We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice, staff are ok if you speak slowly and point to the menu”

Cromwell Brew House
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Cromwell
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Looks nice, staff are ok if you speak slowly and point to the menu”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Place looks great, they have really tried to create atmosphere and full marks for that. Did not really like the music video channel up so loud, I am sure that this is for the owners benefit and the youg girls behind the bar. (assuming that the group outside with the young child were somehow related to the bar ownership.... they kept wandering behind the bar)

Ordering food and drink was a hit and miss affair, if you ask for what is on the menu, they understand, if you try to describe how you want your steak done....... they do not understand, you should have seen the blood pouring out of my friends "medium" steak!!!! Also, check if we want refills to our drinks during the meal.

Staff training needed, just cute local girls employed because they are cute does not work folks.

potentially great atmosphere and would be amazing if they just trained the staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolyon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    37
    10
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't you cook a steak”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have eaten here before but not again, ordered the ribeye steak medium specified pink not red. Well half of it was fine but the rest red and bleeding. When the plares were collected I told the waitress I was not happy with the steak. On paying the bill I again said I was not happy only to be told that thats what you get with the meat closer to the bone. They charged me full wack no discount. Well I will go somewhere else next time

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara-iti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its a pub”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It is what ypu would expect a pub to be, pool table, pokies, TAB and a bar. but down the back there is a nice wee lounge area with a fire and that is just what I was looking for that day. Hung out to kill a couple of hours, was just what the Dr ordered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarterTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great eatery”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is also just a 2 minute walk from the motel, absolutely superb meals at very very reasonable prices, I recommend all travellers go have a meal or a nice chilling speights (beer) or wine outside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug-aus2010
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect pub meal!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Was surprised to see the not so nice reviews posted by previous patrons as I am yet to experience bad service or food at the pub. We enjoyed a few meals here on our recent visit to Cromwell and couldn't fault the food. Large meals with lots of veg and the service was quick!
The pub was walking distance from our motel so the location could not have been better. Will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug-aus2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cromwell Brew House also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 
Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Cromwell Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing