We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Seapoint Boutique Hotel(Pointe aux Canonniers)
$267
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$544
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Villas(Grand Baie)
$107
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort(Trou aux Biches)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
$277
$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$552
$415
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Grand Bleu Hotel(Trou aux Biches)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casuarina Resort & Spa(Trou aux Biches)
$148
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residence Venus(Pointe aux Canonniers)
Reviews (3,971)
Filter reviews
3,971 results
Traveler rating
2,504
1,123
245
69
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,504
1,123
245
69
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle canonnierall inclusive packagele navigatornavigator restaurantbuffet restaurantgrand baiesea facing roommain barkids clubbeach shoeswater sportswedding coordinatorour honeymoonrecommend lesister hoteltable tennisspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 3,971 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We booked Cannonier for our wedding, we were there a week and got married the day before we returned. We found it to be amazing, the stay on a whole and the wedding was perfect. We originally booked a standard garden facing pool but asked to upgrade to a sea facing room, they gave us a superior sea room at no extra charge!!! The view was fantastic, doors opened onto the gardens (as photo) with full view of sea to wake upto every morning. The food at both restaurants were excellent, we never had a bad meal, always lovely. Yes the pool and sea were a little cool but then it is winter over there! A very pleasant winter at 22c!! Our wedding co-ordinator Naid was lovely and bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. If it is absolute peace and quite you are after then this hotel may not be for you as it is a family hotel with kiddies facilities, but we loved it. All inclusive is definatley the way to go, meals (some meals at navigator restaurant were chargeable and expensive but well worth the money - lovely!!) and most drinks, mini bar, tea, coffee water ect all included. Local beer Pheonix and Eagle were very nice. Try the local fruit rum from the bar - lovely. I can imagine the drinks start getting pricey when your not all inc. The wedding was perfect, the staff couldnt do enough for us. The ceremony was on the restaurant terrace quite private over looking the sea surrounded by amazing tropical flowers. After we had photos on beach, gardens, jetty (fantastic quality). Then at 5.30pm we hired a Catamarran for a sunset cruise which was lovely, the lads on the boat were really nice and a good laugh!! (They were all apparently called Jack Sparrow! haha). Cruise lasted 1hr 30, we came back had a few drinks and went for our meal. We requested a table where we got married in the Navigator restaurant for our wedding meal, they set it up totally private no one other people were on the terrace all by candle light overlooking the sea. The food like everything was also top notch - i had the lobster and my husband had the lamb and we have never tasted food like it. We will definately be going back to this beautiful island and this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We went to Mauritius for 2 weeks all inclusive to Le Canonnier. While we were there we also got married!!
In total there were 7 of us including one child (7 years old). We booked three rooms between us. When we arived we were pleased to find out that we had all been upgraded. We ( my husband and I) booked a standard sea facing room and ended up with a superior room. The other guests booked garden facing and ended up with sea facing. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and clean.
Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, cant say the towels were chaged daily but every couple of days a new towel sculpture would appear in the room! Attention to detail was amazing. For example, flower arangements replaced daily, and the stairs in the hotel reception were swept up constantly.
The staff were very friendly, and would remind you of all inclusive deadlines. Meaning they would remind you know when to oder your last few free drinks etc. Drinks and food were very pricey if you werent all inclusive.
The hotel has one buffet resaurant, large selection of food, but a little canteen like. There is an a la carte restaurant but you have to book in advance. Food there is very good. The reatuarant then turns into a nightclub, which was dead the whole time we were there. The bar near the pool was where we spent most of our time. The only problem being it closed at midnight. We were sat in the dark many a time after the staff had left!!
The weather was changeable to say the least. Was always warm but not always sunny. Quite a few heavey downpours too, but they didnt usually last long.
The wedding was fantastic. The wedding coordinator was very helpful. Be careful with your choice of photographer! Be sure to find out exactly what they offer. We were given the choice of 2 photographers and expected them to both offer the same service. After speaking to another couple, we found out this was not so! Our photographer picked our photos for us whereas the other photographer let the couple choose from all the shots. Our wedding coordinator did what he could to help us out with our problems though and aranged another meeting with the photographer.
We got married at 4pm, short ceremony followed by cocktails and cake cutting. Then photo session all over the resort. Very tiring but we have some nice photos from it. Then back to the restaurant where we had a private table set up on the beach with our own chef serving a seafood barbeque. We also aranged for a small bonfire and local dancers for a little entertainment. During the meal we had a musical trio playing to us. After the meal we carried on the party in the nightclub, which as mentioned before is so empty it felt like a private party.
We loved our time in mauritius. Tried a couple of trips out and about with a local mini bus/taxi driver and the island is beautiful, but we really could have just spent the whole time in the hotel.
Will be pleased to help out if anyone has any questions about this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrsFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We chose this hotel for our 1week honeymoon. I 'm not sure exactly what was the problem, but the hotel didn't came up to my expectations. Probably we excpected something better judging from the money that we paid for the trip and receiving a standard room sea view (sea about 50m away!!), right next to the reception!
Have to admit that the staff was more than kind and polite, friendly and helpful and if I asked for a better room maybe I could have it ,but I didn't try it. When I came back I checked the rates in the hotel's site and found out that with the money we gave we could have the honeymoon suite, but maybe that depends on the travel agent and I'm sure a great deal goes there...
Anyway,weather was fine, sea and pool both very cold but after long sunbathing you can suffer it!
Food was just perfect each day in buffet restaurant and ate every time more than enough of all tastes, desserts and fruits...We didn't have the chance to eat at Navigator. Didn't expect that we had to pay even for the water in the restaurant. We had FB but all drinks were no included...In the end we had to pay a bill that we would surely avoid in all inclusive.
Tip: Take a taxi to do your souvenir shopping at Port Louis or anywhere you like. Nasser (the one that was mentioned in another review also) was very kind, helpful and took us wherever we wanted to.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fofi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

It's 4 stars (according to european standards), family orientated resort, nothing more, nothing less, except the bed. The bed is 1 star.

I've spent two weeks in Le Cannonier hotel this April, with my wife and three years old daughter.

It was our first stay in Mauritius and it was fine. The island is beautiful and Le Cannonier is very good resort.

RESORT AREA - simply beautiful
ROOMS - could be better in 4* hotel but still acceptable,awful bed
STAFF - very friendly
FOOD - good buffet in main restaurant., very good food a la carte in Le Navigator
POOL - could be larger but my daughter loved it
BEACH - 3 nice beaches around the hotel, one was very windy all the time so we used only two of them, conditions for swimming are better in Mont Choisy (only 5-10 minutes by walk)
ALL IN 1 - I think it's useful esp. if you like wine
TRIPS - I recommend to visit La Casela Park (interactions with lions), Black River National Park and local markets in Port Louis (exotic atmosphere) ; note : if you will bargain (you have to do it at local markets here) fair prices are around 1/3 of the first offer not 1/2 like in the most countries I've been...
I do not recommend/ or be prepared that hotel's snorkeling trip to near coral reef is very very short (I was told it's 1hour trip but in reality we had some + - 10 minutes for snorkeling!).... it's free of charge if you have All in 1anyway so my frustration wasn't so big
OTHER - very expensive hotel's internet

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

Went all inclusive for a week at Le Cannonier. Booked really early so got a great rate. It's probably as well going all inclusive given the rates for incremental food and drink on half board. The hotel is nicely situated just outside of Grand Baie with a few small beaches. The ocean swimming is good but you do need shoes to avoid the coral and rock. Good hotel swimming pool and water sports facilities.No gym in the hotel but you can use the excellent hotel gym at Le Mauricia. but beware the £10 taxi charge that certainly mounts up over a week

The hotel professes to be five star. Its not. 3and half to four star at best. The room was OK (superior garden view) but don't believe reviews such as Lonely Planet. They are not that good. There are two restaurants to choose from - one buffet style the other fixed menu or al a carte. Ate twice at the buffet and it was poor. The other restaurant (Navigator) was fine. The staff are excellent but checking out was a real challenge - took about ten minutes just to pay a laundry bill.

All in all a good stay given the rate but I would not have wanted to pay any more.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews