We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burn Cottage Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Anderson Park Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Gateway Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrick Lodge Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Manor Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Dunstan Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Collection Lake Resort Cromwell(Pisa Moorings)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromwell Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$91
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$105
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinross Cottages(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$217
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvest Hotel(Cromwell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
91
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain bikeslovely place to spendvegetable gardenhighly recommend it to anyonequiet luxurycoffee tablefully equipped kitchenlarge bedroomsconesreturn triplovely hostsliving areabeautiful gardenseveral yearsstayed nightsobliging hostsperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 95 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our very favorite home away from home in the entire world. The gorgeous gardens, beautiful cottages, warm greeting, perfect location - Burn Cottages is a must for anyone traveling in this part of the world. Were it not for the lure of the many wineries in the area, we would never have wanted to leave the property. We stayed two nights (February 2014) in the Moonlight Cottage, and wish we could stay longer. For any who travel the wine regions of the world, Central Otago is a must-visit. And Burn Cottage Retreat is the place you need to stay while here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AxisOfBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Wow, what wonderful praise - thank you so very much for taking time to write a review for us. We just love it when guests enjoy our cottages and are able to relax and unwind, especially with a bottle of the fabulous local wines. You might be interested to know we have a film crew here filming our cottages for a TV food and wine show about the region, so that is a really exciting development for us - details will be posted on Facebook later in the year - hope you are able to watch! We look forward to welcoming you back again some time. Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found Rose & Phil to be the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful without being obtrusive at all. The cottages really are the perfect location to chill out and relax, whilst fitting in some vineyard tastings. We took the opportunity to soak up some sun in the privacy of our gardens, getting an odd visit from Meg the dog and some hedgehogs. We had BBQs both nights we stayed, Rose gave us some delicious venison burgers to enjoy which were delicious - thank you both. I only wish we could come back some time soon - you never know!

Room Tip: We stayed in both Rascal and Moonlight and both were fantastic.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiJim_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely meeting you both and we so enjoyed watching you enjoying our facilities and relaxing. So glad you enjoyed the venison burgers - they are a wonderful treat and we do enjoy sharing the bountry of the land and garden with guests. In fact, as I write, Phil is cooking up a storm in the kitchen in the form of a beautiful venison casserole to share with guests this evening. Looking forward to your next visit. With kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2014 and we highly recommend this cottage. We stayed in the "Rascal" cottage, which was beautifully designed, with an incredibly comfortable bed, all the amenities you could want in the kitchen, lovely swathes of lavender just outside the door and even your own BBQ.
I think what sets Burn Cottage apart though, is all the attention to detail that Rose and Phil have put into the place. From the very friendly greeting, to the fresh walnuts from their own tree, the absolutely delightful gardens, the use of bikes available, the picnic blankets and picnic hamper available to lounge around on their lovely lawns, the petanque court.
We would highly recommend anyone visiting the Cromwell area to use this as your base, and try to stay at least 3 nights (as we did) to get the maximum relaxation out of it!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Rascal" which was lovely, but to be honest, the other cottages also looked fab!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you J878 for your lovely comments. It was so nice meeting you both and watching you enjoy the cottage and the Burn Cottage Retreat environment. This week we have Scottish guests staying who have had a wonderful time sunbathing on the lawn right beside the lavender, then having a BBQ dinner, complete with fresh vegies from the guest garden, in the evening sunshine. We just love watching scenes like that!! We look forward to having you back for a return visit. Kindest regards and thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

You really have to experience one of the cottages, the beautiful woodland - as well as manicured gardens, and the generous but unobtrusive hospitality that is Burn Cottage Retreat! Situated on a country road, it is nevertheless 10 minutes from nearly 25 wonderful Cromwell and Bannockburn wineries = this is the ideal place to stay to explore the wineries, taste the most amazing pinot noirs (as well as flinty rieslings, austere sauvignon blancs and some lovely roses). The hosts, Rose and Phil have created a magical place to relax from a "hard day" of tasting, and have organised everything you need.

Room Tip: "Rascal" and "Moonlight" cottages accommodate one couple each. They are nearly identical and lovely.Each has a deck, BBQ and is comfy throughout.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJBSHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you EJBSHJ for taking the time to review our cottages. We are so pleased we were able to cater to your needs after all the hard work you put in tasting wines in the region! We now have an exciting new development - a stone schist two bedroomed home situated right in the middle of a vineyard and just 8km from Cromwell township so the perfect spot for groups of 4 to 6 people wanting to experience the wineries then enjoy home comforts in a vineyard setting. Best regards to you all and thanks again for staying at Burn Cottage Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant cottages full of ambience inside and out in the natural garden surroundings. Peaceful and beautiful amenities add to the overall experience. Not least are the wonderful hosts who are committed to your relaxation. We will be back and recommend this retreat to anyone seeking a change from the run of mill accommodation normally on offer.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChristchurchStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here. We also hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you back again for some relaxation next time!! Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews