We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burn Cottage Retreat
Christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The perfect place to stay if you want somewhere quiet and genuinely lovely. We stayed in one of the self-contained cottages, which was "just right" for us - the right size, a beautiful private bit of garden. Just easy to be in and a delight. We saw mostly Rose who is the perfect hostess (have I used "perfect" to many times?).

They also do Bed and Breakfast - which this is NOT. Self-catering which means you have a real sense of being alone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FutureTravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to write a review - we do appreciate it. Wouldn't describe myself as perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but delighted you enjoyed your time here. A lot of our guests prefer the privacy of the self contained cottages and for those wanting to be pampered a little more, we do offer the Bed and Breakfast option in the house. We look forward to welcoming you back again some time. Have a wonderful holiday season. Kindest regards and thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
436 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Burn Cottage was the highlight of our four weeks in New Zealand. Rose and Phil took their skills in building and gardening and created a true retreat. Clean, quiet and convenient to all of Central Otago (especially the vineyards!). We were treated to a spacious retreat at the end of our busy days. If you want to just 'get away' I cannot image a better setting. Everything is perfect. Our cottage was impeccable and well stocked. Rose provided us with daily breakfast provisions and surprise treats. Their setting reminds one of living in the midst of a botanical garden. We are ready to go back!

Room Tip: There are NO bad choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we love it when guests enjoy their stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our guest vegetable garden is producing lovely fresh salad vegies now and the roses are blooming in abundance - wish you were here to see, it is quite a sight. With kindest regards to you both and have a wonderful Christmas and holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

When some quiet time-out is required it would be hard to beat a stay at Burn Cottage Retreat. The setting in amongst gorgeous trees & gardens carefully & diligently maintained by Rose & Phil is very special, and the featured Hosta gardens are stunning to see en masse. The cottages are very modern, clean & comfortable. Secluded patio areas to sit with a wine (or cup of tea!) are a delight. The hosts are friendly & caring, giving generously of their time.
The town of Cromwell is 3kms away which is only a 5 minute drive. Bicycles are provided if you want to cruise down to the lake or take the healthy option into town. Cromwell is well situated amongst some of NZ's best vineyards, most of which offer tastings, and some have a restaurant attached. Cromwell has adequate shopping and many cafes and restaurants.
All in all, Burn Cottage Retreat has so much to offer for those wanting a touch of quiet luxury in the countryside, with the lure of civilisation not far away. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: They are all lovely and of a similar design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to see you again and look forward to welcoming you again. The gardens look even better since your visit as all the roses, paeonies and lavender are coming into bloom. You may be interested to learn that since you stayed, we have been working with a local company to find ways to boost our WIFI capabilities and keep free internet available for our guests. It's never simple, but we think we have found a solution which meets everyone's needs. (Ideally we hope our guests will be so relaxed in this environment they won't want to even think about technology!!) Kindest regards to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay in Burn Cottage Retreat was so nice that we altered our plans to stay another night. The cottage we had, one of three, was carefully thought out and constructed to so high a standard that we were amazed to learn that Rose and Phil Quested had designed and built the cottages themselves without professional help. Virtually every normal requirement of visitors has been anticipated in detail and provided for, creating a model of B&B hospitality. And the setting in a sizeable garden among adjacent hills is beautiful. During our Spring visit, the garden was literally buzzing with bees and various birds sang their songs. A kotare (sacred kingfisher) was starting to excavate a nesting burrow in a tree stump behind our cottage.

Room Tip: WiFi does not yet reach the cottages furthest from the main house. However it works near and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and for staying with us. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you (and your hospitality!) and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The kingfisher delights us with his call on a daily basis and the ducks and quail are nesting nearby also so it's a busy time in the garden! Pleased to report our technology guru arrives this week to sort out the WIFI so hopefully any problems will be rectified and full free WIFI coverage provided to all cottages. Hope the rest of your NZ holiday was wonderful. Warmest regards to you both - Rose and Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waimate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

An amazing place to stay if you appreciate peaceful surroundings, a wonderful garden, superb facilities and great hosts. We'll definitely be back. Thank you Rose and Phil for sharing the results of all your hard work with us. You have created something very special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review. The gardens are looking even better now with all the spring and early summer flowers blooming. We are constantly developing new gardens and our petanque court is now operational too. The summer vegies have just been planted so summer guests will have access to lettuces, carrots, tomatoes etc and we are already enjoying the asparagus! Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy cottage in a beautiful garden location. Immaculate condition. Well equipped. We really enjoyed being able to eat in and 'self cater' after a few nights of eating out. Nice breakfast provided next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review - we do appreciate you taking the time to do so. Really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and wish you were here now to help us eat all the fresh vegies we have grown - pumpkins, cabbages, brussel sprouts, celeriac, parsnips, carrots etc ... and we are busy collecting walnuts too. Feel like squirrels putting away our goodies for winter! We look forward to welcoming you back again some day. Best regards, Rose and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Burn Cottage Retreat is a tranquil haven of peace and tranquillity in a magical garden setting. . . . perfect to recharge your batteries and soothe the soul!
Rascal Cottage at Burn Cottage Retreat had been on our 'Wish List' for several years after chancing across it on the internet, so our four night stay was a dream come true. The cottages, the hosts and the setting exceeded our expectations. Simply perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stunningnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are delighted your time with us exceeded expectations - we aim to please our guests and our peaceful surroundings certainly help us achieve that! We have been busy building new gardens and making improvements - hoping to build a petanque court for guests over the winter so it will be up and running by spring. You will have to come back and test it for us ... kindest regards to you both and we look forward to having you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
3.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
22.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
13.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burn Cottage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burn Cottage Retreat

Property: Burn Cottage Retreat
Address: 168 Burn Cottage Road | RD 2, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We'd love to have you stay in one of our three boutique, private and romantic self contained cottages. Our accommodation is secluded and quiet, nestled amidst a walnut grove and spectacular tussock, woodland and hosta gardens, 3km from Cromwell and Lake Dunstan. Surrounded by wineries and orchards, we are centrally located for exploring the Queenstown, Wanaka, Mt Cook, Southland and Fiordland regions. We offer guests free mountain bikes (subject to availability), WIFI and laundry facilities. Each cottage has a King bed, en-suite bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen and lounge area. Our spacious accommodation is suitable for mature couples who enjoy the finer things in life and wish to relax in beautiful, tranquil surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burn Cottage Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing