We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant”

Colonial Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent one night here in early April and had a very pleasant stay. The people on Reception were very friendly and informative. The Motel room was fine, well equipped and clean and we also got free Wifi. The Motel is situated close to Cromwell Centre so within easy reach of shops and places to eat. Happy to recommend it to others

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our motel. The free Wi-Fi has been very popular with our guests and incidently is available at all Host Accomodation properties throughout NZ. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ and come back one day to see some more of Central Otago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
60
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Little things really do count.. make you feel wanted :) ~ good supply of tea, coffees, hot chocolate.. and a little treat :)
Great to have real milk! (so sick of the little tubs supplied at other places!)
Clean & comfy.
(We stayed in the studio unit..I see comments about a need for a sink... now they have a bin supplied for our convenience :) )
Friendly hosts
Handy to the shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for making the time to post a review. We get a lot of satisfaction from making our rooms as special as we can for our guests and it is great when the extras we provide are appreciated. These days it is all to easy to cut costs wherever possible but we find the little extras help to keep our guests coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights with my wife,very lovely location,and host very helpful,very clean studio unit 5,is nicely set out we note a beautiful set of dishes Were supplied ,but where were we to wash up after using as studio has no cooking facilities ,except microwave,also no sink we had to wash up in handbasin in bathroom studio need a small electric frypan and sink for washing dishes,this is essecial,we purchased small electric frypan to use for cooking breakfast, but overall stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dealer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have taken on board your comments and changed our on line description to make it clearer what the upstairs studio room offers. Unfortunately is not possible due to space configuration to have either a sink or cooking facilities in those 2 less expensive rooms. We can lend guests an electric frypan and have done so in the past. Please just ask ,we are happy to help our guests wherever possible.Hope to see you back at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of December (27 and 28) and found the room and the complex to be absolutely wonderful. The room was spotless and the bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed we've ever slept in! It even beats our brand new bed at home! Attention to detail was spot on - everything had been thought of, right down to the fruit bowl for all the cherries we picked. Motel is within easy walking distance to the shopping village, restaurants (can highly recommend the pizzas at the Golden Gate Hotel which is about a 5 minute walk up the road) and the local pool is just across the road. Lovely garden setting with lots of places to sit in the shade and enjoy a cold drink. At $135 per night for two people, this was excellent value and we'll definitely be back. Thank you so much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you SandraB for your review. The beds, since we added topper pads have created a lot of good feedback and after all a good nights sleep after a hard day of work or play is essential. The cherry season is in full flight at present and many of our guests are enjoying the export quality cherries on offer from the local growers......they are just delicious , straight off the tree! These are followed by apricots,nectarines and plums......Yummm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very clean, well equipped and friendly motel. We stayed in a studio room which was a generous size, had a very comfortable beds and was nice and quiet. Highly recommend staying here if you come to Cromwell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulipsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this positive review. Xmas/New Year has been a happy and busy time for us and we have really enjoyed the feed back from our guests who all seem to have enjoyed their stay with us in the recently refurbished rooms. This upgrade program will continue through 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Motel was clean. We stayed in room 10 was really large with lots of places to put your luggage, work on your computer, etc. Microwave, stove top, dishes, silverware, cooking utensils, fridge, free internet for one hour. I assume all rooms are similar. Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.The free wifi access has proved to be very popular and we have found that the free 100MB is enough for the majority of guests to catch up on emails from home or work.You are correct in that all our units have a generous workspace and a built in space to put luggage. We hope you enjoyed your trip around NZ and come back our way again.We are confident you will find more to discover around Cromwell and Central Otago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Colonial Manor is the most expensive motel we booked in our trip. The expensive I mean is not really expensive ,we paid 175NZ$ per night for 4 adults. The self contained we unit we had was spacious, so bright ,so clean and a modern kitchen!!! We just loved it. We saw many flowers outside from the kitchen windows..we felt like HOME!!
Tony the host a very kind man. Fully recommended motel in Cromwell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyliulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Jenny spends many hours in our gardens and the lupins outside unit 15 are looking very spectacular right now as do the roses arond the property. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the South Island and hope to see you back our way one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Manor Motel

Property: Colonial Manor Motel
Address: 14 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star quality motel is set in park like grounds with stunning views of the Central Otago landscape. All our spacious units have double glazing for warmth and quietness.The refurbished units are fitted out with large comfortable beds and each room has a new LCD TV with USB and HDMI inputs. You can enjoy your chance to relax and unwind. Sit outside your unit or in the garden in the evening with a glass of fine local wine or cider. Visit one of our excellent local Cromwell or Bannockburn restaurants.Rates include all Taxes.500MB of FREE wifi per room per day.FREE level off street parking outside units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing