We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible coffees”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of A Drop of Red - CLOSED

A Drop of Red
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A Drop of Red is unique and although we are passionate about the grape, we are so much more than just wine. A combination European bistro, coffee shop, cozy cafe and wine lovers den, A Drop of Red offers simple great-tasting food and drink all day and is a wonderful choice for breakfast, lunch, coffee and dessert, business meetings, functions and romantic rendezvous.We open at 9am daily for beautiful home-cooked breakfast (American waffles, French toast, numerous Benedict-tions) and lunch options, a large selection of desserts (many ice cream pies and cakes), great coffee and tea - but most of all, we offer a warm and friendly atmosphere.The widest selection of Central Otago wines anywhere on the planet is behind our counter. We are devoted to wine and encourage exploration into the numerous worlds of Central Otago pinots. Therefore, our philosophy is simple: in addition to the wines always offered by the glass, any bottle of wine in the bistro will be opened if two glasses are purchased. This results in an ever-changing "blackboard" of individual wine options. You never know what will be on offer, day-to-day. We also serve drops of white, and beer - and of course a wide selection of non-alcoholic drinks.Set in rustic surroundings, tucked away behind the trees, our "wee cottage" is intended to be a comfortable and casual home away from home. Our seating offers privacy and comfort. We invite you to relax reading a book or magazine, play a game of Scrabble or Backgammon, escape into the view from the veranda or outdoor area - all while enjoying your time with us.Now home to the Cromwell Film Society, our "cinema" is cozy, an almost just-like-home experience - but better! Doors open at 7pm for a "supper club" of film-inspired meals, wine, popcorn etc. Films are shown every two to three weeks, a diverse selection spanning different genres. You must not be a member to buy a ticket, the cinema is open to anyone and everyone.A Drop of Red is honoured to have been accepted to carry the Central Otago brand as an ambassador for the region. We choose to live here and are proud to be part of this wonderful world of difference.
Cromwell, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible coffees”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ordered 2 coffees, a fluffy and a chai. The fluffy was so hot that even after 30 mins my daughter could not drink it and it arrived with no foam. The coffees also tastes off due to the milk being overheated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ropeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am sorry you did not like your coffees. I did ask you after serving if everything was alright and you answered yes. That would have been the chance to say that the coffee was too hot, or the fluffy not right, or any other multitude of replies. Instead you did indeed drink all of your orders (except for the fluffy), and left without saying goodbye. It is not my place to argue about temperatures of milk as you have your opinion. I will only say that we have numerous regulars - and tourists - who consider our coffees some of the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We love this place! It's our number one choice for a lunch stop on route from Dunedin to Queenstown. Great value for money with lovely, tasty light lunches, good coffee and a nice selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.

This time round I had the chicken pot with bread, which was just what I needed at that time. The Green Man Brewery alcoholic ginger beer hit the spot as well! A sense of total relaxation overcame me - I could have stayed for longer (and have given in to the temptation of the peanut butter cup dessert).

Love that this place is different from other eateries in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stannors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for frequenting us and we look forward to you stopping in again. We are happy that you feel at home and comfortable - that is what it is all about! All the best, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Always a warm welcome here, lovely surroundings, especially in summer and autumn when you can sit out in garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe. It is a joy to serve locals and we welcome you anytime you wish to stop by! Cheers pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
1 review
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A great wee find for wine and food hedonists .Cosy ,interesting memorabilia ,warm on a cold day and very friendly .All meals were well presented ,very nourishing and filling.Wine matches were spot on .Definitely on our Central Otago to do list .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vknowQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Loved seeing you here - especially knowing how hard it is for you to get away! Thanks so much for your kind words and look forward to seeing you whenever you find time to head our way! All the best! pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

At last a place unique and a cut above the others.
Drove from Wanaka to sample yet again the delicious foods wine and tea.
The setting is fabulous and very cosy and comfortable.
Each time I am in the area I will always make time to call in.
The apple strudel is fantastic.
Have recommended this wonderful place to many and everyone loves it.
Definitely NOT the average kiwi lemington and sausage roll establishment.
The wines are superb and so is the service

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oarsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
What a joy to read such a positive review and I thank you much for that. We are different than normal cafes and while some have trouble understanding us, it is so fulfilling to find customers who enjoy the atmosphere we are creating. Thank you for your PR work, look forward to greeting you again. Cheers, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Drop of Red also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing