We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No doubt, the best place to stay in Borneo for a Rainforest experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Travelled to Borneo for 2 weeks this month. This hotel was the best of the lot for accommodation, location, setting and food. It is pricey, but it's well worth it if you want to spend a few days isolated in a conservation rainforest area. There are lots of planned treks through the day and night, including a stop by at a jungle jacuzzi waterhole to cool off. We only saw 1 wild Orangutan on our daily treks, but seeing the large male in his natural environment left us in awe. There were plenty of other breeds of monkies and birds roaming about and you do spot deer. We missed out on seeing the clouded leopard which also roams around this area. The food was the best for Borneo.. plentiful and delish. We stayed for the 3 day / 2 night package which I feel was just right as we did so much in those 3 days. Highly recommend if you are happy to spurge a little.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deetravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 889 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

You drive 50km along a dirt road into the wilderness to find a luxury lodge, located at a bend of the river and overlooking pristine, primary forest.
The lodge is beautiful, the food is excellent, the service is really good, the location is exceptional - and the gekkos have eaten the mosquitos. What's not to love?

Room Tip: The river view is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slow2Melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here 4d/3n in July and really enjoyed it. The ride to the resort was better than I expected. The resort itself is a heaven in the middle of nowhere with wildlife all around. Good variety of food for all buffet meals, very friendly and attentive staff at all levels, spacious and well equipped rooms, no mobile phone coverage but wireless internet available. The guides are all well trained and well English speaking and will go out of their way to give you the wildlife experiences. Although most of the guests will opt for the 3d/2n stay I was happy that I had 1 day longer. Guide Ray was very knowledgable and I saw a lot of wildlife and some great birds during my stay; I could stay here for weeks without a problem. Although the packages are not cheap, it is worth every single penny; would recommend it to all who want to have a good wildlife and rainforest experience. Thanks to all and will be back one day!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
Thank amvg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Borneo Rainforest Lodge and had the most amazing time. Nothing could be faulted. The welcome was overwhelming after the long drive from Sandakan, and the service and food were consistently excellent. We are both vegetarians but never had a problem filling up on tasty mains and beautiful desserts. Both the restaurant and our chalet had excellent views of the river and the awe-inspiring wall of jungle behind it. As mentioned by other reviewers, spotting wildlife in the jungle is a matter of luck but we found that the best viewing was always near the lodge, whether it was red leaf monkeys seen at eye-level from the lodge balcony, the magnificent blue-throated bee-eaters shooting past our chalet, or the water monitors and otters swimming across the river. Our guide, Oswald, was excellent in every regard. The best part is that all the guides are in radio contact and advise each other of special sightings. This allowed us to move quickly to see a western tarsier and also quite a few orang-utans which we may otherwise have missed. We were fortunate enough to see all the primate species found in the area but there are so many weird and wonderful creatures that each visitor will see something special. Other highlights were the 300 metre-long canopy walkway and the walk which looped past Coffin Cliff, two enchanting waterfalls, and the "jacuzzi pool", where our feet were cleaned and tickled by scores of tiny fish. We were kept so busy with trekking, night drives and even tubing (with breaks in between to recover) that it was two days before we noticed the fact that there was no TV in the room. The only mod-con necessary is the air-con but we even switched that off for the last few nights, as the evenings were cool and balmy. We didn't see or hear a single mosquito but did get sandflied on the last day. Buying leech socks helped considerably, although we still got a few cute little guys attached to us. We would recommend staying for 3 rather than 2 nights to make the most of the experience. We really didn't want to leave and thoroughly recommend Borneo Rainforest Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Borneo rainforest lodge, danum valley

This place is extraordinary!  A real luxury resort set in primary rain forest, 75km from the nearest tarmac road...

Rooms, service and food were excellent, and sitting in a plunge bath looking out at the jungle was quite something!

The reason to come here though is the wildlife, and with a couple of caveats,  it doesn't  disappoint.

There's quite a lot to see just around the lodge - deer, kingfishers, swallows, tailorbirds, all sorts of insects, but the real draw is going out into the jungle with a guide.

The guides are excellent.  They know their stuff and are amazing at finding animals in the deep forest, and then helping you see them.  Standards of English are very good.

That said, this is rain forest and you have to put in some effort to see things.  Our best sightings were on the night drive, night hike and early morning hike. We went on a long daytime walk where we only saw a few smaller animals.  And you have to work quite hard - the guide will fill any spare minute of your day!

Highlights on the animal side included a western tarsier, flying lizard, flying squirrel, male orang utan and a pygmy squirrel. 

As long as you remember you aren't going to the zoo, this is a totally unmissable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thirkej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights together with our two kids ( 7 and 11 years). The whole package was perfecly arranged by Borneo Nature Tours. It took about 3 hours to get there, but it was not a bad trip at all. We even saw a pygmee elephant!

We stayed in a delux double ovelooking the river. Nicley decorated rooms. I'd like some moore hooks to hang wet clothing or other stuff. We stayed in the room very little of our time. Shower and bath was very nice.

The food was great. There was a good variety of local and western food. Our picky child got plain pasta and parmesan on request. The dining area was very charming and peaceful looking out over the river. There you heard and saw hornbills and other birds.

The very best part was of course the walks in the pure and pristine rainforest. There were a lot of leeches when it rained, but we bought leech socks in the shop at the lodge, inexpensive. After one day we leared to live with the leeches. We loved our guide Raphael. He tailored our walks according to our request. He also made our 7-year old boy into a big hiker! No problems to bring kids! Raphael showed us many things and seem to have a genuine interest in nature and conservacy. It is much needed in Borneo when you see all those palm oil plantations. Boycott palm oil!

On this trip we saw: hornbill, mouse deer, owl, red-leaf monkey, tarsier and much more. However, it is not a zoo. Animals are not hanging around, it is a big forest. On our last day we got up early to see an organutan wake up. It was an old male, Abu. We waited for three hours, but then he came very close to us. He was about 3-5 meters away. Sitting in the ditch eating ginger. He was so beautiful.

We left the place very happy. So glad to have seen one of the few wild orangutans left in this world. We would like to come back in a few years time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cillidill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Like everyone else is saying - its a beautiful place to stay and relax and see some wildlife.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borneo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Rainforest Lodge

Address: Danum Valley Conservation Area 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Danum Valley Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Price Range: $190 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borneo Rainforest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low density Jungle Lodge with 31 Twin Sharing Chalets located in the largest Conservation Area in Sabah which is home to 275 species of birds, 110 species of mammals & one of the oldest virgin rainforest in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing