We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Drop of Fabulous”
Review of A Drop of Red - CLOSED

A Drop of Red
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A Drop of Red is unique and although we are passionate about the grape, we are so much more than just wine. A combination European bistro, coffee shop, cozy cafe and wine lovers den, A Drop of Red offers simple great-tasting food and drink all day and is a wonderful choice for breakfast, lunch, coffee and dessert, business meetings, functions and romantic rendezvous.We open at 9am daily for beautiful home-cooked breakfast (American waffles, French toast, numerous Benedict-tions) and lunch options, a large selection of desserts (many ice cream pies and cakes), great coffee and tea - but most of all, we offer a warm and friendly atmosphere.The widest selection of Central Otago wines anywhere on the planet is behind our counter. We are devoted to wine and encourage exploration into the numerous worlds of Central Otago pinots. Therefore, our philosophy is simple: in addition to the wines always offered by the glass, any bottle of wine in the bistro will be opened if two glasses are purchased. This results in an ever-changing "blackboard" of individual wine options. You never know what will be on offer, day-to-day. We also serve drops of white, and beer - and of course a wide selection of non-alcoholic drinks.Set in rustic surroundings, tucked away behind the trees, our "wee cottage" is intended to be a comfortable and casual home away from home. Our seating offers privacy and comfort. We invite you to relax reading a book or magazine, play a game of Scrabble or Backgammon, escape into the view from the veranda or outdoor area - all while enjoying your time with us.Now home to the Cromwell Film Society, our "cinema" is cozy, an almost just-like-home experience - but better! Doors open at 7pm for a "supper club" of film-inspired meals, wine, popcorn etc. Films are shown every two to three weeks, a diverse selection spanning different genres. You must not be a member to buy a ticket, the cinema is open to anyone and everyone.A Drop of Red is honoured to have been accepted to carry the Central Otago brand as an ambassador for the region. We choose to live here and are proud to be part of this wonderful world of difference.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Drop of Fabulous”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you're looking for great food and a really relaxing atmosphere this is the place to go From the warm welcome by the neighbours cat the experience just got better... The best chunky tomato soup EVER! Save space for desert... you're not going to need too much convincing to indulge! Retro decore, log fire, great host and scattering of books and mags to read over whislt enjoying your fantastic coffee, makes A Drop of Red little haven to while away the time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jjohnson1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Truly loved having you and many thanks for the kind words. We will do our best to keep up the "standard" for your future visits!! Cheers, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Retro”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's a nice place. service was great. My friend desert was not hot enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sting1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for stopping by. I am sorry the dessert was not at correct temperature as palates are different. We make it a point of always asking how the meal is going after we serve you and if she would have mentioned this, is would have been no problem to reheat it. Still, we hope to see you again. Cheers, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargil, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming and tasty food”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

3 of us had a lovely evening meal at this snug cafe/restaurant. The food was tasty and "home made" (although portions weren't large). It was a cold night out but we were very warm by the fire and the atmosphere was certainly welcoming and warm. The wine list was excellent and the desserts extra especially good.
I didn't particularly enjoy drinking my water from an Agee jam jar, but that was the only thing about the entire place that I didn't absolutely adore!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brettsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Many thanks for your visit and we enjoyed welcoming you. Indeed, our "signature experience" does include Agee water "glasses" but we do have a large selection of other glasses for those who don't feel like that much quirkiness. I hope we made up for it with our fine Italian stemware for the wine and look forward to serving you again in the future. Cheers, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly excellent food and wine stop!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you enjoy wine, this is the place for you!
After a quick call, they stayed open for my partners birthday. When we arrived the table was decked out with "Happy Birthday" décor. We realised when we arrived that this was all for us as they were on the verge of closing doors for the night. Excellent started of extremely tasty bread and olives, followed by the most delicious lamb roll (think sausage roll with lamb but twice as big!) I have ever had and finished with a scrumptious home made chocolate slice.
The icing on the cake was the exceptional wine knowledge, matching us perfectly with the most exquisite Pinot Noir. The wine is expensive compared to a supermarket but you simply can not compare these choices of wine! We drank Coal Pit Pinot Noir 2008, simply, the best I have EVER tasted!

Thank you so much for making my partners birthday a night to remember!

They went the extra mile and it will be well remembered!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
It was a joy to help celebrate the occasion and we actually looked forward to doing so. Was absolutely no problem to stay open, that is what we are here for! And I have forwarded the kudos on to Coal Pit and they were very happy indeed. We are glad you returned home safely and perhaps we will see each other again sometime. Thank you for spending time with us. Cheers, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy, homy place with lovely food and friendly owners”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by the homy welcome, the wonderful wines and the nice chats we had with the owners while enjoying our cheese platter and our venison goulash. Strongly recommend it - don't expect the usual touristy place - just enjoy

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ploticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aDoRBistro, Owner at A Drop of Red, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are so glad you felt at home, that is the whole point of relaxing and joining us! Hope you can come back again some time just to enjoy and relax. All the best, pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Drop of Red also viewed

 
Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing