We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly excellent service & spacious rooms”

Colonial Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Manor Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Called in on our way through gorgeous Central Otago & found this spacious accomodation at a very good reduced price. Friendly helpful owners who worked the whole time we were there, offered help with everything around the area. All the little extra's around the spacious, fully equipped motel room & large bathroom with everything you could ask. Large laundry right next to us was wonderful ~ better than the 5 stars we had stayed in as we really had everything we wanted, quiet despite being close to busy roads ~ and some 'Hobbit's Crew' were staying there during filming!! Comfy beds, linen & fluffy towels nice. Thanks for the stay!

Room Tip: Have a quick look at amenities like cooking & laundry (& dryers!) if you have a chance. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you AlisonH for your kind comments We do try to look after our guests needs and it is lovely when that work is appreciated. We trust you will come for another vacation in our neck of the woods some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank pete255118
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have just completed a very happy seven night stay at the Colonial Manor, Cromwell.The purpose of our stay was a family wedding plus exploring the beautiful Central Otago region. Jenny & Tony and their staff made us feel at home the whole time, very friendly and helpful. By staying in one motel rather than moving around we realised we had a far more relaxed holiday and actually got to know the area better this way. Thank you very much Jenny & Tony.
Jan & Jamie, Feilding NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieA579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you Jamie for your kind comments . It was a pleasure to host you and we are delighted we were able to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

A well laid out studio unit on the ground floor, well maintained and provided all we needed at a good nightly rate. Clearly the owners are focused on providing a quality service to their visitors.
The motel is situated close to the new shopping mall, isite and other amenities.
Wifi service was included in the room rate (with a reasonable upper limit on usage). The unit was very clean: the bed was comfortable: it was quiet and we got a good nights sleep: the bathroom was well laid out and the shower operated well: it had all the extras we needed, and more.
The hosts provided helpful advice on restaurants etc
A recommended stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you David for your positive comments on our establishment. We are very focussed on a quality experience for our guests and thrive on the generally appreciative responses we get. The 100MB free wifi has been a sucess in that it is enough for most people to keep in touch with families and friends whilst they are away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a well set out studio unit which included full kitchen facilities. Very spacious, clean and tidy. Friendly, helpful management. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabstash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. You are correct ,Cromwell is very different to Queenstown and being so central in Central Otago has a lot to offer the traveller that wishes to explore the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

After fleeing Christchurch (escaping from yet another swarm of earthquakes) we stayed at the Colonial Manor for two nights. We were in need of sleep and so were looking for somewhere quiet. It delivered exactly what we were looking for - a clean, well laid out and set up motel room that was very quiet and away from the road. The bed was comfortable, it had a good shower and the kitchen contained all that you needed for a couple of nights.

Cromwell may not be Queenstown but it is a fantastic location to base yourself. It is an easy drive to many day trip destinations. It is also the pick of locations if you want to do some mountain biking. Queenstown, Wanaka and Alexandra offer fantastic options and are all very easy to get to if you stay in Cromwell.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a very warm and spacious room with all the amenities we required.
A very pleasant break in a beautiful part of the country.
We would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a great experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorborn, Owner at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thankyou for your positive review. Cromwell, at the center of Central Otago is a very lovely part of New Zealand and we love to try and help our guests to enjoy it to the fullest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cromwell Motel
Cromwell Motel
#9 of 9 in Cromwell
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Manor Motel

Address: 14 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: $102 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star quality motel is set in park like grounds with stunning views of the Central Otago landscape. All our spacious units have double glazing for warmth and quietness.The refurbished units are fitted out with large comfortable beds and each room has a new LCD TV with USB and HDMI inputs. You can enjoy your chance to relax and unwind. Sit outside your unit or in the garden in the evening with a glass of fine local wine or cider. Visit one of our excellent local Cromwell or Bannockburn restaurants.Rates include all Taxes.500MB of FREE wifi per room per day.FREE level off street parking outside units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Colonial Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing