We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want to treat yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Burn Cottage Retreat
Reviewed November 7, 2013

When some quiet time-out is required it would be hard to beat a stay at Burn Cottage Retreat. The setting in amongst gorgeous trees & gardens carefully & diligently maintained by Rose & Phil is very special, and the featured Hosta gardens are stunning to see en masse. The cottages are very modern, clean & comfortable. Secluded patio areas to sit with a wine (or cup of tea!) are a delight. The hosts are friendly & caring, giving generously of their time.
The town of Cromwell is 3kms away which is only a 5 minute drive. Bicycles are provided if you want to cruise down to the lake or take the healthy option into town. Cromwell is well situated amongst some of NZ's best vineyards, most of which offer tastings, and some have a restaurant attached. Cromwell has adequate shopping and many cafes and restaurants.
All in all, Burn Cottage Retreat has so much to offer for those wanting a touch of quiet luxury in the countryside, with the lure of civilisation not far away. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: They are all lovely and of a similar design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunedinKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to see you again and look forward to welcoming you again. The gardens look even better since your visit as all the roses, paeonies and lavender are coming into bloom. You may be interested to learn that since you stayed, we have been working with a local company to find ways to boost our WIFI capabilities and keep free internet available for our guests. It's never simple, but we think we have found a solution which meets everyone's needs. (Ideally we hope our guests will be so relaxed in this environment they won't want to even think about technology!!) Kindest regards to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay in Burn Cottage Retreat was so nice that we altered our plans to stay another night. The cottage we had, one of three, was carefully thought out and constructed to so high a standard that we were amazed to learn that Rose and Phil Quested had designed and built the cottages themselves without professional help. Virtually every normal requirement of visitors has been anticipated in detail and provided for, creating a model of B&B hospitality. And the setting in a sizeable garden among adjacent hills is beautiful. During our Spring visit, the garden was literally buzzing with bees and various birds sang their songs. A kotare (sacred kingfisher) was starting to excavate a nesting burrow in a tree stump behind our cottage.

Room Tip: WiFi does not yet reach the cottages furthest from the main house. However it works near and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and for staying with us. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you (and your hospitality!) and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The kingfisher delights us with his call on a daily basis and the ducks and quail are nesting nearby also so it's a busy time in the garden! Pleased to report our technology guru arrives this week to sort out the WIFI so hopefully any problems will be rectified and full free WIFI coverage provided to all cottages. Hope the rest of your NZ holiday was wonderful. Warmest regards to you both - Rose and Phil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

An amazing place to stay if you appreciate peaceful surroundings, a wonderful garden, superb facilities and great hosts. We'll definitely be back. Thank you Rose and Phil for sharing the results of all your hard work with us. You have created something very special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to write a review. The gardens are looking even better now with all the spring and early summer flowers blooming. We are constantly developing new gardens and our petanque court is now operational too. The summer vegies have just been planted so summer guests will have access to lettuces, carrots, tomatoes etc and we are already enjoying the asparagus! Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy cottage in a beautiful garden location. Immaculate condition. Well equipped. We really enjoyed being able to eat in and 'self cater' after a few nights of eating out. Nice breakfast provided next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for writing a review - we do appreciate you taking the time to do so. Really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and wish you were here now to help us eat all the fresh vegies we have grown - pumpkins, cabbages, brussel sprouts, celeriac, parsnips, carrots etc ... and we are busy collecting walnuts too. Feel like squirrels putting away our goodies for winter! We look forward to welcoming you back again some day. Best regards, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Burn Cottage Retreat is a tranquil haven of peace and tranquillity in a magical garden setting. . . . perfect to recharge your batteries and soothe the soul!
Rascal Cottage at Burn Cottage Retreat had been on our 'Wish List' for several years after chancing across it on the internet, so our four night stay was a dream come true. The cottages, the hosts and the setting exceeded our expectations. Simply perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stunningnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are delighted your time with us exceeded expectations - we aim to please our guests and our peaceful surroundings certainly help us achieve that! We have been busy building new gardens and making improvements - hoping to build a petanque court for guests over the winter so it will be up and running by spring. You will have to come back and test it for us ... kindest regards to you both and we look forward to having you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

beautifully appointed cottage where we stayed for 2 nights. it was warm. comfortable, and quiet, The perfect place to unwind. Surrounded by stunning scenery.
Hosts Rose and Phil were very friendly and helpful with our queries about the region.
All up a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review - we love it when guests enjoy our cottages which we have specifically built for couples to enjoy. We hope you get to return one day soon. Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in the Celebration Cottage, which turned out to be properly equipped for a disabled person, so I clearly didn't read the instructions! It was lovely though. The gardens are beautiful and Rose and Phil work hard to keep it just right. Having our fruit bowl refilled with fresh walnuts daily by Rose was a treat. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. There was no air conditioning, though, so I'm not sure how we might have fared earlier in the year - we went in early March and it was reasonable fresh at night. Cromwell itself is fairly small, but a very good location for wineries and exploring Central Otago. Desert Heart vineyard is worth a mention as having some lovely wines.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Manager at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed the walnuts - they are very popular with our guests. Desert Heart offers great wine, as do the many other lovely wineries nearby, several of which are within a 10 minute drive of our cottages, so guests are spoilt for choice. You are right, we did not put air conditioning in any buildings (air conditioning is only a fairly recent thing in NZ) - our Central Otago air is so pure and clean we wanted guests to enjoy it. and our summers are generally fine and hot which is why we are such a fantastic fruit and wine growing region. Kindest regards and we hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
3.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cromwell Backpackers
Cromwell Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Cromwell
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
32 reviews
13.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
18.2 mi away
Stoneridge Estate
Stoneridge Estate
#1 of 2 in Lake Hayes
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burn Cottage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burn Cottage Retreat

Address: 168 Burn Cottage Road | Rd 2, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Cromwell
Price Range: $168 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burn Cottage Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We would love to have you stay in one of our three boutique, private and romantic self contained cottages. We refer to Burn Cottage Retreat as 'our little piece of paradise' and offer secluded and quiet accommodation, nestled amidst walnut trees, tussocks, woodland and large gardens, 2-3 km from Cromwell and Lake Dunstan. Surrounded by wineries, orchards and other places of interest such as Highlands Motor Sport park. We are centrally located for exploring the Queenstown, Wanaka, Mt Cook, Southland and Fiordland regions. We offer guests free mountain bikes (subject to availability), free WIFI and free laundry facilities. Each cottage has a King bed, en-suite bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen with Nespresso Machine, a lounge area, own carport and private BBQ. Our spacious accommodation is suitable for mature couples who enjoy the finer things in life and wish to relax in beautiful, tranquil surrounds. We also have a cottage with an easy access shower for those less mobile and can sleep a third person. Continental breakfasts are available on request. Additional charges apply for extra person and breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Burn Cottage Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing