We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Dog

Lazy Dog
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Relaxed Dining & Wine Tasting. Restaurant, Cellar Door with wine tasting and retail pantry . Produce for the menu supplied from own garden, alongside our wine and preserves.
Point Edward, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow. We have eaten and wine tasted in many places and this one rates as one of the best! Excellent food and service. We had a member of our group with unique food sensitivities and our hostess was very attentive to these needs. We loved the format for choosing our flights of wine. If we had discovered this earlier in our week in the area, we would have visited more than once. Ambiance is perfectly New Zealand. A must-go for foodies and anyone else wanting great food and a good overview of the regional wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love LazyDog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is without doubt my favourite restaurant in the Cromwell area. If you are in Central Otago, or travelling between Cromwell and Wanaka, do stop for lunch at LazyDog.

The staff here are very friendly, and nothing is a problem with regards to your comfort and enjoyment. The view over the Upper Clutha Valley is beautiful. There is a play area and a horseshoe rink to keep everyone entertained.

The platters are great value, with plenty of delicious options to fill you up.

Last time we stopped here, we didn't want to move on, it was so good to relax and enjoy the sunny garden over a leisurely lunch with the kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop when travelling between Cromwell and Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

In contrast to another Cromwell restaurant visited on this trip I could not fault the service at the Lazy Dog. The food was great (and we had a couple of fussy eaters in our group) and the wine superb.

This is a great place to sample a range of Central Otago wines.

The views over the Upper Clutha valley and to the St Bathans mountain range are great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best I've ever been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is one brilliant Cafe & Reataurant. And yes - outside the front door is a lazy dog! The menu offers everything from fresh seafood (no sea for 200 miles) to the best land meat you could desire. Service, view, food and atmosphere al lexceptional.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice feel, nice people, nice coffee and nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were amazed to find this lovely place completely empty on a school holiday Sunday lunch time. Great outdoor play area for the kids, the waitress really adapted everything for our kids, choose a table close to the door so they could go in and out as much as they pleased etc. and I noticed she put a couple who arrived at the other end of the restaurant so we wouldn't disturb them :-) They have nice Bravo coffee from Dunedin, and meals were fine. Not sure why it was empty. The cafe also has great views on the lovely surroundings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dunedinite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Dog also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Lazy Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing