We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice motel really friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harvest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Cobram, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice motel really friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a really nice motel with fantastic views of the mountains from the front rooms.
The rooms are large but very cosy and nice
Dinning room was great with good meals.
The one down is that the upkeep was not as good as it could be with the carpets in the halls really tatty, but the service and freindly people more than made up for that.

Room Tip: get a front room, we had the down stairs but a balcony room woud be ok as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaldconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
29
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nerw Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Good service from the front desk and clean and comfortable room. We had a disability room which meant more room and a bigger shower which was great. Tv could do with upgrading though but overall a pleasant stay.

Our room was ground level so we could sit outside and enjoy the air. The only grump was that it was the first hotel I had stayed in that we couldn't dine in the dining room - in this case it was booked out!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Harvest Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your review. Your comment regarding the TV has been noted, an upgrade programme is being implented on all our TVs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

We did not stay at the Golden Gate but we did eat in the dinning room.
The service was good initially and we ordered our first and only round of drinks. About 10 minutes later we ordered our meal, about 10 minutes later we heard a loud disscussion about one of our orders. 30 minutes later we were still waiting on our order and feeling thirsty we tryed to attract the attention of the staff to order another round of drinks. About 15 minutes later our meals arrived, at this stage our 4 year old nephew got down from the table found a jug of ice water and served us with our drinks.

Poor service in the dining room would make me think twice about staying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonGolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Clearly visible fom the main road on the edge of town, this big hotel (by NZ standards) provided a very welcome night's comfort for us. Our room was large and light with double opening doors on to a patio (upstairs rooms have balconies) with a queen bed and double sofa. The decor and furnishings are a bit 1970s, bu everything worked and it was very comfortable. Attached is a public bar, cafe/bar and restaurant, and there are delightful flower-filled gardens. One bonus was the free guest laundry, but a bigger one was the friendliness of the all the staff, from the receptionist to the those in the bars.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed here for one night during a tour in Nov 2009.

The Golde Gate lodge is more of a motel than a hotel. The rooms are spread around in different wings with little courtyards between the wings. Sometimes it was a bit hard to find your way around as some of the doors were locked and some were not.

The room we had was basically OK: fairly big, passable but uninteresting decor and fairly clean. However, the room configuration was really strange: there was a tiny bathroom with a bath and a toilet seat, but the basin was in the room, in the "kitchenette". I found this a bit strange and not too convinient or hygienic. The bathroom was a bit of a let-down: it was small and old, with a loud fan.

Even though the room was basically OK, the disappointment was the service: because of a conference, the main restaurant was closed and the meals served in the bar. It took over 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive and a further half an hour to get our food. The mussels in coconut cream with chilli and coriander were quite nice, but we didn't dare to order dessert as it would probably taken yet another half an hour to come. The dining experience was probably the worst we had in NZ, all due to the slow service. Having a full house of conference guests is no excuse for a conference centre: they should have more staff if they can't run the business with the staff they have. The breakfast was OK: there's a buffet of cerals, toast, coffee and juices and you order your hot breakfast from the staff. Again the food took quite some time, but was OK.

One of the few positive aspects was a reasonably priced internet connection (as opposed to most of the hotels in NZ). We took a stroll in the town after dinner, and noticed that there are quite few accommodation alternatives there, and next time I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

While we did not stay at the Golden Gate Lodge accommodation we visited the Pisa restaurant in mid afternoon. The dinner menu began at 6pm and because this menu was more robust than the lunch time menu we asked the young bar girl if it was possible for the chef to make us something from the dinner menu. No joy there. The young girl said "no way, that can't be done". No apology, or could she suggest something from the lunch menu instead? Or perhaps we might like to come back at 6pm? Two other establishments on our travels throughout the Sth Island had willingly accommodated our request or at least provided us with an apologetic explanation. It was this young girls attitude that we found so appalling. She was more interested in polishing the glasses. Disappointing. What ever happened to customer service?

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondini58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Golden Gate Lodge during a 16 day journey through New Zealand. Of the 9 different places we stayed during the trip, I would place the Golden Gate at the bottom. The room we stayed in was very outdated, the carpet was something akin to gross, and one just had the feeling things weren't all that clean. This is probably the reason you really don't see much in the way of room photos on their web site.

The staff was very pleasant, but otherwise we avoided the entire place with the exception of sleep.

If you are in Cromwell, though - I would HIGHLY recommend the Lazy Dog Cafe (ask for directions). Unlike the motel, the Lazy Dog was at the top of our dining list.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank livn247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.2 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Hotel

Property: Harvest Hotel
Address: Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand (Formerly Golden Gate Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harvest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Harvest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing