We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean”
Review of Lake Dunstan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Dunstan Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Owners very helpful, friendly. Rooms clean, beds new. The location was very quiet, room backed onto a golf course. Bob recommended a restaurant across street that was excellent.(forget name).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral3, Owner at Lake Dunstan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and your meal at our favourite restaurant. Cromwell has a number of "hidden gems" that we like to recommend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

The motel backs onto the golf course, has great views and is quiet. The unit was spacious which made our stay even more comfortable. The owners Laurel & Bob are the perfect hosts and ensured we had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a unit facing the golf course if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NI_Travellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The owners of Lake Dunstan Motel, Laurel & Bob Brent, extend every courtesy to make your trip enjoyable. The unit we stayed in was exceptional; I loved having a full kitchen and appreciated the total glass wall ending our apartment. Imagine having meals outside and feeling like we were the only people staying in this beautifully maintained homelike motel. Our
spectacular view started with a manicured lawn with mature roses gracefully spreading their beauty. We then looked onto an 18 hole golf course with huge trees and well maintained grounds. And, if that is not enough, we had the joy to see mountains framing this lovely view in the background.
Cromwell is known as the "Fruit Bowl of NZ". It's a small college town with friendly people.
It is situated in a long valley that seems to be blessed with consistent sunny days. While we were there a Classic Car Show which netted 700 entry cars came to town. There was also a Competition of different breeds of Sheep Herding dogs. And, we met a group of golfers that have been meeting at this motel for over five years. There were several golf Tournaments.
We highly recommend staying at this delightful place of business.
We also found we were central to our daily "trips" and only 40 mins. from Queenstown.

Room Tip: The end corner unit, where we stayed, has a large glass and window on the side of the unit. It is ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvader1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The owner Bob greeted us warmly and offered us a better located unit due the heat of the day. It was quite lovely. It's garden backed onto Dunstan Golf Course and we had many a friendly banter with golfers teeing off in front of us.. Not until they'd taken their shot, I hasten to add. It was a place we really looked forward to returning at the end of the day. The amenities were excellent, as was the location and proximity to supermarkets and the golf course.
The Wi-Fi was free upto so many MB Can't remember how many, but more than enough for our needs.

Room Tip: Ones backing onto the golf course. Book direct with Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayeuplass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A well-managed, delightful in all respects property! Fresh muffins on arrival, free broadband, beautifully done & spacious rooms. Comfortable chairs & pleasant views toward golf course. Excellent bed. Owners very knowledgeable re area & attractions. Extremely quiet setting with well-planned guest parking. Have stayed here before & loved it then as well as now.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local-knowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent two nights here -- lovely setting, surrounded by golden hills, next to a golf course, with beautifully tended flowers. We got a very warm welcome -- the owners are friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculately clean, quiet, very comfortable beds. Nice small patio out front with table and chairs. Within easy walking distance to the local mall with several dining options, liquor store nearby. And a short drive to the wineries of the Central Otago. We would highly recommend the Lake Dunstan Motel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were shown to our motel unit, which was an awesome welcome as no other venue around the south island greeted us in this manner. We were given muffins (nice touch) and the motel was nice and handy to the mall for dining out. The motel itself was nice and quiet, very modern up to date furnishings, gardens etc, recommend to anyone that wants an awesome experience.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#4 of 9 in Cromwell
135 reviews
11.7 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.6 mi away
Cromwell Motel
Cromwell Motel
#9 of 9 in Cromwell
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Dunstan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Dunstan Motel

Address: 3 Mead Avenue | Cromwell, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: $104 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Dunstan Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spacious studio units set in large grounds, right next to Cromwell golf course. Great views - of golf course and mountains. Very quiet - away from the main road yet just 300 metres from shops, cafes, and restaurants. King or twin beds, separate self-contained kitchen, bathroom, SKY TV (50+ channels with a decoder in every unit just like at home) LED TVs and DVD players. Free DVD library. Free WiFi. Guest laundry. BBQ in garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Dunstan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing