We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word "Fantastic"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent one week at the Le Cannonier last week on a full board basis and had a blast. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Upon our arrival late at night at 21:45 we were greeted with a cool facecloth and a fruit juice which was very welcoming! We were booked into our room within 10 mins and were sent to have dinner in the Italian restaurant on site whilst our luggage was taken to our room by a porter. During unpacking we noticed that the toilet in our bathroom was leaking water on the floor. After reporting it to the night cleaning staff, maintenance staff arrived to fix it within 10 mins of reporting the problem. Very impressive.

The hotel has the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the towel art everyday is a sight to behold. As I find the duvets to hot to sleep under in such warm climates, I requested an extra sheet to be used as a top sheet to sleep under and my request was attended to immediately.

The food at the buffet section and the beach restaurant was excellent. There really was something every day to suit all tastes. The only complaint was all the Rhum in the cocktails.

Snorkling on the beach was amazing as the reefs are extensive. Only thing is to remember to bring "booties" or simular shoes to swim or walk on the beach with as there are a lot of dead coral on the beach and in the sea.

We will definately visit there again!

Room Tip: Good rooms are those closest to the beach as they are away from the pool area which tends to be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherylk326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 3,603 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent few days there on the full board basis and had such a wonderful time. The hotel is situated on a nice coast. The food is just perfect. The personnel is effective and helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, with terrace facing the sea or the garden. Activities are tailor made each day ranging form aqua gym, archery, table tennis, initiation to yoga, kayaking, glass bottom trips and many more. Nothing negative to say !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlene2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Normally we are active when on vacation and try many restaurants, go shopping, enjoy tours etc. BUT not this time! Once in the Canonnier we only left hotel grounds two times - one for shopping by taxi in Grand Bay (only worth while for shopping - not a place we found interesting anything else - maybe also because the food were so good at the Canonnier) and the second time for a dinner at the sister hotel Mauricia where you can use fitness, pool and restaurants/bar included in all inclusive package.

The canonnier hotel was a very positive experience. We had the all inclusive package and took full advantage of it. Impressive buffets and breakfast, lunch and dinner + two a la carte restaurants that also are included in the package - just remember to book a day in advance.
The Buffet theme changes every night - but if you stay more than a week it repeats...

The bar is next to the pool and has "light" entertainment with local performers - our 11 year old found it fund but don't expect to much.

There is also a bar by the sea open all day apart from during dinner time when it is a restaurant. I have seen reviewers writing that you can't order take-away drinks for more than you self e.g. when you are on the beach - not correct - you can order for the whole family - the waiters soon know you and your family and know you are together and all have the all inclusive band so no problem.


The beach is spread out. Do remember to bring your beach shoes - you walk on dead coral! Don't miss walking out to the little island that is covered with dead corals. For the first 200 meters the depths is not exciting 1 meter! Then you reach the reef! The water is so warm that you can stay in for hours.

One thing bothered us - all beach chairs were "reserved" with beach towels early in the morning - even though that people only used the a couple of hours during the day. Maybe it is not the problem of the hotel - but irritating.

The activity center is good. Friendly staff and always possibilities to go on eg. snorkling tour, pedal boats etc. We saw turtles on the snorkling tour - right on the edge of the reef.

We used the dive center - nice staff and we went to a new reef each day (6 dives). All easy dives - only one at 30m - rest at 15-20m. The 30m were to a wreck!

We consider going back next February!

Room Tip: We paid extra for sea-view. If you do so, then ask for lower levels. We stayed on the second floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jsolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You had been recommended le Canonnier for our stay in Mauritius and we haven't been disappointed! Excellent and friendly staff, great food, huge park to wander around. Nothing negative to say. Wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Le Cannonier is a excellent resort close to Grand Baie in Mauritius. Quiet and cosy, the beach is nice and the restaurant got tasty and very good food! The personnel is efficient and gentle, rooms are very clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleNovara2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We staed half board with another family and had a wonderful time. The hotel has a lot to offer especially for the teens with archery, tennis, volleball, ping pong, and watersportsgalore. Free watreskiing, windsurfing, kayaking, glassbottomboat trip and snorkling. The grounds are very well kept and the beaches clean although a bit harsh on your feet if you are without flipflops. We saw 5 or 6 weddings during our stay and having those views, beaches and hotel grounds to stroll I do understand why they chose Le Cannonier. They have 3 restaurants all with good food. The buffet restaurant had a different theme every evening which worked well. This is a hotel that I think has succeeded with ambience and familiarity for us who like that little extra but do not want to have to put a tie on when on vacation. The staff was very helpful and made our stay very easy. Although the hotel is a bit worn it makes it up in cleanliness and ambience. Overall a great family vacation for us at a hotel we will come back to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelKid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in better but I've also stayed in far worse. Nearly everyone there is on all inclusive and you'd be mad not to do the same. The staff are always very willing to serve you although you get the feeling that all the drinks are slightly watered down unless you go for the local beer which I pretty good. The buffet dinner is tasty but not all that romantic. If you're thinking dinner for 2 in a quiet restaurant then it's not quite like that. You can book into the more a la carte restaurant but I wouldn't say the food way any better.

If you want a place that is good and solid to get away for a few days then this is the place for you. If you want it to take your breath away then you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leaveatrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe aux Canonniers
1.8 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,793 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,495 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,762 reviews
1.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Royal Road, Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30522 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie > Pointe aux Canonniers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pointe aux Canonniers
Price Range: $213 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendy family resort in Mauritius One of the best family resorts in Mauritius, Le Canonnier stands proudly above the coastline on a historic peninsula. Le Canonnier enhances the authentic Mauritian atmosphere with commanding views over the northern islands and sparkling Indian Ocean, lush tropical gardens dotted with cascading pools and a string of secluded creeks. Bearing testimony to the island's historical past are ruins of a lighthouse and fortress blending seamlessly into the tropical gardens. A wide variety of land and water sports is on offer. A unique feature of the resort is its wellness centre built in the branches of a banyan tree where therapists soothe body and mind. The hotel is also known for its unique mini-club housed in an ancient lighthouse. Guests can select the optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers most food and drinks for complete peace of mind during their holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canonnier Hotel Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Le Canonnier Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Canonniers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing