We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon at Le Canonnier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked two weeks all inclusive at Le Canonnier for our honeymoon, November 2012. As you arrive, the driveway, grounds and entrance into the reception area is extremely impressive. After being given a drink and hot towel to mop down with, we were shown down a dark, dated and smelly corridor to our ‘superior room’. It was raining heavily and the damp humid air had caused the old brown carpets to sweat. The smell was dreadful!

The superior room was clean, modern and had a big double bed but overlooked the children’s playground and lacked the ‘wow’ factor that we were expecting given what we paid for our holiday. We asked for an alternative room where we were shown something identical but with a different view. Expressing our disappointment, we were offered one of the honeymoon suites but this was to cost us almost half again of what we had already paid for our holiday! The room was huge, modern and comfortable with double doors opening directly onto the beach, lovely for sitting outside with drinks from the minibar, watching amazing sunsets, we loved it. After negotiating a significant discount, we moved in but it was still very expensive and something we wouldn’t have done had it not been our honeymoon.

Despite staying in the hotel’s best room option, we were surprised that the cleaners felt the constant need to store their many cleaning trollies outside our room from about 8 in the morning until at least 4 in the afternoon. Mops and buckets, linen and empty glasses and bottles were constantly present in the corridors as it seemed to be the procedure for staff to empty these things out of peoples rooms into communal areas where they would remain until a member of staff collected them the next day. This was a real shame and certainly isn’t what we expected for a hotel of this standard.

Unlike other reviewers, we found the food to be excellent. Although there were some dishes you’d see every day, overall there was an amazing choice with many hot dishes being cooked freshly in front of you during service. The head chef very friendly and keen to please my appetite for spicy dishes and he was always keen to make recommendations to me.

Table service was sometimes a little slow during busy periods but the staff were generally very polite and helpful. The hotel has two further restaurants in addition to the buffet restaurant. The Navigator restaurant was a lovely spot with an amazing view over the beach and sea and was well worth visiting for lunch or dinner. The third restaurant was an Italian which was cordoned off the side of the buffet restaurant. Sadly service was incredibly slow and whilst nicely presented, the food wasn’t all that special. You could also arrange a romantic meal on the beach but this was prohibitively expensive, nearly £200 which was a real shame as it would have been a beautiful romantic setting.

Every evening the bar which was in a beautiful setting within the garden and pool area would provide entertainment. The cocktails weren’t as good as those made with branded spirits but the beer and wine were enjoyable and the bar staff are friendly. After the bar closed, you could buy drinks in the Navigator which also had a disco at midnight although this didn’t seem to be used by many guests.

The hotel is advertised as having wifi but it was only available in the bar and reception with variable signal strength and it wasn’t available in the hotel rooms. The pool and beach were clean, sports facilities including the water sports were excellent as was the spa which is located in a maze of rooms up an enormous tree.

To conclude, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Canonnier but there are some simple things that they don’t seem to have got quite right here which given what you pay and expect from a Beachcomber hotel, should not be the case.

Room Tip: Get the best one you can afford and try to select a sea view. Beware that the rooms facing East were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beenonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 3,521 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed there for one weekend during the last weekend of April 2012. At this time of the year the weather in Mauritius is very pleasant as we are in the transition season from summer to winter.

As locals, we managed to book an All Inclusive package at a reasonable rate. While one embarrassing thing about this package is that you have to wear a band on your wrist all the time, it gives you access to a wide range of food, beverages and cocktails. Besides breakfast, lunch and dinner, you can order cocktails between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m., sandwiches between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. and pancakes between 4 and 6 p.m.. Food served at the hotel's main restaurant (Le Frangipanier) is varied and includes both local and European. For one evening, we wanted a change and ate at the Italian restaurant La Serenata, which was nice.

The hotel lacks broadband access in the rooms, which were a bit small. Otherwise, service is good and the staff were attentive to our needs.

Activities inside the hotel are a bit limited. The swimming pool is nice but apart from that, you're more or less restricted to table tennis, for which you will have to battle out with other guests to have a table and bats! However according to the hotel's website, there are several other activities such as aquagym and volleyball.There's a lighthouse inside the hotel yard where a Kids' Corner has been set up.

We pretty much enjoyed our stay, and we would recommend to anyone who want a positive experience to book an All Inclusive package. If not, you could end up paying for lots of little things and being extremely frustrated. The other packages aren't as attractive even when you consider their lower cost.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrAppadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for a few days to attend a conference taking place close by. The rooms were fairly large, clean and comfortable. Service at the hotel was so so, for example, when I took the complimentary tea in the room, they were never replaced in the 3 days that I was here. I was also disappointed to learn that there was no internet access in the rooms. You had to go to the lobby or the bar to access the wi-fi. The food was ok, the choice was limited for the breakfast buffet, but there was a wide range of foods for dinner. The hotel also had 2 shops selling souvenirs and a few necessities.

Location-wise the hotel is within 5 minutes walk from a grocery/souvenir shop and a few other souvenir shops around. Other than that, you will need an automobile to get around. There is a nightclub - L'Enfant Terrible, which is only a 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a 10-day Honeymoon at Le Cannonier Hotel which was absolutely perfect. I would say a week is too short to experience everything. 10 days was just enough.

At Le Cannonier Hotel they gave us more than professional service throughout our stay. From checking in until the very end of our holiday we felt like being treated as a Prince and a Princess.

As a young couple, we enjoyed the variety of activities that they have to offer, especially the water activities, cycling and tennis. There is never a dull moment and always something to keep you busy.

We strongly recommend the all inclusive option to all guests, because we only had a very small amount on our room account at the end when we checked out and you can manage your budget much better.

We had a perfect holiday and there was really nothing to complain about and surely we will return one day. It is absolutely a stunning place to celebrate after your wedding.

Room Tip: Choose a cheaper room to save money - Most of the time you spend outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lize A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed during Christmas as a family (parents and three teenagers) - the major reason we picked this property is that they could accomodate all five of us in the same 2-bedroom suite, and accessorily, I had always wanted to stay at a Beachcomber property in Mauritius!
Excellent service from everyone at the hotel, perhaps because we are a French and English speaking family (also mixed Asian-French) so we felt right at home in terms of language and culture!
The only drawback of the family accomodation is that it is at the far end of the resort, so not the most central location!
Lots of activities for everyone to enjoy (small nautical center, archery - great, tennis, etc), plus evening music and activities, all very "soft touch" (compared with the Club Med, for example).
Lots of families but somehow this resort manages to have babies, kids, teens, adults and honeymooners (there was even a wedding during our stay) all busy in different places and at different times, without anyone stepping on each others toes too much (there were some badly behaved children but they were the exception). However, if we were not travelling with the family I would have obviously chosen another of the Beachcomber properties with no children :-)
The mix of guests was very international, with mostly Europeans (and many South Africans). Other than the usual French and Brits, this resort seems to be very popular with Italians.
Food quite good, we benefited from lovely Christmas Eve and Christmas Day special buffets, and tried the Navigator restaurant by the beach (a bit overrated in terms of food but nevertheless very nice setting for a dinner). I found it a bit of a shame that people didn't take the evening dress code a bit more seriously (men are required to wear long trousers, but for some reason the kids and ladies did not necessarily match their dad/partner, with many in shorts and t-shirts!)
Do not miss the Wellness Centre, it is built on a banyan tree and a magical moment (especially if you have your massage at dusk like we did)
Will be back, Probably not at the Cannonier but at another one of the higher end Beachcomber hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FamilleDiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good hotel. nice location, room ok but need renovation. food good. overall nice hotel, good price. Nice staff. Nice beach with good view on coin de mire island and the northern coast. Very close to choisi and grand bay for tourist, near p louis and shopping centers.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

1. Food - Much more was expected in the food offerings in this hotel. They are not equipped to offer alternative options to people with special dietry requirements. My wife is allergic to garlic and most of the times she ended up eating very basic things such as plain rice and plain pasta. All items in the buffet dishes and the italian restaurant contain garlic as a base ingredient.

Most of the times we complained with the chef regarding food which was left raw including fish, pork and chicken. A couple of times we sadly noticed that the people handling the eggs in the morning were also handling the raw fruit, which as you know this is a high risk for Salmonella. We complain about this with the food and beverage manager, however we have seen the same the next morning!!

2. The wireless access in the hotel was precarious, all guests were complaining about this since besides that they don't offer it in the rooms, the access from the lobby was very poor. We know that internet is not the main reason why you go to Mauritius, but if they market it in their website, they should offer a good service, full stop.

3. Rats. Everyday we have seen rats of a significant side (30 - 40 cm) running around the buffet restaurant. We approached the food and beverage manager and we definitely didn't like his attitude in resolving this as he was continuously justifying it because there was a garden and this is "expected" in this environment. We also noticed that other guests were really annoyed by this especially those who had a ground accommodation. You do not want to see rats especially in a 4 star hotel especially in the food area.

4. Pool. We never noticed that the pool was cleaned and it was alway dirty and you could barely see the pool floor sometimes.

5. Maintenance. They were painting the hotel walls in the corridor while guests were staying in the hotel and it was pretty full at this time of year. This didn't help to alleviate all the annoyances experienced.

6. Hotel Private Beach. We learned that the hotel should be responsible for the cleaning of public beaches. This is clearly not being done and the private beach is in a very poor state that you cannot swim in there. We ended up going to Grand Bay to swim which is 15 mins by car and this was not acceptable to us.

Luckily, we knew how to get around the island since it was the second time in Mauritius. We rented a car and tried to avoid staying at the Le Cannonier resort as much as possible.

For the price that we paid to stay there, we expected a lot lot more and we are sorry to see such a bad attitude by the management to address the complaints raised by the guests. We definitely do not recommend this resort to anyone as it will surely ruin the holiday experience for anyone staying there. We think that this was poor judgement from our side and that most of the comments on tripadvisor are over rated.

Room Tip: If possible try to find a room with the sea view. If you dont have a choice and have to stay in a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spike145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe aux Canonniers
1.8 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,724 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,460 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,699 reviews
1.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Royal Road, Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30522 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie > Pointe aux Canonniers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pointe aux Canonniers
Price Range: $196 - $786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendy family resort in Mauritius One of the best family resorts in Mauritius, Le Canonnier stands proudly above the coastline on a historic peninsula. Le Canonnier enhances the authentic Mauritian atmosphere with commanding views over the northern islands and sparkling Indian Ocean, lush tropical gardens dotted with cascading pools and a string of secluded creeks. Bearing testimony to the island's historical past are ruins of a lighthouse and fortress blending seamlessly into the tropical gardens. A wide variety of land and water sports is on offer. A unique feature of the resort is its wellness centre built in the branches of a banyan tree where therapists soothe body and mind. The hotel is also known for its unique mini-club housed in an ancient lighthouse. Guests can select the optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers most food and drinks for complete peace of mind during their holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canonnier Hotel Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Le Canonnier Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Canonniers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing