We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Cromwell”

Colonial Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Manor Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of December (27 and 28) and found the room and the complex to be absolutely wonderful. The room was spotless and the bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed we've ever slept in! It even beats our brand new bed at home! Attention to detail was spot on - everything had been thought of, right down to the fruit bowl for all the cherries we picked. Motel is within easy walking distance to the shopping village, restaurants (can highly recommend the pizzas at the Golden Gate Hotel which is about a 5 minute walk up the road) and the local pool is just across the road. Lovely garden setting with lots of places to sit in the shade and enjoy a cold drink. At $135 per night for two people, this was excellent value and we'll definitely be back. Thank you so much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you SandraB for your review. The beds, since we added topper pads have created a lot of good feedback and after all a good nights sleep after a hard day of work or play is essential. The cherry season is in full flight at present and many of our guests are enjoying the export quality cherries on offer from the local growers......they are just delicious , straight off the tree! These are followed by apricots,nectarines and plums......Yummm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very clean, well equipped and friendly motel. We stayed in a studio room which was a generous size, had a very comfortable beds and was nice and quiet. Highly recommend staying here if you come to Cromwell.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulipsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post this positive review. Xmas/New Year has been a happy and busy time for us and we have really enjoyed the feed back from our guests who all seem to have enjoyed their stay with us in the recently refurbished rooms. This upgrade program will continue through 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Motel was clean. We stayed in room 10 was really large with lots of places to put your luggage, work on your computer, etc. Microwave, stove top, dishes, silverware, cooking utensils, fridge, free internet for one hour. I assume all rooms are similar. Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.The free wifi access has proved to be very popular and we have found that the free 100MB is enough for the majority of guests to catch up on emails from home or work.You are correct in that all our units have a generous workspace and a built in space to put luggage. We hope you enjoyed your trip around NZ and come back our way again.We are confident you will find more to discover around Cromwell and Central Otago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Colonial Manor is the most expensive motel we booked in our trip. The expensive I mean is not really expensive ,we paid 175NZ$ per night for 4 adults. The self contained we unit we had was spacious, so bright ,so clean and a modern kitchen!!! We just loved it. We saw many flowers outside from the kitchen windows..we felt like HOME!!
Tony the host a very kind man. Fully recommended motel in Cromwell.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyliulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Jenny spends many hours in our gardens and the lupins outside unit 15 are looking very spectacular right now as do the roses arond the property. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the South Island and hope to see you back our way one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thanks so much to Jenny we had a bad week at home but our stay at your motel made a bad week good, top spot and would recommend to anyone we stayed last Saturday night the weather was not great but the motel helped fix that we have stayed at other motels and hotels in Cromwell but the colonial is the best by far Dave and Sue

Room Tip: Top floor is the one grat views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Owner at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks Sue for your feedback. Our upstairs units (11 and 12 )are very cosy and private . We find many of our guests who stay in them just close the door and shut out the rest of the world. The spacious room, private balcony, cooking facilities and large spa bath make it an ideal retreat. Sue I hope life sorts itself out for you and Dave. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have just returned to UK and not for the first time stayed at the Colonial Manor, the fourth in fact in five years.
This time we booked for two nights and stayed six. Colonial Manor is well appointed and very comfortable and located in quiet surroundings. The manager and his wife went out of their way to make us extremely welcome, no doubt we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you Rodney for posting such a positive review. We enjoy your company as knowledgable and enthusiastic tourists to our part of the world. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit downunder in NZ and we do hope to see you both back our way in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed two nights at the great motel, Of all the motels I have stayed at over the last 12 years this would have to be the best, great location, great helpful staff, and the best rooms I have stayed in.
Every thing close at hand. The bed was soooo good
I will be going back again, and recommend to others
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be great we had room one which was so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you Phil for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the comments on the beds. We place special care on bed comfort as we have travelled a lot ourselves and a good sleep is a priority at a motel for the majority of guests especially business guests. Hope to see you on your next visit to Central Otago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
79 reviews
0 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.7 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Manor Motel

Address: 14 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: $109 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star quality motel is set in park like grounds with stunning views of the Central Otago landscape. All our spacious units have double glazing for warmth and quietness.The refurbished units are fitted out with large comfortable beds and each room has a new LCD TV with USB and HDMI inputs. You can enjoy your chance to relax and unwind. Sit outside your unit or in the garden in the evening with a glass of fine local wine or cider. Visit one of our excellent local Cromwell or Bannockburn restaurants.Rates include all Taxes.500MB of FREE wifi per room per day.FREE level off street parking outside units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing