakfast included - the meals were superb. Besides the property being wonderful, there are great attractions close by including the Midmar dam and one of the best zip-line courses in Africa. The best part about our stay is that for 4 people, for 2 nights, including meals it worked out less than $80 per person per night (rates are subject to change based on season, etc.). This is also a great place for weddings and functions.

  • Liked — Owners were great and property was wonderful
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GJ_Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
8.6 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
15.6 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
17.3 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Little Wings Teepee Camp
Little Wings Teepee Camp
#10 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Douglas Drift Cottages
#9 of 12 in Underberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calderwood Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderwood Hall Guest House

Property: Calderwood Hall Guest House
Address: R617 Underberg Road, Boston 3201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Boston
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and soothe away the tensions, as you relax in the calm ambience of Calderwood Hall Edwardian Guest House nestled in the foothills of the SouthernDrakensberg in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Our accommodation has been graded as AA Highly recommended. The Manor House has five oversized luxury en-suite bedrooms and set in the gardens are a further 24 en-suite garden rooms. The inviting Jardine Function Centre is designed as both a wedding venue and a conference centre. It is ideal for special occasions with its large draped chandeliered function room and thatched stained glass chapel.The Pavilion is situated in the front garden amongst the trees overlooking the dam. It has a large deck area, fire pit and a lovely braai facility. It is ideal for conferencing or to host guests during Cocktail Hour should the weather be inclement it can also be used as a casual lounge area in which to relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing