We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David and Sheila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The staff really made this holiday for us they just couldn't do enough. Any downfall, if there was any is made up for by the staff they are so friendly so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and plenty of it. We liked the Navigator for the peace & quiet and the intimate atmosphere. The entertainment was excellent especially the resident band. Thanks to Ajay for arranging our wedding vows renewals ceremony and the girls at the beauty salon. Would we go back again? this is so easy to answer................yes we would. I do agree that you must go all inclusive though. Anyone going to this hotel must try Caco liquour and then please lets us know where you can buy it because we couldn't find any in the shops.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the gardens and ocean and for one night only the honeymoon suite - fantastic
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymooners638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,450)
There are newer reviews for Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Le Canonnier for a week in early October 2013. Our arrival was late at night, but they were there to greet us with cooldrink and a cool towel, transported our bags to our room, and had prepared a special late night supper in one of their restaurants. We took the All Inclusive Package and this is a must at this Beachcomber Hotel.

Positives:
VERY friendly staff, and in fact all of Mauritius can be very proud of their friendly nature. Daily watersports, archery, table tennis, or just lounging by the pool or on the beach with cocktails. A short, cheap bus ride to Grand Bay shopping. Food available all the time, with buffet breakfast, lunch and supper, with sandwiches and pancakes in between. Clean rooms, and if you leave a little tip for your rooom cleaner, he will create awesome animals with your towels. Le Navigator Restaurant is great, with a gourmet set menu over looking the sea, and I would definitely recommend eating here as often as you can.

Negatives:
I would warn against expecting a quiet and secluded getaway at this hotel. As honeymooners, one could probably want a bit more privacy. It is a family hotel, so expect lots of children running around, splashing at the pool. Larger groups of friends etc. We weren't too bothered, but at times it can be annoying. Great if you are a family though. The out of package prices are phenominally expensive. Not just pricey, but rediculous! From South Africa, R120 ($10) for a beer is just rediculous. A plate of food can be R600 ($50) This seems to be the standard at all tourist spots around the island, and I can't see the justification in the exhorbitant prices. Once again, go all inclusive if you're on a budget. Wifi is only available at the lobby and bar. We don't care much for internet while we are on holiday, but one would think Wifi in your room would be standard for a 4 star hotel? The spa treatments are hugely expensive, and having been to Thailand earlier in the year, you can get the same at a hotel in Thailand for a quarter of the price. High prices seems to be a general trend with the other reviewers.

All in all a good experience, and we can't praise the staff enough. My suggestion, go all inclusive, but if you don't want to do that, go bed and breakfast and eat and drink somewhere else, a bit difficult from this hotel, as it is about 5km from Grand Bay, and a bit secluded in this regard. If kids aren't your thing, look elsewhere. If I had to go again as a couple, I would look for more of a boutique hotel, closer to other restuarants and bars to sample the rest the island has to offer.

Room Tip: Sea facing tends to be quiter than rooms overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaffaDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A very memorable experience as always. The staff couldn't do enough for us and this has been the same since our 1st visit. In particular Dar - Asst F&B Manager, Roshan - Night Audit, Dan Harry - Head Waiter are always fabulous, Lomesh at the poolside and at the Boathouse our particular thanks go to Sanjay and Dylan for going the extra mile with tuition on the Lasers as well as the Manager there Bernard. Staff at Reception are always so welcoming and polite. The cuisine at Le Frangipanier is incredibly varied with something for everyone and the standard consistently exceptional. The grounds are beautifully kept and the accommodation is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel are brilliant! Throughout our holiday they couldn't do more for us.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are immaculate. The grounds are well maintained and the overall experience of the hotel is a good one!
There are a few downsides to this hotel however...

If you're not on an all inclusive package deal, it is a terribly expensive hotel. Room service for two sandwiches was almost £20. Yet these were free on the available all inclusive package however.

The trips organised by the hotel are sometimes 3 times the price you can get elsewhere from independent tour operators.

Taxis are also organised by the hotel. These again are much more expensive than using public transport. A taxi ride of around 5 miles costs about £10. Using the bus going to the same place costs about 70p for two people!

The beauty treatments are also an average 25% more than you can find elsewhere, however the treatment rooms at the hotel are housed in an ancient banyan tree, so is a cool and unique place to visit.

The hotel is in quite a remote location, which is fantastic! However, sometimes you want to be connected to the outside world and this is where the hotel really let's itself down. There is only wifi in the bar area and the main reception. The signal is so poor :-(. It took ages to get online, with occasions not being able to get online at all.

Dining in the hotel is also expensive, with a meal for two coming in at around £60 without wine for two people.

There are a couple of restaurants locally that serve great food at much more reasonable prices.

Book bed and breakfast and explore the local area and it's people would be our advice!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mattchew26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have spent three weeks at this beautiful hotel and have had a wonderful time ! The flat with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms ('family apartment', approx. 80sqm, ground floor, garden view) turned out to be the perfect choice for us, being a family with two small kids. Staff was very friendly, always trying to accomodate to your needs.
Food was excellent in general, with a "theme buffet" on a daily basis which reflected the intenational clientèle with a slight emphasis on the neighbouring countries / cultures maybe. For guests less inclined towards dishes with Curry or the more heavy spices of the "Indinan cuisine" there is always very tasty pizza and pasta as an alternative. Lovers of exotic fruits will enjoy the fresh pinapples, coconuts, papaya, etc. you can find at every meal.
Personally, I found the qualtiy and variety of pastry outstanding !! In my opinion this really deserves to be mentioned, as well as AJAY, one of the Pastry chefs.
Also the Sushi-buffet - which seems to happen once a week - deserves a mention, both for quality, as well as love for detail.
We were treated with a lot of care by all waiters, especially DANHARRY, who stands out from the crowd by not only speaking French and English, but also a couple of other languages.

Many big thanks also to the hostesses at 'mini-club' for kids, where Vidya, Corinne, Annabelle and Rachelle were taking care also of our little ones so that we were able to really relax for a couple of hours every day. If needed, the kids club provides service until 9:30pm, so kids can have even dinner with the hostesses, which proved helpful for us at least once when we decided to go on a one-day tour to the south of the island which we though would be too tiring for our kids.

Concerning sight-seeing we found prices for organized tours very expensive ... A one day tour - depending on the company of course - will be around € 85.- per person and can go up to € 140.- for special programs. A half-day trip will still be between € 35 and € 55. As an alternative we considered renting a small car, which would have cost around € 60 per day, but where a bit scared about not ebing used to traffic keeping to the left, as we come from a middle European country.
As luck has it, we were adressed by one of the taxi drivers associated to the hotel during the first few days of out stay. He made us aware that you can rent a cab for a whole day at a much cheaper price. A one day trip to the south of the island including the "Trou aux Cerf" volcano crater (Curepipe), the "Grand bassin" with Hindu temple and monumental statues, several viewpoints within the national park (Alexandra Falls, Black River Gorge, Chamarel Falls, 7 Coloured Earth, etc) comes at the expense of 3000 rupies which is around €75.-, so - including the usual 10% tip - you arrive at a little more than € 80.-, which is great price, we believe: instead of having to drive your own (rental-)car, you don't have to worry about traffic or maps, the taxi driver provides you to most important information of the island and sight-seeing sites and you can just relax and watch the wondeful nature ...
Therefore we can personally recommend the chauffeur / guide RAJESH SEEWOOPAUL (taxi no. U 991) mobile no. 52536104 rajesh.991@hotmail.com, whose service we have used on two occasions: a trip to the botanical garden at Pamplemousses and the above mentioned tour around the south of the island. He speaks French and English (and Créole, of course), is very nice, discreet and always trying to accomodate your needs -

So - overall best notes for the "Le Canonnier" and the island of Mauritius as a wonderful destination for beautiful holidays !

Room Tip: The flat with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms ('family apartment', approx. 80sqm, ground floor, g...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The customer service at this hotel is 110 percent! Service staff go out of their way to help and are very friendly. The best was kids club where Vidya, Annabelle, Rachel and Corinne looked after our kids so well so that we could have some adult time! we never ventured out of the hotel until our second last day, we enjoyed it so much. The place is bigger enough to have your own space but small enough to know where your kids are!
The only negative is that the set menu for all inclusive customers at the navigator restaurant could improve.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family duplex, kids upstairs and us downstairs with own tv in each room so great fo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great time thank's to all the Hotel staff and Beachcomber. We came back well rested and relaxed. Special thanks to Ian Chintoo from the entertainment crew for all the laughs at the Archery and water aerobics.

Room Tip: Our stay was in a 2 bedroom Family appartment great value for money
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe aux Canonniers
1.8 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,408 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,626 reviews
1.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Royal Road, Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30522 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie > Pointe aux Canonniers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pointe aux Canonniers
Price Range: $221 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendy family resort in Mauritius One of the best family resorts in Mauritius, Le Canonnier stands proudly above the coastline on a historic peninsula. Le Canonnier enhances the authentic Mauritian atmosphere with commanding views over the northern islands and sparkling Indian Ocean, lush tropical gardens dotted with cascading pools and a string of secluded creeks. Bearing testimony to the island's historical past are ruins of a lighthouse and fortress blending seamlessly into the tropical gardens. A wide variety of land and water sports is on offer. A unique feature of the resort is its wellness centre built in the branches of a banyan tree where therapists soothe body and mind. The hotel is also known for its unique mini-club housed in an ancient lighthouse. Guests can select the optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers most food and drinks for complete peace of mind during their holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canonnier Hotel Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Le Canonnier Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Canonniers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing