We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our tour in the Cromwell area”
Review of The Nose - CLOSED

The Nose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
“Our tour in the Cromwell area”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a magic and friendly experience, from the young lady ( mother of 4 children )to the waiting staff and chef of the day, all could not have been more helpful and coureous. we found the food to be of very good quality and at a reasonable cost.
Then, of course there is the super motor race track. WOW !!!!
We will certainly try to revisit this place.
Loved the entry way created to look like the staves of a barrell, very clever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experience excellent food & service!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family & I visited this restaurant for dinner with our 22month old son in April & we were amazed at the fantastic food, wine & service. All the staff were so welcoming & accommodating especially towards our son who they attended to with a big toy box as soon as we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble & the food was excellent. We without a doubt will be returning to 'The Nose'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raceymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Could be Fabulous - But Not There Yet!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We first went to The Nose for dinner just a few days after it opened and enjoyed it a lot. The renovation to the building over the last year, especially the outside area, has made it a welcoming spot and it was an ideal place for a lovely alfresco dinner over the summer when you had light and warmth until late in the evening. At that time we were very impressed with both the food and service.

The other night was our first experience inside the restaurant - it's a nice atmosphere inside but it is very noisy as they're all hard surfaces inside with nothing to absorb the noise - thank goodness there weren't so many people when we went there. The menu is not large but they did have a special menu for dinner with 3 or 4 main course options from which we ordered - I guess their main menu is more meant for their daytime operation. The wine list was extensive (all Central Otago wines) but it's a little sad that not much attention has gone into how the wine list has been laid out. I would have expected more from a restaurant that supposedly has a big focus on local wines (and even has a foyer display of all the local wine sub-regions) yet the wine list was simply a list and didn't even have the proper names of the wines displayed correctly on the list.

But the biggest issue is the staff training - or lack of it. They are certainly friendly but don't seem to have much idea about how to serve. We ordered a bottle of wine and it was brought to the table with the cap already removed and then just plonked down - and not even poured. When our mains were brought to the table, the staff walked away and we tried to get the attention of one of them in order to get some salt & pepper but in the end had to walk to the counter and request it. They apparently don't have salt & pepper shakers as yet (but they've been ordered) so the pepper mill that was brought to our table was from the kitchen we were told . No one grinded the pepper for us - it was simply put on the table and alas no salt ever arrived. After main course we tried again to get someone's attention and had to once again get up and go to the main counter again to ask someone if we could place orders for coffee. One of our group wanted tea but it seems they only had a limited selection of 3 teas so they passed.

In terms of food quality, I had the venison for main course (priced at $35) and it was just OK - very unimaginatively plated and fairly small in terms of portion size. We decided not to bother with dessert. When we asked for our bill, we were told to pay at the counter on the way out.

I think one of the issues is that this restaurant hasn't really got its head around the style of restaurant it is. During the day, they serve coffees and counter food and have now introduced some lunch-time options but it operates very much as a cafe - and I think most of the reviews are based on their operation during the day which I've experienced and it's been pretty good. However this review is based on their dinner service and I think with main courses at $35, it really has to step things up and operate with a little more finesse. But there's no excuses for inefficient service regardless. An assessment of a restaurant really must be based on how consistent it is - and sadly at this stage, it's not consistent. One good dinner experience three months ago and then a fairly average meal with some big service issues this time. Perhaps they had new staff (and a change of chef in the kitchen), but whatever it is, these guys have a great venue and a great opportunity. It really wouldn't take much too make this place work really well.

Let's hope the team read their Trip Advisor reviews and smarten things up. We need a good restaurant in this area. The racing track facility Highland Park, where the restaurant is located is world-class - The Nose should (and could be) too! Good luck.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant and staff”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice in February. The service was absolutely fantastic, especially on the Saturday. Our waitress on that day was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we really appreciated her help. The wine tasting from Peter was great. Would really recommend The Nose. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great beginning”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming place. Nice atmosphere. Not much expense spared. Also checked out the race track. Wow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nose also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing