We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home on the road ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Gateway Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Twice in February and once in March 2012 I had the opportunity to stay at the Central Gateway Hotel in Cromwell, South Island. The hosts Dave and Leeza Smith became friends on my first stay and family on my subsequent stays. It was wonderful when Leeza remembered the room that I liked and made sure that I had the same room on subsequent stays. Dave shifted things around so that I had secure parking for my Harley. The rooms are new, spacious and quiet. Each room has a nice outdoor sitting area with a great view of the mountains. Although I didn't use it the motel also has a nice BBQ area in a grassy area adjacent to the motel. Best of all the wireless Internet worked perfectly for Skype calls to my family back in Canada. The internet was reasonably priced (free) and unlike most motel wireless internet in NZ, worked perfectly. The motel is a little off the beaten track in Cromwell but the nice thing is that it is located within easy walking (staggering) distance of a nice pub with good food and great beer. Being able to walk to and from the watering hole is an important consideration when you are traveling by motorcycle. The room rate was quite reasonable for NZ in 2012 although I expect that I got a discount from the posted rate. It will definitely be my home away from home when I am traveling again in that part of NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

This motel has unlimited views of the mountains, and is a stroll to the old town. We breakfasted on the balcony after a fantastic night's sleep in glamorous and comfortable beds with woollen throws. You get a free voucher for the wireless internet and the owners are kind and welcoming. You feel poised on the edge of town.

Room Tip: Go for the studio rooms that are on the high side of the section - the views are great even if the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diorissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Really enjoyable! Were were upgraded to 1st floor room, with full kitchen facilities, the sleeping room was full of sunshine. Received one milk bottle and 100MB internet voucher at check-in. Cromwell itself is a nice little town, with supermarket, petrol station, shopping area and a nice historic center. Will come again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This motel is one of the best we have stayed in. The owners were very friendly and helpful. As we were staying for 3 nights we were upgraded to an upstairs studio. Accommodation was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was a 32" television with Sky channels. Kitchen was well equipped and guest washing machine was free and included washing powder. Washing could be hung outside or drier could be used at a cost of $2. Also received a free daily newspaper and free internet access. The view from our studio was amazing. Would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Upstairs studios have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

we found this motel,extremly well maintained ,and very,very,clean warm,and comfortable,
Good hosts , and everything plus more you would expect
We will be advising other travellers of this excellent accommodation
Thank-you

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This motel is in a quiet location and within walking distance of Cromwell old town and the lake. Room spacious (we had the one next to the garage) and owner/manager really helpful and friendly. Picked it from the AA book because it had free internet. We only stayed one night as we were passing through to Mount Cook. Good value. Away from the main shopping part of town, which is a quick 2-3 minute drive away with good supermarket for stocking up and cooking in the kitchen in the room. Free laundry in the complex.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011travel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed for a week for a photography trip around Otago during the peak of autumn colour recently. The service is excellent and the owners very friendly and accommodating. The room was lovely - modern, clean and tidy with a large bed and large TV plus enough heaters to sink a ship. The rate for the week was very competitive considering how nice the room was. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Gateway Motel

Address: 67-69 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: $90 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a quality stay at an affordable price here at Central Gateway Motel. Qualmark-rated 4-star. We offer free WiFi in our 8 comfortable, fully self-contained units. Our upstairs studios have fantastic views of the hills and a glimpse through to Lake Dunstan. Our downstairs studios and one-bedroom units get lovely afternoon sun and look out to our gardens. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, large LCD TV - the family units have 2 TVs, Super king-size beds and heat pump/air conditioners in most units. Continental breakfasts are available. Central Gateway Motel is situated 300m from Lake Dunstan and Cromwell Historic Precinct, Restaurant/Cafe's and the Cromwell Town & Country Club. The golf course, bowling club and swimming pool are a 3 minute drive. Five ski fields are within one-hour drive. We are members of Hospitality NZ. Visa, Mastercard and EFTPOS accepted. We welcome you on your next visit to Cromwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing