We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly motel”

Colonial Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent a night in Cromwell to explore the region before visiting Queenstown for conference. Tony was very friendly and welcomed us even though we arrived in the morning. The building is not new but is well equipped and the windows were all double glazed which is not always standard in NZ. Next morning we hired bikes for a couple of hours to see around the town which costed only $10 for two of us. It was also the best season to taste fruits; we bought a box of nectarines and peaches to bring back home. Queenstown is always beautiful but is very noisy by foreign tourists at this time of the year so we enjoyed the quiet but fancy township of Cromwell.We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kiwipukupuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. The 2 bikes have proved to be popular with our more active guests and are a good way to see a lot of Cromwell in a relaxed manner. Cromwell is different to Queenstown in many ways and appeals to travellers wanting a more relaxed atmosphere. The lack of hills appeals to many guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
60
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very pleasant stay on a business trip. Tony and wife very friendly and helpful. Unit was nice and clean and well stocked with coffee and the little extras :) And just a two minute walk across the road to supermarket and restaurants. Quiet location too.

Room Tip: Room 3 first night had better bed than room 7 the next night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. The motel is very handy to the shops and restaurants. A lot of our guests like the fact they can park their vehicle and forget about driving.The bed in room 7 is a queen size and the one in 3 is a superking. Both beds have topper pads fittede for extra comfort. We do plan to put a super king into room 7 at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked in here based on previous Trip Advisor reviews but have to admit to being a bit disappointed. We had a good welcome and the managers were very friendly and helpful. However, we felt our unit (6) was let down by a few things - 1. The freezer in the fridge didn't work (this wasn't a surprise to the manager when we mentioned it) 2. The hot water generally wasn't hot enough (we had to boil water in the jug to get the water hot enough to wash the dishes) 3. The soundproofing between our unit and the unit above us was non-existent (we could hear every foot step taken - and there were plenty!) 4. We think the description "fully equipped, modern, self catering kitchen" is a bit excessive when there is no oven - just a hob, microwave and frypan. The unit was clean and well serviced each day and we had a thoroughly enjoyable long weekend in Cromwell and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Try and get a room without another room above it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davidmcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. At this time of the year it is perfect weather to make use of the grounds to eat outside. We have 2 barbeques for guest use and several table and chairs setups which we encourage guests to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We made a last minute decision to travel to Central Otago and managed to find accomodation at Colonial Manor. New and clean room with a well-functioning kitchen. Great hospitality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pphua88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. This is a busy time of the year and we were pleased to welcome you to our part of the world. With the stone fruit season in full swing and several motorsport events at Highlands we have been extra busy this month. Hope you get to come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Immaculately presented rooms and so quiet.I was moved at no extra cost to a downstairs room which was available due to that day being so hot.Price was very fair and reasonable and so close to centre of town.I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plugseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a particularly hot Cromwell summer day and as we weren' t particularly busy we were able to move you. Most things are a short walking distance and that is a feature of the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I were touring NZ from January to March and this was the best motel we
experienced. The facilities,cleanliness,and attention to every detail were perfect. An excellent cooked breakfast was also good value.That is based on NZ costs which with the current exchange rates we found to be expensive everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our property. Our cooked breakfasts are becoming more popular especially as we move into Autumn but we also offer a continental breakfast which is delivered the previous evening which is handy for those guests wanting an early start to their day. We have tried to keep our prices as fair as possible considering we offer a 4 star experience with many extras which our guests appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent one night here in early April and had a very pleasant stay. The people on Reception were very friendly and informative. The Motel room was fine, well equipped and clean and we also got free Wifi. The Motel is situated close to Cromwell Centre so within easy reach of shops and places to eat. Happy to recommend it to others

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our motel. The free Wi-Fi has been very popular with our guests and incidently is available at all Host Accomodation properties throughout NZ. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ and come back one day to see some more of Central Otago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Manor Motel

Property: Colonial Manor Motel
Address: 14 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star quality motel is set in park like grounds with stunning views of the Central Otago landscape. All our spacious units have double glazing for warmth and quietness.The refurbished units are fitted out with large comfortable beds and each room has a new LCD TV with USB and HDMI inputs. You can enjoy your chance to relax and unwind. Sit outside your unit or in the garden in the evening with a glass of fine local wine or cider. Visit one of our excellent local Cromwell or Bannockburn restaurants.Rates include all Taxes.500MB of FREE wifi per room per day.FREE level off street parking outside units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing